We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gud hostel - not the best but a gud one” 3 of 5 stars
Review of KIWI basecamp

Save Saved
You added KIWI basecamp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KIWI basecamp
69 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
World
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“gud hostel - not the best but a gud one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

A good hostel to stay in. They have some nice bathroom, especially upstairs. The rooms are quite nice, just the bunk beds are creaky.
They make some bread in the morning (around 8-9am). It's quite nice. And they can also give you a lift to the airport for free (intercity and airport shuttle).
I didn't really like the staff, i found them a bit busy (even if they're not) and not really friendly. But maybe it was just me, and you will like them...
Anyway, if you want to stay there, go ahead !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    14
    13
    11
See reviews for
7
21
34
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We stayed in a double room on the first floor which was quite clean, however it was right over the lounge and we had people drinking, playing music from 2am - 5.30am and the live in staff did nothing to stop it. They make bread for you in the morning which was nice and the location is not bad, it takes about 15mins to walk into the centre of Christchurch. The guy on the front desk was very pleasant, but the other staff did not even acknowledge you. The only time they spoke to us, is when they barged into our room (without knocking) at 11pm to take a spare bed from the room.

Basically, if you are German, i think you will be very welcomed and will fit in as it seemed they had their own little group.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

I worked there for a few weeks and i had such a great time!
the staff members are really friendly and you can have so much fun with them. There is always something on.
The hostel is really clean and so comfy.
They just finished the wooden sundeck! Looks awesome and it makes it more comy to sit outside while enjoying the sun...
I would always recommend this hostel to everyone!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We stayed for 2 separate nights while flying in and out of Christchurch. The free shuttle to and from the airport was great. We stayed in a private room with a queen sized bed that was very clean and comfortable. The showers were warm and the noise was very minimal. It was an easy 7 minute walk to downtown. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

I got my initial booking, and then my return night booking all confused, but awesome Marcus hardly blinked (probably had a secret chuckle at my dippy blonde moment - sorry blondes to be a cliche!)

So 10 stars for good attitude!

This hostel is a small double storey wooden house, complete with squeaky floorboards, 2 cosy kitchens, tidy little bathrooms, a reading room with an arbour window +couch in the warm sun, a cute courtyard with a REAL wisteria vine trickling flowers everywhere.
And a fantastic fluffy cat. So feel right at home here.

The freshly baked bread (crunchy crust and soft warm inside!), and hot beverages are included. The staff all seemed to be German, that amused me, but are a super bunch, and will do airport transfers (at reasonable hours) for free. There are surf missions it seems, and always staff keen to do a quick day trip somewhere if the weather is good.

I loved the daily and weekly Base Camp column with weather and to-do suggestions.

My only problemo was the squeaky beds, but with the toasty warm heater, clean sheets and duvets, who's complaining too much? My advice is chose the 4-bed share over the 6-bed, it seems to have fewer nightly comings and goings.

It's only about 5 scenic and safe blocks to the free city bus that circulates the city centre, and if you need videos/gas station/take away/coffee shops/convenience store, they are around the corner.

PS TIP from my trip- exchange any foreign currency at the casino, I got $10 NZ more for each transaction than if I had done it with Travelex at the Information in Cathedral Square.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

I've just spent the last 10 weeks working in Christchurch and chose Kiwi basecamp to live at during my stay. It was a good choice as it is an easy 10minute walk to town. The facilites are clean, with 2 kitchens, a large lounge and seperate Tv room. There is also a sauna, which unfortunately I never used. The staff were friendly and helpful. When I got sick, they drove me to the Doctors and picked me up again, so very good service!.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to KIWI basecamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KIWI basecamp

Address: 69 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 82 Specialty lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME to our SUPER COMFY hostel. We offer: FREE SHUTTLE (incl AIRPORT), FREE BREAKFAST + world famous FRESH BREAD and FREE COFFEE, TEA, MILO. Enjoy hot showers in new bathrooms and comfy, ready made beds in heated rooms. Herb garden + BBQ area. Travel/activity assistance and FREE long term bag storage. CINEMA with FREE DVDs + SKY, sauna, FREE BIKES. Second visit discount. Great weekly and winter rates! SATISFACTION GUARANTEED!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your KIWI basecamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Basecamp Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KIWI basecamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.