We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmont on Harewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Belmont on Harewood to your Saves list
Belmont on Harewood
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   37 Harewood Road | Papanui, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 131 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Interlaken, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thank you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

On our 4 week trip through NZ north and south islands we were lucky to find this place. Thank you for this pleasant stay in your house, thank you for the friendly welcome, for helpful advice to see the town, for the lovely breakfast for a well working WiFi and for the interesting conversations. We will surely be back at this lovely place, whenever we will be in NZ again. Droli & Andi Baumgartner from Switzerland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmontonharewood, Owner at Belmont on Harewood, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello Droli and Andi, thanks for the review on trip advisor. We really appreciate the comments from our guests especially with the challenges we and christchurch have faced over the last two years with the earthquakes and the damage to our homes. We loved having you stay with us and having the opportunity to share our home. Great to see you enjoyed your time with us. Travel on and travel safely. Go well. Regards Alan and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
56
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stopped at the Belmont Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, and then back there on December 30th 2012. I booked the Belmont after it gradually became clear that the Rendezvous hotel in the city center was not going to be open in time for our visit. Although they kept telling me the hotel would be open every date that I was told was eventually put back and in the end I had to seek alternative accomodation.We were two couples, on the holiday of a lifetime, all accomodation sorted except our stay in Christchurch. I was worried because of the time we were in Christchurch, Christmas Eve & Christmas Day. After contacting Alan and explaining our situation he agreed to put us up for the dates required didn't charge us any extra for Christmas Day and even said we could have Christmas Dinner with his extended family for NZ$50 each, what a bloke! Needless to say the Christmas Dinner was fantastic, those mince pies,and the B&B was great. We had the two en suite rooms, a cup of tea for my mate and his wife was made as soon as we arrived, they were in heaven!
The Belmont hospitality is second to none. One thing that illustrates this is our departure, we had to be at Christchurch Airport at 04.30 to catch a plane to Cairns at 06.30. The car hire place was not at the airport but about 3/4 mile away. When Alan was enquiring about our journey to the airport we explained that we would get a taxi from the car hire place to the airport, after dropping off the car. No you won't he said, we'll drop the car off the night before, I'll get up and do you some breakfast and take you to the airport, and that's what he did.
Christchurch itself still has a lot of work to do in the centre to recover from the earthquake, the main shopping centre has been relocated and there are still buildings that need to be demolished. However there is a determination of the people to get the rebuliding work done, although they accept it will take time. With people like Alan & Jan they deserve to succeed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmontonharewood, Owner at Belmont on Harewood, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi Martin, my apologies for the tardy response. I thought I had done so earlier.

Sharing our home at Xmas and also Xmas dinner was fun. Seeing our celebration therough the eyes of people who are used to experiencing a winter or white Xmas was very interesting. Glad you had fun and enjoyed the stay. Jan and I are in England in June 13 and will touch base as you requested when you left. Have a great year and respect to you all. It was fun to meet you.
regards Alan and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo in Bibbiano
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Before starting our camper-van tour of South Island we needed one night in a B&B in Christchurch. Through Tripadvisor we found the Belmont on Harewood. No B&B proprietor particularly enjoys one-night stays as it means little reward for a lot of work. That said, Alan and Jan could not do enough to make our short stay most welcoming and very comfortable. With a well appointed bedroom we had a most comfortable night's sleep followed by a full English cooked breakfast. It was just like staying with friends, only we had just met a few hours earlier.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmontonharewood, Owner at Belmont on Harewood, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your happy words.
Jan and I enjoy sharing our home with nice people and especially people who are persuing their dreams. Good energy coming in will always receive good energy back. It was a pleasure to meet you both, chat and get to share some of the Christchurch story. We really appreciate your review. Thanks for the effort.

Regards Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It isn't often you find B&Bs where you feel like you are part of the family. Alan & Jan did just that, and we shared amazing stories and memories, along with the other guests there, for the 2 days we stayed. The B&B is nicely appointed; our bedroom and bathroom were amazing, and the family/meeting area was also perfectly accommodating. The breakfast was fit for a king with local jams, breads, cereals, yogurt, etc., and Allan and/or Joan was always there to make you feel at home. The house is showing some wear, but it weathered the earthquakes well, the flower garden is beautiful and inviting and its history is a grand one, being over 100 years old! We loved our time there, enjoyed the animals especially, and it is very conveniently located to the airport, some shopping and restaurants, and yet still quiet. We couldn't recommend the B&B more! Thank you again Alan and Jan!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmontonharewood, Owner at Belmont on Harewood, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hi Guy's, it was great to meet you and be able to take care of you while you wee here. The dogs misses you but unfortunately, old wobbler passed away a few days after you left.
Good luck with the future work placement and I hope you get to go somewhere rich and luxuious.
Should you pass this way again, we would love to see you.

regards Alan and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

On a recent trip to Christchurch our flight was changed, we landed too late to pick up our camper van. Alan was woken at 1:30am to see if they had a room, he stated they did and then promptly picked us up from the airport, delivering us to his beautiful home and in particular our boutique/colonial style bedroom, where we were made to feel very welcome. The super king bed, was also a drawing card and did not disappoint. In the morning we were greeted to a gorgeous breakfast, which Alan and Jan enjoyed with us, making the experience that little more homely. Alan then drove us directly to our camper van company and gave us directions for touring the city. Nothing was ever a problem, the Taylor's are fantastic ambassadors of Christchurch and are amazing people. Highly recommend the Belmont B and B to anyone traveling to NZ.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmontonharewood, Owner at Belmont on Harewood, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thanks for the great review. The staff at the Christchurch I Site have a habit of finding nice people who are in need of a good sleep and they call us. It was a pleasure to meet you all and in a small way, welcome you to NZ and set you off with some extra tips to enhance your experience. You are very welcome to come again and we would love to be able to care for you with a god sleep and a hearty breakfast to start you off.

Travel safely.
regards Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012


very good bed and. breakfast, clean and tidy! buffet breakfast with a wide selection, fresh coffee! perfect service, Alan took us on the last day to the airport.
It was a Great Stay!!
Anytime again!!!!
I come back to New zeeland :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmontonharewood, Owner at Belmont on Harewood, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thanks for the great review. Jan and I really enjoy hosting nice people in our home and when we meet people like you guy's, it is very easy and enjoyable to share our space and take care of you.

Travel safely and hopefully, one day, we meet again.

Regards Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

From the first contact I was greeted warmly and with every endeavour to meet my needs... A large bed was organised for the only room available for our 5 night stay, a desk also added for my husband to be able to work in private. Fab breakfasts, lovely greeting on arriving back 'home' each day. Finally the airport pick up and drop off with Alan taking care of us with genuine kindness and a big hug. We heartily recommend Jan and Alan Taylor's delightful B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, our final night was awesome in the Platinum Room, with wonderful full size spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmontonharewood, Owner at Belmont on Harewood, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Hi Eileen and Mark, sorry for the slow response to your great review. Jan and I loved meeting you guy's. It was great to be able to assist you in supporting our local people out there doing stressful earthquake recovery work. I am glad that we were able to be part of your plan.
Thanks for choosing us and I am pleased we were able to meet you needs and help you enjoy the stay.

Please be welcome to come again.

Regards Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmont on Harewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont on Harewood

Address: 37 Harewood Road | Papanui, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmont on Harewood 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmont on Harewood, A quality Bed and Breakfast. Our Art and Craft 1905 Villa and home, is a beautiful 'boutique hotel' and heritage building. 6.4 Km from the Christchurch Airport, we have central heating throughout and free Wifi throughout the home. All rooms have either En-suite and private bathrooms available. Close to Christchurch Airport, retirement homes like Camelia Courts, Golden Age, Wendover and Parklands Hospital, as your alternative to Christchurch hotels and motels, your business or holiday needs, for your arrival and departures, we are perfectly located. Enjoy Kiwi hospitality. Subject to availability, we offer a bus, train or plane, courtesy pickup service. This service does need to be confirmed at point of Reservation. We are fully compliant with disabled shower and toilet facilities and access. We are also fire alarm and sprinkler protected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Belmont on Harewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmont on Harewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.