We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of International Antarctic Centre

International Antarctic Centre
International Antarctic Centre | 38 Orchard Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
+64 3-357 0519
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$158*
and up
Christchurch Snow and Kiwi Tour
Ranked #17 of 108 Attractions in Christchurch
Type: Educational Sites, Museums, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Specialty Museums, Cultural
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It's the ultimate Antarctic adventure! Experience the dramatic seasonal lighting in the four seasons of Antarctica show where it 'snows' every 6 minutes. Venture out on to 'the ice' from Scott Base to play in 'Antarctica' the snow & ice experience and survive an Antarctic storm! How long can you hold your hand in the icy Antarctic water? Hang out with Little Blue Penguins, buckle up for the famously exciting Hagglund ride, take an awesome simulated 4D Antarctic cruise, watch Happy Feet 4D, then watch a stunning movie on a MASSIVE screen! It's the closest you'll get to Antarctica without mounting your own expedition!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Decided to visit International Antarctic Center during my trip to Christchurch this October.

It was a great place, and there were quite a couple of things to do at this fantastic place. It might be a little price but i think what we did inside sort of justify the price we paid?

Huggalund ride was something new to me and it was quite cool. It actually drove out of the center to sort of a field nearby where it took us though some slopes and through water.

We also had great fun in the antarctic storm. It was really freezing inside and we had a chance to experience really low temperatures and some really strong wind.

The Ice voyage 4D show was really interesting. most of the 4D shows i watch are about cartoon characters but this one here at International Antarctic Centre was something different. It talks about penguins and the antarctic.

They also had information which really taught me a lot more about Antarctica!

Another plus point was the convenience as it was located just about 3 minutes away from the airport.



A good place not to be missed!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    267
    97
    39
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“All about Antarctia... Penguins, Explorers and Snow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A very nice place to visit (although admittedly a little expensive, but we found a lot of the 2-3 hr activities we did while on vacation in NZ were on the more expensive side so this seemed comparable). All about Antarctica, the people who explored it, who is there now, penguins, snow, etc. They have a nice exhibit for little blue penguins. We paid extra for the penguin encounter and considered it worth it. You get entry into the penguin exhibit (special viewing area) for photos, and get to meet one up close (no touching, but we took lots of photos!) in the back rooms. Did not choose to do the 4D show or Hagglund ride.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

When i visited this place together with my family I thought I am inside the Antarctica peninsula, the place is amazing and realistic. My family have a great experience seeing this kind place. The good thing is the weather in Christchurch was so pleasant.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Antarctic Centre visit is not to be missed. It gives a great appreciation of what it is like down in the Antarctic. Warm clothing is provided for you to enter the snow and ice area with the wind blasting like it would in the Antarctic. The little penguins are delightful.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A lot of knowledge about Antarctic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

They have a lot of stuffs, information about Antarctic. They got some highlights, You can see live little blue penguins (the world smallest penguin) in a very short distance without any windows and glass. They got a chill room that demonstrate the antarctic storm, it make the room not just windy but also the temperature will go down to -18.5C Also they got Hagglund Ride, this "car" is specially design for using in Antarctic. They got a place where very rough, got deep slops, water and very bad situation to demonstrate how the Hagglund work at Antarctic. I really love the movie (not the 4D movie) that show me how beautiful of Antarctic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Antarctic Centre also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to International Antarctic Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Antarctic Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.