We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience.. Tina would have to be the most hospitable hostess EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Centre Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added City Centre Motel to your Saves list
City Centre Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   876 Colombo Street | Christchurch Centrial, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Gisborne, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience.. Tina would have to be the most hospitable hostess EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We arrived late from our journey from Queenstown tired and weary. Tina our hostess and her friendly cat welcomed us as though we were family. Tina deserves to have the hostess of the year award. We cannot recommend this motel highly enough a tidy, warm, clean and friendly motel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    65
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
130
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed twice already and planning to come back.
Very convenient central location, quiet at night, restaurant and excellent breakfast place in walking distance. Clean, modern rooms and facilities, helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This review is based on the second night of our two night stay. An error through an external booking agency meant an error with the room we booked for the first night which was able to be rectified by the second night.
The room was clean, light and had good bathroom and kitchen facilities. It was very comfortable and we would be happy to recommend this room to our friends for future visits.

It was walking distance to the town centre and had on-site carparking.

Beautiful cherry trees welcome you as you drive in the gates

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the reception seemed to be better appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks as earthquake refugees and the motel was everything that we needed. The place is run by very nice people, and although close to the old CBD the motel is very quiet which is a bonus. The grounds are lovely with some historic trees and plenty of parking. We had a one bedroom unit which had plenty of space, great choice of TV channels, and good pressure in the shower - all important factors! There is a microwave and we got a hot plate from Tina, plus pots, and there was everything else that we needed, including good coffee. For takeaway food, try the Thai Container on Bealey Avenue alongside the 24 hour surgery. Highly recommended as a nice play to stay. Good facilities for those with handicaps too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is on the airport side of the city centre and very close to Briely St so easy access to other parts of ChCh.

Very nice and big rooms, newly built, and little extras like cooking facilities, cable TV etc

Would stay here again

Room Tip: They're all quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We arrived into Christchurch at 5pm not knowing where to stay for the night. The Jasons accommodation book which we had on hand had some motels with text numbers beside to see if rooms were available. We used this to find City Centre Motel. We were made to feel very welcome on our arrival and our room was spacious and spotless and our bed very comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful with places to eat and areas to be avoided with regard to road closures etc. We will certainly be back again! Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We flew into Christchurch at 5 in the morning and were able to access our rooms straight away. Location is perfect to airport, city centre etc; TIna was very helpful with directions, what to see, restaurants to eat at. Exactly what we needed for our first time to Christchurch. Rooms were very clean, wi-fi, comfy bed. Is exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Centre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Motel

Address: 876 Colombo Street | Christchurch Centrial, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Centre Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Tripadvisor Traveler's Choice Award for 2011 and 2012, this much sought after central city motel offers quiet comfort and yet is only 400metres to some of the city's best restaurants and bars. Winner of the Summer 2009 Garden Awards for Hotel/Motels, the City Centre Motel is a peaceful haven in the heart of our glorious Garden City. All apartments are set well back from the road and we offer free WiFi and lots of free off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Centre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Centre Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.