We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money - good location if you are driving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amross Court Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amross Court Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Amross Court Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   61 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi
Ranked #5 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money - good location if you are driving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

pros - decent location, whoever has a car would find this well located; easy to find - bang on the main road; very close to the city centre, about 15 to 20 min to the airport; very close to the merivale mall - about 1 1/2 km; there are a number of restaurants on papanui road and pedros house of lamb is maybe about 300 m from the motel; there is a fuel station just next door to pedros; very very clean; the 2 bedroom unit we stayed in was on the ground floor - spacious, well insulated from sound and weather, well stocked with toilet amenities and kitchen utensils; Bruce was very helpful with directions and tips on what to do and where to go; we were allowed early check in; there was ample parking space; there was sky tv and dvd in the room with titles available at the reception; wireless was free and we connected 2 devices for basic use and did not face any speed issues,

Cons - No views at least from the unit we had, there was one toilet for 2 bedrooms and the toilet was a bit small & cramped although fully functional and had no issues otherwise; maybe if there were a couple more pillows it may have helped; there did not seem to be any lifts although i did not check - so if one has a first floor unit then the luggage may have to be lugged up all the way; some might say that the beds were a little too soft although for us it was just fine;

certainly very good value for money and would certainly stay here again on my next visit to christchurch;

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    75
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
79
126
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kaitangata, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Amross Court Motel was the most comfortable and well set up place we stayed at on our trip. It was easy to find and the management were friendly and helpful. Several restaurants just around the corner. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson NZ
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We spent two nights here and found this motel very clean, comfortable and quiet. The outside architecture is vey reminiscent of an Indian Restaurant but don't let that put you off. It was very convenient (two or three minute walk) to a few very good restaurants.

Room Tip: They are probably all OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Good location close to downtown Christchurch and Hagley Park/the Botanic Gardens. Rooms are well maintained and nicely sized. Serves as a good base for day trips outside the city as well. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Originally booked at another Motel which had a mishap and we were relocated to Amross Motels. Great for us... 6 of us. 2 bedrooms with King beds, fold out sofa bed, double and rollaway single put in lounge.
Arrived after a 2 hr drive a little early but were happy to go for walk etc and wait for unit to be cleaned. Borrowed wheelchair had flat tyres so after a bit of pumping gave up on that as there was a knack to using the pump. This was soon fixed by the manager but by that time the unit was ready so a very grateful family moved in... What a pleasant surprise, bedrooms great size, beautiful shower/ toilet, very roomy lounge kitchen area.. Yet to find a fault in this unit. Everything you could wish for.
Highly recommended for family stay. Was so quiet, beds comfortable and everything you could possibly wish for.
Thankyou to management for their help and staff for their hard work in getting the unit ready and so clean in such a short time.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

we were there for one night, but we got the good night sleep that we need. it was near the merrivale mall so we can shop groceries, and the room was equipped with enough kitchen utencils to cook our breakfast. the heaters inside the room and bathroom is hot enough to help us cope with the weather changes. i must say they have the best heater throughout our trip. a nice start to help tropical people in winter climate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The people who ran the amross were lovley if we went to christchurch again id stay here. It was pretty close to the city only short walk close to food places and also bus stop bout 20min drive from airport so not bad at all room was clean and well set out had all we needed in the one room thank you amross

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amross Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amross Court Motor Lodge

Address: 61 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amross Court Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location.We have recently been assessed by Qualmark and gained a 4 Star Plus rating. We have 14 clean, spacious, affordable, 1 and 2 bedroom units, Access and Studios available. Walking distance to good Restaurants, City Centre, Hagley park and Museum.We have free off street parking. Great Place. Great Hosts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amross Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amross Court Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.