We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, but inconvenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Centre Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added City Centre Motel to your Saves list
City Centre Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   876 Colombo Street | Christchurch Centrial, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good room, but inconvenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Despite its name, this place is a bit far from everything so I wouldn't recommend it for someone without a car.

Pros:
• Spacious room
• Quiet
• Close to the park for a walk or morning run

Cons:
• Far from shops and restaurants. If your don't have a car, stay on Riccarton Rd by Westfield Mall instead

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    65
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
130
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the staff were fantastic. Our room was very well finished, cleaned perfectly and in a great location, right in the centre of Christchurch. A very enjoyable experience all thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Good location within walking distance from the centre of town and with free parking. Shower was weak. The hotel advertises as having free wifi but its a 2mb limit which is barely enough to send a photo.

Some people say Christchurch is not ready for visitors but I think it was great to visit and see the impact the earthquake has had. The restart mall area is worth a visit

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreMotelCHCH, Owner at City Centre Motel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi Roger,

Thanks for taking the time to review us!
I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations, but I can guarantee you all our WIFI tickets come with free 2GB not 2MB usage.
Hope you enjoyed your NZ holiday and once again thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Had a great experience at this hotel, friendly and helpful owners/ managers , quiet location, we were upgraded to a two bedroom unit after booking a one bedroom unit as the motel was full ,our unit was situated at the back of the motel, very well stocked with plenty of plates, glasses etc and lots of utensils for cooking if you chose too. Bed linen and towels were of very good quality, new and clean. Although we had a car the city centre, Casino, Hagley park and surrounds is in walking distance and this motel is situated in an interesting area for walking as there were alot of historic buildings, churches etc., although alot of them had been damaged with the earthquakes but still alot to look at in the motel vicinity, and lots of interesting new businesses opening. The only negative I will give is the fold out bed/settee did not make for very comfortable seating, it was small and just not comfy to relax on, overall though I would recommend this motel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

When we arrived the owner very quickly checked us in, helped us with our luggage which was a great help as we had rather a large box to lift. We were given a small bottle of milk to make tea/ coffee great help after long journey. Also very helpful for location of shops and eateries in the area. Even did our laundry for a small fee. The rooms are very spacious and clean, kitchen has all it needs for an over night stop, fridge, micro wave and hot plate. Even offer a book swap if you run out of reading material, plus loan out dvd's if you want to watch a film. Parking is good , plenty of spaces.

Room Tip: Room 17 top floor, look out for broken window catching in the bathroom, nice and light and sun shine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton, ohio
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This motel was very conveniently located, quite close to an excellent café for breakfast (Pepperberry), and walking distance to the museum, the botanical gardens, the ReStart retail area, and a range of restaurants. Unlike many hotels in NZ and Australia, wifi was free (although needed to be periodically reloaded), which was nice. Laundry facilities on site were convenient and not expensive (also unlike other hotels down under). Ownership was changing the day we left, so we hope the favorable qualities of this motel continue.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed our first night in NZ at this motel. It was easy to find driving from the airport and in a good location from the city centre (about a 15 minute walk due to road closures). The hosts were friendly and the room was spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable with all the standard items you would find in a motel. Car parking is available on-site and wi-fi is free. The motel was fully booked but it was very quiet.

There were a couple of restaurants in walking distance in the same street. We ate at the ‘Himalaya’ – good food and service at a reasonable price.

If you are a runner or a walker (apart from sightseeing) head to Hagely Park. It is a beautiful place to exercise!

I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Centre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Motel

Address: 876 Colombo Street | Christchurch Centrial, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Centre Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Tripadvisor Traveler's Choice Award for 2011 and 2012, this much sought after central city motel offers quiet comfort and yet is only 400metres to some of the city's best restaurants and bars. Winner of the Summer 2009 Garden Awards for Hotel/Motels, the City Centre Motel is a peaceful haven in the heart of our glorious Garden City. All apartments are set well back from the road and we offer free WiFi and lots of free off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Centre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Centre Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.