We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Present” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauri Motel on Riccarton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kauri Motel on Riccarton to your Saves list
Kauri Motel on Riccarton
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Corner of Riccarton Rd and Kauri St | Riccarton Christchurch, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
ONSITE HIRE CAR
Ranked #13 of 131 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Birthday Present”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I’ve recently just moved to Christchurch and stayed at the Kauri Motel in Riccarton for part of my 21st Birthday present with my partner. The hosts Helen and Denis were amazing!!! Helen went out of her way to organise flowers and chocolates to go into my room on my mother’s behalf. My room was very clean, modern and classily decorated. It also had a large spa bath, which was very relaxing. The location was excellent, as it’s very close to Riccarton Mall. Even though this motel is close to a busy road I slept very well and it wasn’t noisy at all. I would highly recommend this motel and I would certainly return again. I had a great birthday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
28
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were in Christchurch recently for a wedding and stayed at the Kauri Motel in Riccarton. The hosts Helen and Denis were amazing, especially Helen who went out of her way to provide us all with extra personal service. The motels are well priced for a couple to stay a few days. They are very clean,modern and tastefully decorated. The location is excellent, very handy to bus routes and to the Riccarton Mall. Although this is on a busy road you hardly hear any noise at all. I would highly recommend these motels and I would certainly returned again.

Room Tip: The Executive Studio unit was great for a weekend - small but compact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Excellent locality. Right opposite the Riccarton Mall. The room compact, very clean and tidy. The owners were very friendly. We thought that it might be noisy being close to the main road but it wasn't at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The location of this motel, right adjacent the Riccarton Mall, is all it has going for it. The room was tiny, with small windows and no outlook. The room was cold and dark and the bathroom cramped. The mirror in the bathroom was so low you had to crouch to see yourself and there was no rubbish bin in the bathroom. It was reasonably clean, but worn. service was friendly and homely. Won't be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Helen runs her Motel with heart! I had a lot of changes in advance because my plans changed four times, and Helen keeps being pollite, friendly and very helpful.The room was very nice equipped, very clean and tidy and Helen was always happy to help me with bus-lines, bike hire and tourist trips!

Next time in ChCh I will definazely go there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We, a group 0f 9 people stayed in Kauri Motel Jan 7 - 8, 2012. At the start of our South Island tour, Jan 2, we dropped by at the motel to keep some of our luggages there, and without any trouble, it was okay-ed and saved us a lot of troublesome loading and unloading several heavy cases.
Helen was really warm, and a very helpful host, She gave us lots of tips to get around, what to see, and even birthday candy surprise for a friend in our group who was having a birthday.
The motel was also very tidy and clean. and the location is also very convenient, infront of Westfield Mall, and a supermarket that opens until 9 pm. And also a lot of eateries with late trading hours. And also near Botanical Garden. Bus service is also at the front of the motel.
Good stay, and definitely recommendable!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at the Kauri Motel at the beginning and at the end of our tour around South Island. We were welcomed at Christchurch airport by Helen. She was a great host, extremely helpful, she gave us loads of tips about where to go, what to do, both in Christchurch and in other parts of the South Island.

The Motel itself was very clean, with large rooms and very comfortable beds. The rooms have excellent kitchen facilities, fridge, and nice bathrooms. Our second stay we had a spa room and the bath was well worth the extra money after a long trip around South Island in a campervan.

There were alot of facilities nearby, pubs, restaurants and a shopping cente very close by. We also walked into Christchurch centre from the motel, although we also got a bus back to the hotel.

We could not have asked for anymore from the Kauri Motel and Helen during our stay. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area either for one night or a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauri Motel on Riccarton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Motel on Riccarton

Address: Corner of Riccarton Rd and Kauri St | Riccarton Christchurch, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kauri Motel on Riccarton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eight sound-proofed studio units all have en-suites with either high pressure shower or a spa bath with shower over it. The units are well maintained with nice decor and are warm and cosy with a heat pump/air con, electric blankets on comfortable super King or queen size beds (some also have a King/queen and a single bed), 32" or 42" LCD TV with guest select 51 channels, good cooking facilities. All units are serviced daily. Very friendly service free car parking, newspaper each morning,snack on arrival, free wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kauri Motel on Riccarton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauri Motel on Riccarton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.