We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments

Save Saved
You added Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   175 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013 , New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time at Terra Vive, having decided to return after our 2 week trip around the south island. We had a deluxe spa room on the upper floor. The rooms are immaculate and very well furnished. The washer/drier is a bonus after travelling. The hotel is on a Main Street so there is a bit of traffic noise, not that it bothered us. Lovely, friendly service and a very homely feel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    33
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
14
79
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clifden, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed twice, owner remembered us and was friendly and welcoming. Both our rooms had washer/dryer so we could catch up. Comfy beds and soft sheets. We were able to walk to Re-START and to a great Thai place in a container a block away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here twice, one night before going traveling in a campervan and two nights a fortnight later. Our unit on the first floor consisted of a lounge and kitchen, bedroom and a bathroom with a spa bath. The bedroom lacked storage space so we kept our clothes in the suitcases but it was only a short stay and the positives outweighed the negatives for us.
The soft carpets made this place feel special after two weeks in a camper! The staff were very helpful and were happy to store our baggage while we traveled out to the airport to collect the van. The washing machine came in very handy, while the kitchen was great when we didn't fancy eating out, like when we tried the Thai Container take-away just along the road.
Given that Christchurch is still in a bad way after the earthquakes this is a good place to stay with easy access to the city centre, the airport and other parts of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here mid-week for work in one of the accessible single studios on the ground floor.
The room was spacious, very nicely decorated and included a washer and dryer and kitchenette.
The room was cold initially, but a nice panel heater was provided and it gave adequate and controllable heat. Room was pretty spacious and comfortable.
The TV was 42" and for this room, easily viewable from the bed.
The bathroom was spacious and of wet-room style (being an accessible room). I thought the mirror was a bit high for a wheelchair room (I could only just use it, standing up).
WiFi was free and provided through an individual router.
Service was very friendly and prompt, nothing seemed too much trouble.
Carpaking free and never struggled to find a park.
Really liked the bowl of 'snacks' that come included with the room so you don't have to starve if you're just a bit peckish.
Noise - be prepared that this motel is on a busy 8-lane road. I could hear road traffic from my room with all the windows shut.
Also in the room I had (I think it was 6), the pipes from the room upstairs came down the walls by the bed - so when the person upstairs decided to shower at midnight, I got woken up.

Wavered between a 3 & a 4 because of the breakfast and the noise:
'Continental Breakfast' for $14 is hugely overpriced - I got :
- 2 pieces of bread for toast,
- butter
- small box of sanitarium muesli
- nutbar (or you could choose a muffin)
- some sort of diced fruit in a pre-packaged container , which had actually expired 4 weeks earlier (or you could choose fresh fruit - got a small banana and tiny apple).
There are no obvious supermarket / convenience stores / cafes nearly so unless you brought your own food for a couple of breakfasts, you didn't really get a choice. $14 for pre-packaged food is a bit too much!

There are better value motels for your money, that are of equivalent price, quality and better located (as in nearer to eating amenities etc), and include a similar breakfast in the price. And aren't on such a busy road.

Regarding location: You would probably want/need a car in Christchurch anyway to get around. There are no restaurants in a 5 min walk, however there is a highly recommended Thai takeaway one block up, and the motel provides a phone order service (didn't try).
We walked to a couple of restaurants (probably 15 - 25 mins) which were very good (see my other reviews), and the walk was welcome (it's all flat so not an onerous walk).

However, there were roadworks / drainage stuff happening across the road in Colombo Street. This work only seemed to occur during the night, and my colleague and I were both woken at 4am by a very noisy concrete mixer. Not the motel's fault or responsibility and I expect you get it all over Christchurch at the moment, but because this motel is on a very busy road and near to the city centre, you will get more of this than in other areas.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room at the rear of the property to minimise noise. Bring your own breakfast or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed - 1 night

Good - clean, and well kitted out apartment hotel. Very good service from friendly management.

Bad - location could have been better, reasonable walk to the centre. Quite small rooms.

Overall - we were just there for one night and it was fine. Wouldn't want to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night on arrival into New Zealand before heading to Queenstown and found this hotel to be very welcoming with everything we needed. First of all, the owner was very accommodating as we arrived early in the morning after traveling all night and he let us check in early so we could have a well needed sleep before venturing into Christchurch. The next morning he also went out of his way to help us de-ice the car windows. Thank you.
The bed was very comfortable and the spa bath was great. Room was very warm and had a little private balcony. There was also a washing machine and dryer which would have been perfect if we hadn't just started our holiday.
Location was perfect and only a short walk into town. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Christchurch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had one night at Terra Vive before heading to the international airport for our flight back to Sydney. This is a great little place to stay for a couple of nights I really can't fault them at all.

My partner and I were greeted warmly and shown to our room personally (can't remember the last time that happened). We mostly booked this accommodation as I really liked the idea of going home with clean clothes after our 2 weeks in New Zealand. We were shown the washing machine and dryer and how to use them and shown where our complimentary washing powder was. Two loads of washing later I was very happy.

Everything was clean and comfortable and I found the room to be quite spacious. I was thankful for the tea and coffee and treats so they were very much appreciated. This is very close distance to the central areas of Christchurch and we would definitely be back again. I thought it was quite good value for money.

The only one thing I could say was that our room was wheelchair friendly so our shower was completely open and had no curtain and water went absolutely everywhere in the bathroom. I didn't mind this too much but felt a bit sorry for the cleaners when we left our extremely damp towels etc on the floor!!! It also meant the bathroom stayed quite cold because there was no 'encased' sort of area keeping the heat in after you have showered.

Room Tip: Sorry no fitness centre, clicked by accident and can't remove!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments

Address: 175 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013 , New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#25 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments Hotel Christchurch
Terra Vive Luxury Suites And Apartments
Terra Vive Luxury Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.