We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tui Lodge Motel

Tui Lodge Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tui Lodge Motel
Save
You added Tui Lodge Motel to your Saves list
286 Blenheim Rd | Riccarton, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Oamaru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Adequate for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were looking for a cheap place for two nights for a family of four. This motel was cheap, and did the job. It's probably past its use-by date in some ways, but our beds were clean and warm, the shower worked fine and the place did the job for us. However, the heat pump only put out cool air, so was useless. We got another portable heater from the friendly staff, so were OK. Towels were not great, but OK. Don't expect anything but the basics.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    4
    2
    7
See reviews for
4
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I am from Christchurch and was back home to visit family, We stayed in a number of available motels and camping grounds, accommodation is hard to find even for the people still living there. BUT I would rather have stayed in the car for my last night. This was the most disgusting place I have ever been into. We are a couple, non smokers and only 2 of us stayed BUT This was in the room when we arrived!! childs dummy under the bed, tobacco pouch under the couch seats, cigarette butts behind the couch, biscuit crackers also behind the couch, rolls of dust and grime behind couch and under bed. pepper but NO salt, bedding for 4 but only 3 coffee mugs, mismatched old crockery and dirty cutlery. Old hard and rough towels.
This place should be closed down!!! or opened up to the homeless. It is an embarrassment to Christchurch Accommodation
There is also a restaurant connected with this place I didn't dare go there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Booked 2 Bedroom for 2 couples and found 1 bedroom with queen bed and single bed. 2nd bedroom with single bed. How about that. There was a pull out double in lounge but with that out there was no room. In the end we had to pay for 2 studio units side by side. Not very good. We had a total of 9 motels in our holiday and all others arrangements were good. We had 4 nights there, very uncomfortable

Room Tip: We were right next to the road and that didn't make it any easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed one night, accommodation was scarce in Christchurch and only wanted 1 night until we flew out the next morning. Our room backed onto the owner/manager's room and the walls were not noiseproof. Towels were old and hard, carpet worn, small kitchenette with old appliances and everthing was a bit grubby.

Room Tip: Avoid unless price is your overiding factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here one night when accomodation in Christchurch was impossible to find. Very old and basic Motel -badly in need of refurbishment - carpet in our unit worn in one place to bare weaving under neath. Black mould/ dirt in and around shower and loo - electric blankets barely heated up and the heaters were so old they were positively dangerous. The heat pump, once it was coaxed to put out a bit of heat, nearly choked us with the smell of burning dust! And so loud we turned it off. To add to our woes we discovered that the shower produced a mere lukewarm trickle, hardly any flow at all. On going to complain we discovered the guest in the room next to us bitterly upset that her shower did not work at all, and the motelier busy telling her that she did not know how to work it! Come on motelier - not a great impression - budget does not mean dirty as we found it and things may be old, but they should still work properly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

caught going through my stuff walked into my room while I was still in. on final night was very nasty at 10pm at night I stay in a lot of motels with my job but would never recommending this one. no toys. freezing room
Im taking further action as have information this isn't the first

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Wow...I was so impressed with the hospitality here. clean room, freeview and sky tv with HD, Excllent service. Heat pump does not work, but the host gave us two different type heaters, that make the romm pretty warm and comfortable at the chilly nights. thanks a lot

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tui Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Lodge Motel

Address: 286 Blenheim Rd | Riccarton, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tui Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.