We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but horrible lifts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Gloucester Street | Levels 1 to 15 of Pacific Tower, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Marque Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but horrible lifts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed for 1 night and the hotel is quiet nice especially considering what has happened in Christchurch over the past few years. I have found it difficult to find reasonable accommodation in the past but Rendezvous was nice. The rooms were nice and clean with good beds. The restaurant meal for dinner was much better than I expected and is very nice, but it is closed at lunch. The bar in the lobby was very busy after work. The staff were friendly. The biggest downside to the hotel is the lift access. The lifts were small and only one lift was working which was shared between 22(?) floors. It took between 5-10 minutes to get from 15th floor to the ground floor.

Room Tip: Lower floors are easy to access because of the poor lift access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    129
    55
    16
    7
See reviews for
22
121
26
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I booked my husband and I into a room at this hotel for our wedding night.
I booked a package which was a nice room (albeit much smaller than we expected) including in room breakfast, which was delicious, late checkout at 1pm & punting on the river included.
Great view from our 7th story room & good location to explore the up & coming in the CBD.
Staff were lovely too, however I would have expected a much larger room for the $300+ we paid for one night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

On arriving at christchurch we found this hotel to be quite small as we only stayed here for the one night not too bad; thn we had to come back for the return trip and had to stay 2 nights well if the room was any smaller we would be in a tissue box as we had two suit cases it made it very squashed;then I asked if there was a laundry as needed washing done and was told no that there was a laundry service at $10 to $15 dollars a piece I then had to go down the road to a laundry mat as a new modern hotel I would have thought there would be one in it ; I feel this hotel caters more for the business man than families and would not recommend it or stay here again even thou the staff were very nice

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed for a night at the beginning of January 2014 and had a great experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, recommending local attractions and restaurants, all easily within walking distance. Our room was comfortable, clean, and modern, as it only reopened last summer after the earthquakes. We had a great experience and thought our stay was a nice representation of a city rebuilding itself.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband was booked in here by his organisation December.
He said the room was good but the gym should not be advertised it is dangerous.
The machines were old and the cross trainer was falling apart when he went to use it.
So when we were booked in again by his company as we were working New Years Eve in Christchurch,we didn't take our workout gear!

Second Visit

Day 1
The staff in reception were great,efficient and helpful.
The room was fine,small but clean and comfortable.

Day 2
The cleaners made the bed.However no more towels,no emptied bins,no replacements from items used for drink making.
The Lift stopped at floors you had not selected and plunged or juddered rather disconcertingly.It felt very unsafe even though this is a new Hotel.
Breakfast was served until 10 a.m. we arrived at 9.45 a.m. There were no continental choice and no juices.The young lady in charge was obviously under pressure and the rest of the staff of which there were few, were very slow and unhelpful.
We ordered from the menu.It arrived at 10.30 a.m. by then another table left and two in front of us left their food and several complained that there were no continental choices.The chef then came and apologised to us for the breakfast,and we still had not had it?
So when I arrived I was given a side plate with two tomatoes and a side plate with 3 slices of bacon for breakfast,I was not surprised,more bemused.The plates were cold,and coffee/tea served with a snarl.
Day 3
We skipped breakfast!
So on balance: food bad,gym terrible,reception good,room average,housekeeping poor and if you are on the ninth floor gird your loins before summoning the lift.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Tripadvisor.
We appreciated all types of feedback as this helps us to iron out any problems.

We do apologise that your expectations weren’t meet on this stay.
If you would like to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact the hotel's general manager Brad Watts at b.watts@rendezvoushotels.com

Warm Regards,
Rendezvous Christchurch Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed for one night on boxing day. hotel and rooms were nice and modern in a good location. we parked on the vacant block next door instead of using the hotel car park. Gym was ok. Staff were helpful and booked dinner for us. If you have a car, drive to Costa Taverna for amazing Greek food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Christchurch in the future.

Warm Regards,
Rendezvous Christchurch Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Christchurch itself was a shock for us. The whole city centre is ruined and knowing that you sleep in the "red zone" is not necessarily nice. Hotel is of cource brand new and in excellent shape. But the building keeps a weird squeaking noice and it was hard for me to sleep (maybe it was just my imagination...).

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our hotel complies with more than 90% of the new building code and did not sustain any structural damage in the earthquakes.
The 'red zone' is more a term for what the city centre was called when it was inaccessible.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Rendezvous Christchurch Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Address: 166 Gloucester Street | Levels 1 to 15 of Pacific Tower, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Marque Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, located in the heart of the city, provides modern and stylish accommodation for the savvy business traveller and leisure guest, at an affordable price. Offering clean, contemporary design, Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch is a place where you can work at your peak. Use the latest hassle-free in room technology or relax in comfort and quiet. When your work is complete reward yourself with a satisfying meal in our restaurant and enjoy great service from people who care. Straits Cafe our 55-seat, fully-licensed restaurant, is located next to our ground floor lobby. Here you'll find an exiting range of contemporary-style dishes showcasing local and seasonal produce. Junction, our lobby bar, serves 60 peopleWe know that you want a hotel with style. Our guest rooms and suites are designed for your comfort, with individually controlled air conditioning, double glazing, amazing views and everything you need to make working a breeze. There's a choice of four room and suite designs. Because your phone and laptop still can't do everything, our efficient business centre is there when you need it and our gym and sauna, help you stay in shape when your are on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.