We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lorenzo Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lorenzo Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Lorenzo Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   36 Riccarton Road, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We ended up our South Island tour with a 3 day stay here. Our hosts recommended places to visit and places to eat. They were very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable with a spa tub and free wifi. Although the main road was busy, we did not hear the traffic in our room and slept comfortably. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    67
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
78
171
20
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights during a tour of NZ and Mary & Mike couldn't have been more welcoming. They clearly love the city and always found time to talk about it and what we could do. They went the extra mile for us, booking restaurants, shuttle for the train etc and made our visit very enjoyable.Very happy to recommend it to others.

The only downside is that Riccarton Road is a very busy road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at this property during a two week trip to New Zealand.

This is a very well run property! The couple live there and the condition of the property shows their pride. We had a ground floor room right next to the laundry room and since I needed to do our laundry it was perfect.

Clean, comfortable and well kept.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

A terrific place to stay - located within walking distance of food, shopping and the park. The owners are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are nicely equipped, comfortable, and very clean. We'd recommend it to friends and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent the first two nights of our ten day South Island trip at Lorenzo.
We were greeted by the friendliest man (Mike) who not only helped us ot our room but made several recomendations about places to visit
The room was spacious and comfortable.
it was quiet and easy to get to.
I would recomend a stay at Lorenzo for anyone of any age.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

During our three weeks in NZ we stayed in quite a few places and this was by far the nicest.
We were made very welcome by Mike on our arrival. The rooms were lovely - comfortable sofa, comfortable bed, a great spa bath. We'd definitely stay again and would recommend it to friends.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spent here our last night in NZ before flying back to Europe.
Perfect location close to Hagley Park on Riccarton Road. But although Riccarton Road is a busy main road, room was quiet and calm.
Downstair rooms have charming small "patios" in the back with table and chairs for outdoor sitting.
Big well furnished rooms.
Knowledgeable and friendly receptionist (owners were on holiday) recommended a new restaurant next door called "Dux Dine"- excellent.
Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorenzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorenzo Motor Lodge

Address: 36 Riccarton Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lorenzo Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorenzo Motor Lodge is conveniently located close to Hagley Park and Westfield Mall. A 'tuscan style' property, with studios, one and two bedroom apartments beautifully presented by the owners Ping Liu. There are many quality restaurants, cafe's, bars and great shopping close by. With service and cleanliness a priority at Lorenzo, you will be pleased that you chose to stay here while visiting Christchurch. A short 10 minute drive to Christchurch International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Lorenzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorenzo Hotel Christchurch
Lorenzo Motel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorenzo Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.