We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dorset House Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dorset House Backpackers to your Saves list
Dorset House Backpackers
4.5 of 5 Hostel   |   1 Dorset Street | PO Box 25350, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th night FREE!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“OK for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Pros:
Friendly staff
Has convenient free shuttle to the train station
Clean room and bathroom.
Quiet neighborhood

Cons:
Wifi is weak and I kept losing the connection
Room was small
Thin walls - can easily here your neighbors

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi, thank you for your comments on your stay at Dorset House. We're glad that you found the staff friendly and helpful and the hostel quiet.
I've noted your comments regarding wiFi strength and we have had this checked. We installed multiple extra booster boxes to improve the wiFi reach - some of these needed to have their positioning adjusted and our guests are now finding the signal much stronger.
Dorset House is generally a quiet hostel (no bars and no party buses here!). We added a significant amount of extra insulation and soundproofing during the renovation, I apologise if you experienced any issues with noise, we will continue to keep an eye on it.
Thank you again for taking the time to review us - we appreciate all of our feedback, it helps us with our continual plan to always improve. Best regards, Dorset House management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    54
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
49
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a hundred years old house. The decoration just classic & fabulous & stylist.

Location: A very convenient location. Opposite Hagley park and a bus stop is in front the house. Close to Christchurch Casino and other attractions and eateries (all in walking distance).

Service: Friendly staffs. Free 100MB WiFi every night. Here usually is the last stop for backpackers, therefore a lot of free foods/stuffs.

Room: Room size is acceptable and clean. Bed is nice.

Facility: Kitchen is a little bit small but still acceptable but the dining area is too small during winter time as you can eat outside (outside the kitchen has a large open air dining area). Warm lounge.

Overall: Lovely, classic, stylist backpackers with friendly staffs and cosy bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi! I wanted to thank you for your very kind feedback, we're really happy that you liked your stay here at Dorset House and enjoyed our building. Our house is Victorian in age and we've tried to keep with the decor of the times, we think it adds a bit of charm. :) Thanks again for responding! Kind regards, Dorset House management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night in August. The place is very quiet, comfortable and conveniently located. The rooms are warm and the bedding is of a high standard. The only thing I feel lacked was the provision of more bathrooms on each floor. Mornings are busy and you may find yourself waiting to go for a shower. Parking is available on site, but dont depend on it as there are very few spaces and they get occupied very easily. Would love to stay here again, if I travel to ChCh on the same budget!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I must say that this property fall short of my expectation after reading those wonderful reviews . We stayed in a double room and was placed in a room in the annex building, means you have to walk outdoor in order to get there. The room is small , after putting your backpacks there are hardly any room to move with a flat screen tv hanging on top, which is a plus in any budget accomadations. The bathroom is just next to the room with big window facing outside but there is no heater inside which make it very cold at night. The worst part is the water heating was not functioning during our stay and we have to go to the main building for shower which is in inconvenient and freezing having to walk outdoor after the shower.
The price can be considered high but when you saw what happened around after the devastating quake and the location which is close to centre and about 15min walk the supermarket , there is nothing much to complaint about.
Overall, the property is clean. well mantained and they even allowed you to use the facilities after checkout plus free wifi which everywhere else is chargable , I will have rated higher if not for the few hiccups above.

Room Tip: Get the room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrimal, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My boyfriend and i spent one night here after a late fly-in. the room was warm, with a comfy double bed, fresh towels and a TV too. the receptionists were fantastic in organising my late check-in and organised transfers from the airport to the accommodation all via email. Dorset house is located close to the park and is within walking distance to the museum which seems to be the place for transfers! the bathrooms were clean and the kitchen seemed handy to use if you were staying for a longer period of time. Best 'Backpackers' i have stayed in so far...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent 2 nights here before and after our stay in Queenstown and on both nights we arrived late at night. We had booked online months ago and the staff had given us the door code access way ahead of time. Upon entering the front door on both occasions, we found our key and Wifi access code in an envelope pinned to the reception desk's notice board, hence everything went smoothly. We just had to find our way to our room according to the floor map attached. Our choice of a small double room turned out to be quite cramped for 2 adults with 60-litre backpacks but it was fine for a very short stay. There were many restrooms and showers available - which is a good thing - but on the second night, the one nearest to our room (which was in the second/back block) happened to have run out of hot water, resulting in us having to hop over to the front block via an unsheltered backyard (it was drizzling and cold). Light sleepers may also be woken up by the noise from the carpark if your window opens to it. As for the common kitchen, we utilized it once and found it to be pretty well-stocked and equipped. Vic's Cafe was very nearby (exit the hostel, turn left and go down the street for about 3 minutes before crossing the road to the cafe) and the Canterbury Museum was a 15-minute stroll away (shorter if you're not carrying luggage). Overall, the hostel was pretty ok and well-suited to our budget. We also appreciate the hostel's prompt replies to our emails leading up to our arrival.

Room Tip: The small double room is best suited for one guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My friends and I were on a road trip around South Island and Dorset House was our first accommodation - we arrived first in Christchurch. For the sake of ease and familiarity, we decided to book another night in Dorset House again for our last night before flying back home.

First thing that caught my eye when we walked in were the historical and vintage items on display. And it's not only one display, across the halls, the rooms, there are a lot of knick-knacks and stuff on display. The house had a colourful past before it became the backpacker hostel it is today, and I think it's great that they treasure all the precious moments gone.

We were first assigned a 4-bed dorm, which was perfect for 4 of us. The room size was ok. The beds were a little weird though... The bottom part was propped up higher than the head part. But otherwise it was fine. Kitchen was big and fully equipped. Also there were a lot of shared bathrooms available on both first and second floors, so don't worry about not getting to use one.

Staff was very friendly and helpful, and at the reception there are a lot of deals and offers you can take up. I got a 10% discount vouchers to visit the Antarctic Centre, which was quite cool. Internet is free but only limited to several hundred megabytes. Can't remember, was it 50 or 100 MB? But in any case I think it would be sufficient.

We were a bit disappointed that we got assigned to a 5-bed dorm instead on our last day. We had to stay with one stranger. The staff apologized, saying that the rooms are full and that was the best arrangement they could make. We understood - it's not their fault anyway, we were hoping to get a 4-bed dorm but in the end what we booked were only the beds not the room.

Overall it's a nice place to stay that won't break your budget. Also it's very near to Hagley Park (and consequently the Botanic Gardens) so it's a good place to start some walk around the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorset House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset House Backpackers

Address: 1 Dorset Street | PO Box 25350, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorset House Backpackers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located central city, boutique hostel in historic 1871 home, in a lovely quiet garden setting and next to beautiful Hagley Park. You will find everything needed including a guest lounge with pool table, internet, WiFi, DVD's, cable, kitchen, balcony, guest laundry and free off-street parking. A selection of single, double and twin rooms are available, with fully made beds. Enjoy a stroll to Cathedral Square, or indulge in cafes & shopping on Victoria St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Dorset House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorset House Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.