We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amross Court Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amross Court Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Amross Court Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   61 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST DEAL
Ranked #5 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

we stayed here for one night on the way though after doing some traveling around NZ. the room was clean, spacious, modern and had everything we needed - including laundry facilities! easy access to airport & some restaurants. I'm actually writing this so I save it for future reference!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    108
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
103
168
16
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked online for 2 nights before setting off on a 2 week tour of the South Island. Not our first time staying in Christchurch, but our first time at Amross. Friendly service. Room spacious and very comfortable. When we said we may be looking for another night at the end of our trip Sue said to give her a call when we knew what we were doing. If they couldn't help us out she would ring around for us. We rang the night before we were due to arrive back in Christchurch. Sue had to check something and said she would ring us back as soon as she could. Room confirmed 30 mins later. 1 bedroom, same price as the studio we originally had. We would most definately go back there next time we're down that way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Bruce and Sue offer service that is second to none. We booked 4 nights for an Operation at Southern Cross Hospital (easy walking distance). They went out of their way to help us, and their customer service exceeded our expectations. We appreciated it so much that we even came back for another night the following week. Both rooms (1 bedroom, and King Studio) were very tidy with modern decor. The heating was excellent, and both rooms were quiet. The king size beds in both rooms were very comfortable. The Motel is also located close to Papanui Road so is very convenient. We also found an excellent Chinese Restaurant for take away or eat in, which we went to twice located at the bottom of Papanui Rd, which takes about 3 minutes to walk to. As New Zealanders that now live in Australia it is such a great feeling when you return to NZ to be greeted with great Kiwi customer service and Bruce and Sue really lived up to this, which we are truly thankful for. So if you are after great Kiwi customer service coupled with very pleasant affordable accommodation then I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this Motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed here in April 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We arrived tired and late in the evening after a long journey and a flight from Auckland to Christchurch. The unit was super spacious, comfortable and well equipped which left us suitably relaxed for a tour of Christchurch the following day. We had a pleasant walk through Hagley Park to the town centre and were given lots of useful information by the very friendly and helpful owners, Bruce and Sue.
We ate at a very nice, nearby restaurant called Strawberry Fayre, not cheap but not overly expensive. Lots of alternative eateries and shops nearby and good shopping mall within 10 minute drive. We were so impressed that we booked to stay again on the night before our return flight and again were very satisfied. Bruce and Sue are very accommodating, not rule bound which makes all the difference to an enjoyable stay. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4 on ground floor and it was ideal for 3 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Bruce & Sue were very welcoming when we arrived... Beautiful, clean rooms... Extremely comfortable king bed... The room was exactly as described... Very close to the beautiful Hagely Park, food places close by, and we walked to city centre area, was a lovely walk... I am definitely staying at Amross Court Motor Lodge next time.. Nothing is a problem for Sue and Bruce... They took care of our luggage for us after check out, so we could spend a few more hours without carrying luggage around with us.. They would not hear of us sitting outside waiting for the shuttle to the airport..we were welcomed in to their warm living room to wait... Thanks to you both for making our stay a very comfortable and happy one.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We recently spent a night in a 2bdrm unit and found the apartment very spacious, well maintained and equipped. Sky tv and free wifi completed our stay. Host was very amenable to our needs. This was the final night of our holiday and made for a very pleasant wind-down before we went home! The motel is close to the centre of Christchurch. Would thoroughly recommend and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The hosts, Bruce and Sue, make you feel special from the time of check-in until your departure. There is nothing they will not do to ensure your stay with them is both pleasant and relaxing resulting in the best travel experience as possible. The hotel is very well maintained and the rooms are excellent. Bruce and Sue make that extra effort to ensure that you enjoy Christchurch to the fullest during your stay. They point out things to see and do while in Christchurch that are entertaining and enjoyable. You know they are very proud of their city as they are also happy to discuss the history and the people of Christchurch. The hotel is located within walking distance to great food, night life, shopping and the CBD. There is no better place to stay while in Christchurch than the Amross Court Motor Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amross Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amross Court Motor Lodge

Address: 61 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amross Court Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location.We have a Qualmark 4 Star Plus rating. We have 14 clean, spacious, affordable units.Comprising 1 and 2 bedroom units, Access and Studios. Walking distance to good Restaurants, City Centre, Hagley park and Museum.We have free off street parking. We constantly rank in the top 5 on Trip Advisor. Great Place. Great Hosts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Amross Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amross Court Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.