We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated rooms, but very kind, helpful owners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aarburg Airport Motel

Save Saved
You added Aarburg Airport Motel to your Saves list
Aarburg Airport Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aarburg Airport Motel
94-98 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dated rooms, but very kind, helpful owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Needed a last minute room in Christchurch near the airport, and asked a taxi to drop me off on the street closest to the airport with inexpensive motels. After checking a few nearby, I was lucky to find a single room available at Aarburg. For single occupancy the rate was $30-40 less than neighboring motels, but what really stayed with me was how kind the owner couple was to me. I explained I was out of NZ dollars and barely had bus fare in my wallet, and they offered to drive me to the airport the next morning to catch my connecting flight. Also, I asked about wifi access, and they gave me their username and password (try finding free wifi at your typical NZ hotel!)

Yes, the room was very dated, but spotless and comfortable. Options appear to be limited in Christchurch since the earthquake. There is little in terms of food/shops within walking distance, but that's par for the course near the airport. Sometimes, when you're a tired, broke backpacker, kind, helpful service rises above all else.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
india
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

the end of my trip i stayed there 1 night on 20 august , i was given a family room the heater was not enough to warm the room , the portable heater was then given by them which i used to warm my bed as the heated blankets didn't work , the beds were cold and moist . the flooring was very cold , the bathroom was very very small and the pressure in the shower was very slow , i wouldn't recommend this place only good thing was the free shuttle . furniture and rooms very outdated .

Room Tip: try to avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Having arrived CH CH at 2am on a delayed flight from Brisbane and camping in a hire car alongside Burnside Park in freezing cold temps , the good folk at Aaburg Motel were a godsend at 8 am on a cold Saturday morning, not only did they rush cleaning a room for me ,well before check in time , I did not have any prior booking !,but the sheer friendliness of mine hosts was heart warming in the extreme . Yes the rooms are dated , but clean , most comfortable and very well priced imho.. I do plan to stay there on my next NZ visit .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middx
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The friendly owners will collect you from and take you back to the airport which is very close.The motel style rooms are a little dated but spotlessly clean.Heating could be better but the beds were very comfortable and shower efficient and hot. We had a family type unit with two rooms,kitchen,shower etc. Kitchen facilities were available for self catering although we only used it for making coffee and tea which was provided with a jug of fresh milk.There is a good Garden Centre coffee shop(terra nova) a few minutes walk away for breakfast/ lunch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Same as other review, the heating in the rooms were not good enough, our electric blanket was not functioning. The size of the rooms were fine, but it was a little bit too compact at the toilet. The motel is a bit dated but still worth for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Heating not good enough for NZ winters. No heater in the bathroom. Rooms very dated. Blown light bulbs not replaced. General below standard for the price. Staff not particularly helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We booked here for our last night in New Zealand as we had to be at airport at 4am. For the price we could have done much better elsewhere. Owners were friendly but room was very dated. It did have kitchen facilities which we made use of but the bathroom was awkwardly set out and the rooms did not have adequate heating. Only one radiator was provided but did little to heat the rooms. It was handy to the airport but next time I will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aarburg Airport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aarburg Airport Motel

Address: 94-98 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Aarburg Airport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aarburg Airport Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.