We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding space on Bealy Ave in Christchurch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amross Court Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Amross Court Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amross Court Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   61 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi
Ranked #7 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An outstanding space on Bealy Ave in Christchurch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This motel is quiet, well set up and immaculate, clean. Presentation demonstrates care , privacy respected.Loved the original art work.
Spacious room, good shower good bed, 3 day stay priced reasonably.
unit 14 Recommend highly. Thanks for a great stay in this city,

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    50
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
105
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was the last motel we stayed in before sadly returning to the UK and it left us with a wonderful impression of NZ. The host Heather was friendly, helpful and informative and her advice of what to see greatly added to our enjoyment of the last days. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean, well equipped and the bed was very comfortable with fabulous cotton sheets. Location was good with easy walk into the city. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Although on road it is still quiet with easy parking on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed with our two teenage children in a two bedroom apartment. The accommodation was spotless, beds very comfy, towels fluffy etc. and living area/ kitchen was spacious. The decor is aged but this motel offers great value for money in an easy location, hosts were friendly. A great value option.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Owners/Hosts, Sue and Bruce, were extremely friendly and helpful. And they run a wonderful, well-equipped place. Our unit, a double, was an apartment, not just a room; it had a bedroom, bath, and living-room/kitchen along a hallway.

The kitchen especially was well-stocked with lots of glasses, dishes, and cooking vessels in a cabinet; knives and other utensils nicely laid out; and toaster and other appliances. We arrived to find coffee, tea, hot chocolate powder, and even a few cookies and chocolates. A sign asked guests not to cook fish in the room ... nice touch!

Recycling was handy, and Sue and Bruce generously restocked whatever we needed while we were there, gave us advice about where to shop, good local restaurants, the shuttle to the train, and so forth. We very much enjoyed our six days with them.

Also, though it seemed a little far from the centre of town when we booked it, we soon realized why. It is on the edge of the Red Zone and when we were there in November 2013 was still about the closest and handiest, most of the downtown hotels and motels having been destroyed by the 2011 quake of condemned following it.

Room Tip: Make friends with the wonderful owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We just spent a night there and it was a good choice. It is a small lodge located 15 min walking distance from the center. We took 2 bedroom apartment which was very spacious (2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and cozy living room connected with equipped kitchen). The price of 220$ was a good deal for what we got. The lodge is very clean and the staff truly welcoming. Worth staying there.

If you look for other tips on NZ with kids follow my other post. If you find them helpful please vote so.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a good choice for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This place was easy to find and offer lots of parking space. The room was clean and spacious and we could cook our own meals in the room with the utensils and equipment. Recommended for family travel who drive and making Christchurch their traveling base.

They have a residence cat who is very friendly and like to laze around the parking area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here the week before Christmas at the start of our 3 week holiday in NZ for 3 night. Received a warm welcome after a very long flight fron the UK. The unit we had was well equipped, very clean and spacious. Communion laundry room and washing line is very handy. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amross Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amross Court Motor Lodge

Address: 61 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amross Court Motor Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location.We have recently been assessed by Qualmark and gained a 4 Star Plus rating. We have 14 clean, spacious, affordable, 1 and 2 bedroom units, Access and Studios available. Walking distance to good Restaurants, City Centre, Hagley park and Museum.We have free off street parking. Great Place. Great Hosts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Amross Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amross Court Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.