We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Night Out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Germain

St Germain
88-96 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8050, New Zealand
+64 3-355 3096
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 583 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: St Germain was opened in September 2008 by French brothers Frederic and Vincent. Born and raised in Brittany, the brothers aim to provide you a real French dining experience using local products in an elegant and cosy atmosphere. St Germain's diversity makes it the perfect place to enjoy food and wine, whether you would like to share a fabulous meal with friends, for a romantic dinner, or when dining with a larger group. We can cater for all.
Hawkes Bay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Night Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This restaurant was our second option, now very pleased our first option was booked. Staff looked after us from the time we arrived. Enjoyed a pre-dinner drink in the bar. Menu was explained and advice was given on wine as we were not familiar with the French options. Fantastic night and we would make this a regular dinning option if we lived locally.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    27
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Made a booking here this morning for dinner the same night without any trouble. Staff were amazingly helpful and even helped me with a "birthday dessert platter".
Food was fabulous! Very accommodating with gluten free requirements. Service was impeccable and couldn't fit another mouthful in by the of the meal.
Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Dining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My fourth time here in both locations and a welcome reminder of deliciousness on my doorstep. Was cosy, each course very good, as was the service, good wine selection - yummo Alsatian Gewurz & nice to see a restaurant humming with guests. I think the pricing was very fair & all our dishes deemed pretty delectable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice to try once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very nice ambience although it's a small dinning area, good food. An excellent place to have a birthday/date. Main courses weren't impressive, but I liked the entrees and desserts. We enjoyed the meal and the atmosphere. Service were good, but not warmly enough, maybe my expectation were too high :P

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great French food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place for French food, with good staff and ambience. In general the meals are a good size but the French onion soup is a very large meal. There is a good French wine list, a fair selection by the glass, and very good advice as to food matching. Price is good with mains about $35 entrees $18-$25 and desserts about $15. All in all a very pleasant dinning experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Germain also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to St Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.