We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good clean room, free unlimited wifi.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aalton Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aalton Motel to your Saves list
Aalton Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   19 Riccarton Road, Riccarton,, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great location, good clean room, free unlimited wifi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Super location near Hagley Park with lots of eateries and 24 hour grocery store close by. Easy walk to centre of Christchurch through the park. Well equipped, very clean, the free wifi is very useful. Fridge and microwave. Spa and swimming pool great extras. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    40
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
39
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We were supposed to stay there for 2 nites but as our vehicle got problem and we gotta change our stay to 1 nite in last minute. Thanks to the great hosts for understanding our problem.
This place is of great location, near Hagley Park, 24hr convenience store, and the largest shopping mall innk South Island.
The outside of the motel looks great. The interior is a bit old but they have good facilities. I think this place is worth staying :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at the Aalton Motel for one night. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Jane, whom was really friendly and helpful – she made us feel really welcome.
Knowing that were travelling on honeymoon, we noticed that they had added a lovely gesture to present the bath towels specially on the bed.
The room was clean and spacious, with cooking facilities and comes with free Wi-Fi.
Overall, it was pleasant, and we did not face any problems during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed in the 2 bedroom, no negatives about the place, decor is aged and so was the kitchen, but the place was spotlessly clean and well looked after. Plenty of room for 2 teenagers, 1 preschooler and mum and dad, except when all trying to fit around the table. Location is great with plenty of food outlets in walking distance and the mall further down the rd. Would be happy to stay again. The owner was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfont
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

Only stayed for one night after flying in from Auckland. Good location - walking distance to shopping centre and restaurants etc. Could probably walk to the park from there aswell. It is on the west side of the park - away from central christchurch but that area is unfortunately still relatively inaccessable. In ricarrton however, there was little to no sign of quake damage - christchurch is recovering well i think. Had a double ensuite room which was very spacious and well equipped - with little kitchenette. The free milk on arrival is a very nice touch - was very nice to be able to sit and have a nice cup of tea upon arrival in a new city. Bathroom was a good size and clean. Free wifi and free parking outside your suite. Owner was nice and helpful. Overall a good motel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed in Standard Studio room. Although it's a bit small, but it's a comfortable room to stay as the owner knows how to make good use of the limited space for kitchen, TV, cupboard etc. The room is clean and it has complete kitchenware, includes microwave and sink. The location is great with lots of eateries outside, and the shopping complex is just nearby. The botanical garden is also next to the motel. We had a good rest after long hours flight. It's very convenience to reach from the airport and the traffic was smooth when we drove to Franz Josef the next morning. The owner was very friendly and fresh milk was provided upon arrival. If you need a shower cap, please bring it along as all the motels we stay in New Zealand do not provide for it. The only difficulty we encountered was the tap water. The hot and cool water tap is separated. So you either get too hot or too cold when the water is running.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband Craig and myself have once again been back to this wonderful Motel
Aalton is always very clean and Tidy and also Iian always welcome people with a very freindly welcome out of the motel that Craig and myself have stayed in christchurch Aalton is the best
once again thanks Iian

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aalton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalton Motel

Address: 19 Riccarton Road, Riccarton,, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#21 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#24 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aalton Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very spacious ground floor units with full cooking facilities, SKY digital television and FREE Wireless Broadband in each room. Comfortable and well appointed in an ideal location. Walking distance to City Centre, Shopping Mall, Restaurants and close to Westpac Arena, Railway Station and AMI stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aalton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalton Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aalton Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.