We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service - Just Not Nice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Achilles Motel

Achilles Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Achilles Motel to your Saves list
Achilles Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   118 Sherborne Street, St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Rangiora, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor Service - Just Not Nice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Owner was awful. She threatened to call the police, threatened to use our card and take whatever money she felt we owed and harassed my wife on the phone whilst she was recovering from a hospital procedure (despite being repeatedly told that she was in hospital). On the plus side she did give us a discount (after booking us in the wrong room) and agreed to move us to a more accomodating room...but she left a bad taste and she was often heard shouting at the staff. Horrible vibe. Nasty woman. Cheap cheap cheap.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I booked this motel as we were down for cup week (6 nights) and I wanted a motel unit with plenty of space including a separate bedroom. I also wanted something that was modern and was swayed by the description of some units being described as deluxe and renovated. The unit was certainly spacious although the bathroom was compact. The kitchen was well stocked with hotplates, microwave and a very useful benchtop oven. There was plenty of crockery and cooking utensils although the cutlery was flimsy and threatened to snap with just moderate pressure. The dining table chairs were very hard to sit on and the main settee was of the pull-out spare bed variety and not particularly comfortable for watching the 32" LCD TV. The bedroom contained a comfortable king bed and a single bed. Also provided was a hairdryer and mini ironing board and iron. There was a shower over a bath - the shower had an economy flow which was not conducive to a satisfying shower. The unit was heated by a heat pump. Complementary wifi was provided and the connection was acceptable most of the time. Parking was at the door. There is also a guest laundry. A supermarket is 5 minutes walk away. The St Albans/Edgeware location was badly affected by the earthquakes and there are several munted and vandalised houses virtually next door. In summary Achilles is an older style motel which is worth considering if looking for a bit of space. However if modern surroundings and fittings are important to you then you may be disappointed. The owner was very pleasant and obliging.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Three of us guys came down to play poker at the casino for 5 nights and got great service throughout our stay. We made a booking change, there was a payment error from us and, we arrived early. The owner let us into our motel to unpack, drove us to the casino and dealt with an electrical problem after hours. The owner was pleasant and accommodating the whole stay. I wouldn't take my wife there for our honeymoon but for us guys it was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This centrally located Motel (Sherborne st Christchurch) is close to a small shopping mall, petrol station (which also sells Groceries) restraunants and Bars nearby too.Off st parking right to the door of your unit. no stairs to worry about. Cooking facilities includes hot plates and microwave, cordless jug. 'Shower over bath' (but not a high pressure shower) in a small toilet area suitable for one person at a time. Bed was comfortable complete with electric blanket. heating is by heat pump (reverse air con) for winter and aircon for summer. beutiful flat screen tv in a seperate longe dining area. Free WiFi

the most amazing about this place was the price it was the cheapest I could find for a one night stop over, and one of the best value for money I have ever stayed in
Door locks are not dead locks

Room Tip: Excellent Motel in a quite location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Deluxe apartment? I think not. Cracked window in kitchen held together with sticky tape; light in kitchen didn't work; tiny cramped kitchen, need to position yourself properly to be able to open cupboards, etc; no sacuepans; no fresh milk supplied; bathroom tiny, watch you don't bang your head on the glass shelf when you clean your teeth!; no clock by bed; no Freeview/ Sky; cleaning sponge left in bathroom basin; poor finish to upgrade of room; rust on shower rail, cobwebs on bathroom ceiling; extractor grill very dusty; furniture hadn't been pulled out for some time going on the dust and rubbish behind the bedroom cabinet; uncomfortable couch and not enough seating in lounge; dirty mirrors and windows - shall I go on?
BUT... on the plus side - plenty of extremely hot water :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The owner is clearly doing what she can to renovate this motel by herself. The shower needed a good scrub, but the room was otherwise clean. The bedding was comfortable and clean. The furnishings are very tired. The owner had good recommendations for restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Sadly I would have to agree with what others have said in their reviews of this motel. Very very low quality, poorly maintained and our unit was far from clean. Fortunately we were only there for one night but even so, would have looked for other accommodation had we not already paid via credit card.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Achilles Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achilles Motel

Address: 118 Sherborne Street, St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Achilles Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Achilles Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Achilles Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.