We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wot a surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Designer Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Designer Cottage to your Saves list
Designer Cottage
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   53 Hastings Street West, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 114 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wot a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My recent trip to Christchurch was a bit concern on the earthquake and the city rebuilt. Most hotel are fully booked. We are lucky to have found this unique B&B, right of the edge of city centre. Only took us a few minute walk to the centre.

The room are clen and tidy with good design. The host is very friendly and knowing much about places to go and thing to do. Our 3 days 2 nights only plan on arrival, so we thanking the manager and the host for help out on our tour planning.

We love culture and this is the place for us.

Room Tip: the main house double room with private bathroom is great value and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    14
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
58
32
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our stay at Designer Cottage was made up of 2 blocks, 2 nights on arrival at Christchurch and another 2 nights at the end of our NZ experience. We were greeted by our friendly host Chet on our initial arrival to Christchurch, but, unfortunately Chet was called back to Malaysia urgently before our return visit with a family health crisis (we hope your uncle’s health is improving Chet). Jason and Steve looked after us very well in Chets absence. Thanks guys for recommending some activities in Christchurch.

Designer Cottage is well situated and close to many amenities such as restaurants, cafe’s, a supermarket and is also within walking distance to the upcoming Sydenham shopping precinct with some great boutique fashion designer shops. The bus to the airport left from just down the road and dropped us at the airport for only a couple of dollars! We have travelled extensively and have never had such a reasonably priced and stress free transfer to an airport before. The easy going and relaxed style of accommodation at Designer Cottage really suited us after the impersonal hustle and bustle of hotel check in and checkout, we could finally unwind and relax and be left to ourselves if we wanted. We could have breakfast when it suited us and enjoying a cold drink in the late afternoon in Chets lovely gardens (Marmite the friendly cat was never far away). These sorts of memories are what make up a great holiday and we will cherish them always.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the en suite rooms and highly recommend this option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Do not know what has happened in 2012 but our experience of the recent 4 night stay in Dec 2012 did not reflect the pre 2012 reviews, of quality cooked breakfast & very friendly hospitality, with both of these important elements of a good B& B being totally non existent.

With the owner (Chet) back home in Malaysia, his business partner (Steve) totally disinterested in any aspect of the B&B and all the work was left to a young Chinese guy ( Jason) who worked frantically to ensure the rooms were clean and ready for guests arrival.

Beware the breakfast comprises of a choice of 2 cereals, making your own hot drinks & toast along with 8 other guests all trying to squeeze into a space 1M sq and sit around a table for 4 persons. No sign of any butter, cheese, meats or pastries that normally constitute a continental breakfast.

The bed linen was so thin holes appeared, pillows like solid hardboard and towels that smelt damp ( due to being folded when still damp) do not set the scene of a B& B that was entered into the Best B&B in 2010.

Whilst the electronic keys proved to be very convenient it is the fist time we have checked into, and out of, a B&B with out our host being present

We were looking forward to Designer Cottage being the best B& B we stayed in during our 2 week tour of New Zealand. Instead it ended up being the worst we have ever experienced. During a subsequently discussion with Chet, via a phone call, Chet refused to acknowledge the poor service we had received and the response we received, to our concerns, was if you are not happy then go and find another B&B. You can imagine how this made us feel! ( certainly not the friendly hospitality expected) and can now only assume what we experienced is now the norm for guests staying @ Designer Cottage with accommodation availability being in very short supply due to the major hotels being destroyed in the Earthquake and the subsequent high number of building contractors now seeking accommodation.
On that basis Designer Cottage has been removed from our list of recommended B&Bs. A great shame, years of hard work establishing what must have been an excellent B&B appears to have been totally destroyed in such a short space of time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I am a designer that is why I pick Designer Cottage. This is not a five start hotel, but full of designer projects. The place is tidy, unique and quirky. Suitable for traveller like me light minder, easy going and willing to try new experience.

The B&B only few minute walk to Colombo strret, cafes and many eating places on this street. City centre only few blocks away or 5 min by bus.

Staying at designer cottage is my best stay in NZ. Love the realax easy going B&B experience.

Room Tip: all room are good rooms. I love the sleepout that suite me as a backpacker. Sun room is also good bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Designer Cottage just like our 2nd home in NZ. We were here 2 years ago, and as what we aspected the B&B has made saome new changes. Chet the owner (easy going host) with his lovely cat Martmite again welcoming us.

This visit, we are inspired by the newly completed funtions area and new north facing decking with a relaxing buddha satus in the water garden.

Breakfast is always relax and self serving continental which really suited us.

If you would like an ultimate down to earth for your Christchurch stay. We will be no hesitation recommended Designer Cottage B&B.

Thank you again for hosting us. Keep up your creative approched.

Room Tip: Love the newly renovated ensuite double room that has an direct access to the communal garden courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We arrived at Designer Cottage in the small hours and were pleasantly surprised to find our smiling host waiting to check us in. This turned out to be the start of a very pleasant stay at the unique cottage style B&B. Breakfast in the morning was nicely laid out for us to enjoy at our leisure which made a nice change from some other B&B's we have stayed at that required a booking for breakfast each morning. The more we got to know our host the more Designer Cottage began to feel like home to us. Ask to have a look at the quaint gardens if you have time.

Room Tip: private bathroom is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Lucky we found this place in Christchurch, so close to centre city and many cafe and restaurants around. The Burger and Beer and Honey Pot recommended by the host is great.

The newly renovated garden and our ensuite room is just prefect for our few days experience in Christchurch.

It is very kiwianan,, and only few minutes from the major road Colombo Street.

Love the place, and wish I could stay here forever.

Room Tip: Ensuite room is the best with garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Designer Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Designer Cottage

Address: 53 Hastings Street West, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Designer Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designer Cottage was a sailors' retreat in the 70s and is located in peaceful surroundings just off Colombo Street near the shops and opposite Sydenham Park. The walk to the city centre from the cottage will give you the chance to admire many listed heritage buildings on Colombo Street. We offer a variety of rooms, which are all tastefully decorated, including share facilities, private room with en-suite and a self-contained cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Designer Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Designer Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.