We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the photos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lorenzo Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lorenzo Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Lorenzo Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   36 Riccarton Road, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better than the photos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

I saw that this place was 2nd in the city on trip advisor but the photos made me think it looked like a motel that was a bit dated in decor and furnishings. I was wrong. It has a lovely duvet cover, clean and good quality sheeting, clean & modern bathroom and great shower! I didn't have a spa room but was really happy regardless. Friendly and happy staff. Sky tv including some movie channels and electric blankets! I would definitely come back. I've stayed at many motels in chch over the past year and this is the best.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    67
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
78
171
20
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Otago Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Staying with family our two-bedroom had loads of room and all the little extras you don't always get. The staff were very friendly and we were very impressed with the total experience.
Located on the city end of Riccarton Rd it ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a very cozy motel in the heart of Christchurch. The apartment is not very large but has enough space and is extremely clean. The most important thing about this motor lodge is the people who run it, who are extremely efficient and caring. Our scenic train was delayed and they had to close their office before we arrived. However, they took all care to see that our stay was comfortable. The keys were left accessible, there was milk in the fridge for coffee, the wifi password was kept on table and a cab was booked for next day to take us to our destination.

Amazing guys well done!! Will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The Lorenzo Motor Lodge was our choice in Christchurch thanks to good reviews on Trip Advisor and did not disappoint. The Lorenzo is just a short drive from the airport and less than a 30 minute walk to the center of town. A lovely park is nearby and dining opportunities are close, including the highly recommended Dux Dine just a couple of doors down. Your hostess Ping at the Lorenzo is very helpful and makes you feel right at home. Thank you Ping for a great stay!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We are a family of 4 who stayed at the Lorenzo Motor Lodge June 2014. I would highly recommend this hotel to any family with young children. The rooms are clean with a modern feel, good TV channel selection and DVDs available. Ping, who runs the hotel, is extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is well located to visit Christchurch City, has plenty of parking for hire cars, and there is no shortage of restaurants / fast food outlets in the Riccarton area. I would particularly recommend Cafe Cismo directly opposite for excellent food / coffee.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte, Montana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

After traveling for a week in New. Zealand with expensive wi-fi and minimal laundry facilities, it was a pleasure to find free wi-fi and a convenient laundry. The room was large and well furnished. The staff were very friendly and in fact presented us with a bottle of a local wine named "Montana" when they found out we were from the U.S. State so named. This Lodge was a great place to stay. Close to down town and near the college.

Room Tip: Ground floor was easiest to access from our vehicle, but all rooms were easy to get to. There is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

After an error in booking a 2-day stay online, I immediately called to explain the problem. Despite several conversations, I was told that I would still be billed a night's stay although they could not accommodate the two consecutive days that I wanted.

To make a long story short, I was billed despite not being accepted on the day they were holding me to. I have now received a partial refund by Lorenzo (refund minus the booking.com commission) after I have spent hours trying to resolve this issue. This includes a personal visit to the front desk while I was still in Christchurch and well as lodging complaints with some of the tourism entities of New Zealand.

While I have now been refunded the majority of my money, the fact remains that this was, I believe, an underhanded and unfair billing practice to charge me for an aberrant booking when the error was acknowledged immediately and despite the fact that I did show up for the day I was being billed for.

In detail:
I was charged by the Lorenzo Motor Lodge in spite of the fact that nobody was at the desk to allow me to check in. Now, after spending a number of hours lodging complaints and using multiple resources, I have been refunded the majority of my money. I had several problems with the booking (booking.com) and after numerous booking errors and attempt at booking directly through the Lorenzo site, I finally got a confirmation email with the wrong dates (April 1 and 2 instead of the intended April 3 and 4). I IMMEDIATELY called Lorenzo to explain the mistake but got no answer.

The following day I called again and she (Ping) acknowledged a booking error and would not charge me for the night that had already passed but would still hold me to the one remaining night, even though they could not give me my original 2 consecutive nights. I explained in detail about the mistake and she explained in detail that she would still be charging me. I admit I was not happy about being held to a single night when Christchurch was one of the very few 2-night stops on my NZ vacation.

When I arrived on the 3rd there was nobody responding to the front desk, and their marquee said there was still vacancy. Soon after I left, Ping called my cell phone and acknowledged she had seen me at the desk (I guess by CCTV). I told her I had found another room and she said OK and it seemed as if everything was. She then turned on the "no vacancy" sign. I know this because I was across the street at Nando's eating dinner! I can't believe she still charged me after not only the original confusion but the following discussion and then not even allowing me to check in! This was not at a strange hour, it was about 20:20!

Our communication was very clear and I am very disappointed to see that she has charged me. There are two charges on my credit card totaling about $180 USD, and this was charged the day after I received NO LODGING.

This is the worst lodging experience (actually I was never able to spend a night at Lorenzo) I have experienced in travel throughout the US, across Russia, China (twice), Norway, Puerto Rico, and New Zealand (twice). This was absolutely not worth my time and effort and I wish I had never had contact with Lorenzo Motor Lodge. Take this into consideration along with the substantial number of positive reviews.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzoMotorLodge, Owner at Lorenzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hello Scott, I need explain your bookings on my side. We received your bookings for 2 nights stay from 01/04/2014-03/04/2014 for non refundable room type from Booking.com. Non refundable room means when we received your bookings, we can charge your credit card directly for the whole 2 nights booking and no cancellation policy apply. You should read clearly when you made bookings. We leave the lights on for the whole night to wait your arrival, but you didn't show the first night. Next morning you ring me you didn't say anything you want to cancelled your booking, so we still keep your room for the 2nd night. At 8pm, I went to the rooms to shut unsold rooms blind and close the window and turn the lights on for each arriving guest room including your room , if nobody in the office you should wait until I come back( you can't wait 2 or 3 minutes? ), that's why when I come back to the office and I ring you to double check your bookings( I am thing you maybe late arrival for that night) ; you told me you find another place just cross the road???? That's why we charge you for the first night. And after you send me the email about your credit card charge, I am happy to refund you $132.05 after commission and I believe your said you made mistake.

Another thing, we are not fully booked on that night, after I ring you , you said you stay in another place, so I put " no Vacancy " on, before I go to bed. It doesn't mean we sold out all rooms.

Therefore, when you made booking, please clearly read all terms and conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorenzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorenzo Motor Lodge

Address: 36 Riccarton Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lorenzo Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorenzo Motor Lodge is conveniently located close to Hagley Park and Westfield Mall. A 'tuscan style' property, with studios, one and two bedroom apartments beautifully presented by the owners Ping Liu. There are many quality restaurants, cafe's, bars and great shopping close by. With service and cleanliness a priority at Lorenzo, you will be pleased that you chose to stay here while visiting Christchurch. A short 10 minute drive to Christchurch International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Lorenzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorenzo Hotel Christchurch
Lorenzo Motel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorenzo Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.