We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate, central and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lorenzo Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lorenzo Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Lorenzo Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   36 Riccarton Road, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Thames, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Immaculate, central and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed while visiting family for Christmas. It is a very central position for eateries / parks and despite being on a busy main road is very quiet and peaceful. The owner was very welcoming and helpful and it was a very pleasant experience overall.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    60
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
68
151
20
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment at the back of the motel, which has a lovely courtyard. The place is spotless. Mike and mary lived up to their reputation of being hospitable by predicting our needs and producing a suitable bathroom chair for my 92 yrs old mother in law. They picked us up at the train station and drove us to the shopping centre and made restaurant reservations.
In addition they were a good source of local knowledge. They are extremely professional and are people who obviously enjoy their jobs and meeting and greeting newcomers.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are a way from the main street and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and myself were welcome at the door by the owners and was walked us to our room. We found the room to be lovely and great space. We really enjoyed our stay and very helpful with restaurants and directions . When we return to Christchurch we are sure to stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

It's nice in this day and age to receive a personal service from the owners who truly value you the customer. On arrival we were greeted and welcomed to our rooms which are clean and spacious. The provision of free wifi is a welcome addition and I would recommend to everybody visiting Christchurch to consider it. Close to some good restaurants too

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here for work- related reasons and was astounded by the service and support from this well appointed motor lodge - better than many well starred hotel with the personal attention.
Thank you Mike and Mary!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent just one night at Lorenzo Motor Lodge, we arrived on an afternoon flight from Sydney and left early the next morning on our South island driving adventure.
Our room was a good size, little kitchenette, comfortable bed, small bathroom, and everything was very clean. Mary was very friendly and sweet. She tried to help us with dinner options but everything nearby was booked, she said that since the earthquake it's been hard since a lot of businesses were hit by it and haven't re-opened since. The location was great easy to find, and there were quick and easy food options within walking distance. The little cafe across the street has great tea, coffee and AMAZING pancakes! I would definitely stay at Lorenzo Motor Lodge again, Happy Travels :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

What a fabulous motel. Beautifully clean and well aired, with outdoor furniture outside our rooms, soft cotton sheets, and lovely toiletries. Great cafe over the road as a bonus - would gladly come back agaiin and stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorenzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorenzo Motor Lodge

Address: 36 Riccarton Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lorenzo Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorenzo Motor Lodge is conveniently located close to Hagley Park and Westfield Mall. A 'tuscan style' property, with studios, one and two bedroom apartments beautifully presented by the owners Ping Liu. There are many quality restaurants, cafe's, bars and great shopping close by. With service and cleanliness a priority at Lorenzo, you will be pleased that you chose to stay here while visiting Christchurch. A short 10 minute drive to Christchurch International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lorenzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorenzo Hotel Christchurch
Lorenzo Motel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorenzo Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.