We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, comfortable rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amross Court Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Amross Court Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amross Court Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   61 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi
Ranked #7 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly staff, comfortable rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The rooms at Amross are large, clean and quiet even though the hotel is on a main road. The owners have a high level of attention to detail- the selection of tea/coffee/even a cookie, with an enviro friendly touch too. We were recommended a local restaurant which was excellent, and the owner was very helpful with onward travel arrangements.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    50
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
105
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Indeed I like to change hotels every time. And in Christchurch i am always staying here, at the same place. Than , when i am there, i again realized the kindness of the owners and the good place it is. They make the difference, what makes me feel at home, excellent. Rooms are quite comfortable and they have Satellite TV with several channels. Indeed a good place to come back. Room are very big and they have Kitchen (i just had my coffee there).

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but i believe the ones not in front of the road are more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our stay here was great. We had a king studio, very large room with kitchen and everything included. Owners are very nice and very helpful. price was just great. We are looking forward to staying there again next year. Very high recommended.We stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks and we really loved it. rooms were cleaned everyday and had fresh towel and linens .
The Owner Sue and bruce are excellent host.

Room Tip: call the owners directly and tell them what kind of room you looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent location and easy to find. We took a King Studio. Very large room compared to most we've stayed in. Warm and comfortable despite heavy frosts in Christchurch at this time. Also quiet, even though it faced the main road (excellent double glazing). Very friendly and helpful staff - recommended we take a second key card so we could leave the heating on! All together a great place to stay - we'll choose this again in future. Just remembered we had a generous allocation of free wireless internet which was easy to connect to both phone and computer. We definitely recommend Amross Court.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My stay here was great- well worth the price. They had DVDs at the front desk for you to borrow! My only complaint is that in July it is freezing in Christchurch, and the when I checked in my windows were open ad the heat never got up to a comfortable temperature. (You have to use your key car for the electricity- so you can't leave your heat on when you aren't there) it is Eco friendly but..annoying.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We only had time to stay here one night, wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed in a 2 Bedroom corner unit that was very spacious and spotless! The living room and kitchen were big and the kitchen was well stocked. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home.
It was a cold, rainy day and they lent us umbrellas to take when we went out for the day. They even let us leave our car in the parking space for the whole day as we walked into the city centre to see first hand all of the devastation from the earthquake of two years ago.
We hope to be back one day to see Christchurch again.

Room Tip: Corner suites are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights with our adult son who we were visiting in the midst of his backpacking adventure to NZ. The 1 bedroom accommodation was spotless, well appointed, and very comfortable with the separate bedroom and good single bed in the lounge. The location is very convenient to Hagley Park and for touring Christchurch. The proprietors were very friendly and accommodating (as were all we encountered in New Zealand!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amross Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amross Court Motor Lodge

Address: 61 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amross Court Motor Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location.We have recently been assessed by Qualmark and gained a 4 Star Plus rating. We have 14 clean, spacious, affordable, 1 and 2 bedroom units, Access and Studios available. Walking distance to good Restaurants, City Centre, Hagley park and Museum.We have free off street parking. Great Place. Great Hosts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Amross Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amross Court Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.