We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Gloucester Street | Levels 1 to 15 of Pacific Tower, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Marque Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oamaru, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Everything was easy, great check in and tips on where to park. Friendly environment. Rooms modern and a good nights sleep. We didn't eat in as had a social event to attend and next morning needed to leave early.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for the excellent feedback! We look forward to wlecoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    226
    85
    24
    12
See reviews for
46
236
43
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kildare
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night with my boyfriend, room decor was nice and modern, spacious bathroom with good facilities. Bathrobes a nice touch from a standard room. Very clean, our booking included a £25 food or drink voucher and we had to ask about his 2-3 times before someone could confirm it. Late that night we came back to the hotel for a drink and the lady behind the bar was very rude, refused to make cocktails. Other than that we had a pleasant stay. Free wifi was great!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi Amie,

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay but very sorry you were unable to get a cocktail later in the evening when you returned. I will follow up with our staff to ensure the bar is closing at the correct time.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is trendy from the entrance and downstairs but is actually an old building that has been given a face lift.
The rooms are smallish but all the essentials are there, but the rooms are not sound proofed so its noisy from slamming doors and people walking on the floor above you.
It meant a bad night for me so I was rather disappointed.
No wireless connection either which in this day is rather a limitation when everyone uses tablets.

Room Tip: Nothing much around this hotel as its in the middle of rebuild zone, the street is a mess at present...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your comments. The building in its entirity was built in 2009. The walls have acustic backings and the windows are double glazed so should keep noise to a minimum. My apologies you did not get a good night sleep. We hope you will revisit the hotel again in the furure.

Kind Regrads,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, NSW
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Big disappointment, used Acoma to book a room for three adults ...no advertised surcharge... Wrong! RHC wanted to charge an extra $60 for the third person, no breakfast included, wifi only at the bar down stairs....oh, the rollaway bed was delivered after three hours after checking in. A/C reqd in the room but noisy.

Positives...good location next to Little Regent Street and the Christchurch trams.

Will know better next time.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback. I have been able to find your reservation details and noted that while there was a request for three people the booking website did not offer the rollaway option. We have since contacted the website and rectified this. This is also the reason the rollaway was not set upon your arrival given the reservation did not come through to the hotel with this info. Our apologies for this error.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Pros:
- friendly staff
- warm rooms in winter
- clean
- comfortable bed for 1 although I think 2 people would roll together
- fast wired internet

Cons:
- no where to park your car to use valet, I parked in the middle of the road with hazards on
- roadworks outside, very noisy how ever the staff did move me to a higher floor on the other side of the building

Overall I'll probably stay there next time I'm in Christchurch for business.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi Whitney,

Thank you for your feedback. We have a mixture of 2 x Single beds, Queen size beds and Super King beds in our hotel rooms. We have had some roadwork mainenance recently on the front street of the hotel, however this is only temporary. I am pleased to hear we were able to move you away from the noise. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My best friend and I stayed for one night at the Rendezvous Christchurch and were pleasantly surprised by the high level of service we received.

We flew into Christchurch at 5am, never a great idea! We headed into the city to find our accommodation - slept in the car for a few hours - and the proceeded to the hotel to see if we could leave our bags just before 9am. Much to our amazement, the lovely attendant on duty (i think her name is Tiara) afforded us a very early check in. After braving a Jetstar flight and about 3 hours sleep, we were so very grateful.

The room sufficed for the both of us with nice, modern fixtures, plentiful information and a comfortable bed with amazing pillows! the hotel is central to most of the activities available in Christchurch and I would definitely suggest this hotel as accommodation.

The gym is what we expected - it allows the basics for a cardio session.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi Dean,

So pleased you enjoyed your stay! We have passed on your comments to Tayara and the team. We do our best to accommodate early arrivals if at all possible, however this cannot be guarenteed always. Please we could help on this occassion!

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

After a stay at Christchurch Rendevous for a week on a business trip I was very happy. Rooms are small but for one person they are adequate and bathrooms are quite large and modern. Everything in the room worked as it should, clear and easy to use TV and warm air con unit. Plentiful in room coffee, tea, toiletries, mini bar if you want it. I didn't eat at the restaurant but the room service food was well priced and quite delicious. Wi fi in the rooms is not free but had a glass of wine each night in the lobby bar and checked my emails - a relaxed bar where I didn't feel out of place. Staff are lovely and happy to fix any problem that may arise and housekeeping staff are excellent, very friendly and efficient. Would recommend for business travellers to Christchurch. Enjoy Christchurch, the people are very friendly and happy to talk about their earthquake experience and about what has happened since which I found all extremely interesting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi Meredith888,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on the Rendezvous Christchurch. Im glad you enjoyed the rooms in particular the large bathrooms as well as our In Room Dining options.
The hotel currently has broadband free in the rooms and wireless free in the lobby and bar areas. Pleased you enjoyed a wine and a freindly chat with our staff in the bar area. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Address: 166 Gloucester Street | Levels 1 to 15 of Pacific Tower, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Marque Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, located in the heart of the city, provides modern and stylish accommodation for the savvy business traveller and leisure guest, at an affordable price. Offering clean, contemporary design, Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch is a place where you can work at your peak. Use the latest hassle-free in room technology or relax in comfort and quiet. When your work is complete reward yourself with a satisfying meal in our restaurant and enjoy great service from people who care. Straits Cafe our 55-seat, fully-licensed restaurant, is located next to our ground floor lobby. Here you'll find an exiting range of contemporary-style dishes showcasing local and seasonal produce. Junction, our lobby bar, serves 60 peopleWe know that you want a hotel with style. Our guest rooms and suites are designed for your comfort, with individually controlled air conditioning, double glazing, amazing views and everything you need to make working a breeze. There's a choice of four room and suite designs. Because your phone and laptop still can't do everything, our efficient business centre is there when you need it and our gym and sauna, help you stay in shape when your are on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Toga Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.