We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic home away from home- will definitely stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauri Motel on Riccarton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kauri Motel on Riccarton to your Saves list
Kauri Motel on Riccarton
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Corner of Riccarton Rd and Kauri St | Riccarton Christchurch, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
ONSITE HIRE CAR
Ranked #13 of 131 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic home away from home- will definitely stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Our experience of Kauri Motel was fantastic. Helen & Denis are the most amazing people you could come across, they epitomise kiwi hospitality. Our room was cosy but well laid out, and every last detail had been thought of. It was stylish, modern and functional, and a great place to stay. It was the best nights sleep I had of our entire trip (only made better by the spa bath!). Would definitely stay there again, Kauri Motel is our first choice in Canterbury!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
28
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

With the existing red zone, accomodation in CC is now situated in the suburbs such as this one in Riccarton. The location is right across the street from the best mall in town. Lots of restaurants in the neighborhood, not to mention the food court at the mall.
Rooms are clean, well appointed, relatively quiet though relatively small. Helen is a fabulous host, attentive and responsive. You would expect that from a B&B, not from a motel, so kudos to her.
I woudl stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at Kauri Motel 3 times in Feburary, very pleased every time we stayed, lovely staff, nice rooms, comfy beds. Very reasonably priced rooms too. Will definatly be staying here next time we are in NZ!!!!! Thankyou for your hospitality

Room Tip: Stop looking anywhere else, this is the best motel i have stayed at in christchurch! Great location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I’ve recently just moved to Christchurch and stayed at the Kauri Motel in Riccarton for part of my 21st Birthday present with my partner. The hosts Helen and Denis were amazing!!! Helen went out of her way to organise flowers and chocolates to go into my room on my mother’s behalf. My room was very clean, modern and classily decorated. It also had a large spa bath, which was very relaxing. The location was excellent, as it’s very close to Riccarton Mall. Even though this motel is close to a busy road I slept very well and it wasn’t noisy at all. I would highly recommend this motel and I would certainly return again. I had a great birthday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were in Christchurch recently for a wedding and stayed at the Kauri Motel in Riccarton. The hosts Helen and Denis were amazing, especially Helen who went out of her way to provide us all with extra personal service. The motels are well priced for a couple to stay a few days. They are very clean,modern and tastefully decorated. The location is excellent, very handy to bus routes and to the Riccarton Mall. Although this is on a busy road you hardly hear any noise at all. I would highly recommend these motels and I would certainly returned again.

Room Tip: The Executive Studio unit was great for a weekend - small but compact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Excellent locality. Right opposite the Riccarton Mall. The room compact, very clean and tidy. The owners were very friendly. We thought that it might be noisy being close to the main road but it wasn't at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The location of this motel, right adjacent the Riccarton Mall, is all it has going for it. The room was tiny, with small windows and no outlook. The room was cold and dark and the bathroom cramped. The mirror in the bathroom was so low you had to crouch to see yourself and there was no rubbish bin in the bathroom. It was reasonably clean, but worn. service was friendly and homely. Won't be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauri Motel on Riccarton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Motel on Riccarton

Address: Corner of Riccarton Rd and Kauri St | Riccarton Christchurch, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kauri Motel on Riccarton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eight sound-proofed studio units all have en-suites with either high pressure shower or a spa bath with shower over it. The units are well maintained with nice decor and are warm and cosy with a heat pump/air con, electric blankets on comfortable super King or queen size beds (some also have a King/queen and a single bed), 32" or 42" LCD TV with guest select 51 channels, good cooking facilities. All units are serviced daily. Very friendly service free car parking, newspaper each morning,snack on arrival, free wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Kauri Motel on Riccarton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauri Motel on Riccarton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.