We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Of India

South Of India
217 Marine Parade, Christchurch, New Zealand
03-388 0898
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 579 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is our go-to for great indian. Full flavour, the tenderest meat around. A medium heat is quiet hot compared to others. Simply great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is one of our locals . Since becoming a coeliac and the need for gluten free food this changes your eating out choices . We have found the staff welcoming and so friendly . Always helpful with gluten free choices .
Menu is real Indian food not out of a bottle. The flavours are thorough and strong . Always a fun night .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“We'll worth the trip to new Brighton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have had dinner here and it was superb again. This time I requested dairy free and they produced a fantastic curry full of flavour and really enjoyable. My friend and I are trying to work our way through every Indian restaurant in Christchurch but this will be hard to beat I think. The food was great and the waiter was very polite and seemed a nice guy. We will be back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good food in New Brighton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

On a cloudy and windy Sunday evening New Brighton reminded us of Verona Beach out of Baz Luhrmann's Romeo and Juliet: tired and faded, sad but not without it's charm. There are few options for dinner. A good bet might be fish and chips sitting on a bench by the pier watching skateboarders... if you can keep the seagulls at bay, that is. With little confidence in our scarecrowing skills we went for South of India and were very happy with our choice. We went veggie so can't comment on meaty dishes. The Aloo Wada were freshly made, with a nice mustardy depth, and some spicy salty dust sprinkled on top - not sure what it's called but it was tasty. The biryani and tadka dal were equally pleasant. We enjoyed the aloo paratha, which is surprisingly quite rare on menus we find. We went for mild and that was still nicely spicy. Look out for the prices. It's not expensive but dishes often on a menu as a side were mains and had a price to match.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We ordered a take away and had a slight misunderstanding between the two branches, but once that was sorted and we got our food wow it was one of the best Indian take away's i have ever had.

I was very impressed with the quality of the food and the portion size was great, enough to last us for lunch the next day.

They had Gluten free naan bread which i have never seen and it tasted really good. 10/10 I will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Of India also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to South Of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.