We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amore Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amore Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Amore Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   168 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Timaru, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Decided to travel to chch to go shopping on the monday with my daughter! Rang in the morning of the Sunday and luckily they had a suitable room available so off we went, rooms are always beautifully clean and lovely, the owners are young and very good at what they do, friendly and accommodating!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Manager at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much Suzie for the kind review! It is always a pleasure seeing you and the rest of the family.

We are lucky to be in such a central location that a quick trip to Christchurch for a girlie weekend of late night shopping over at the Westfield Mall is perfect for some relax time.

I hope you and your daughter had a wonderful time! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Many Thanks,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    38
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
70
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the motor lodge while in Christchurch for a family wedding along with numerous other family members, the rooms were perfect, modern, and spacious and provided us with everything we required, the lodge was also in a great location close to local amenities and a short bus/taxi to both airport and city centre. The management of the Amore were fantastic, going out of there way to help us all. If in Christchurch again I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Manager at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
It was our pleasure accommodating you and your family. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we managed to help make the organisation of your weekend easier. We are lucky to be in such a prime location that if you don't have a car, everything is in walking distance or if you need to take a taxi most things are just a short trip away.

Thank you for you kind words, we do work hard to make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay and having comments like yours is a nice pat on the back that gives us lots of motivation to keep doing the job we love!

Kind regards,
Michelle Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Pauline was fantastic and made the arrangements easy. Both owners greeted us upon arrival and were very welcoming, friendly and made sure we settled in easily. Owners are very relaxed and easy going - made it feel like we were being welcomed by friends - not by strangers in a hotel!
The accommodation was very clean and comfortable.
Free wifi.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Manager at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review. Both Steve and Pauline, the owners are lovely people and make the Amore such a welcoming place to stay. They will be touched by your kind words and I will make sure these are passed onto them.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed staying in our rooms. Free wifi is a must have for us here as many people are far away from their families and it is so important to keep in touch, by proving free Internet we feel helps people feel more at home while staying with us.
Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards,
Michelle Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for three nights 5th,6th and 7th Jan, over from England with four other family members. The owners were really friendly and the accomodation could not have been better. Lovely and clean, very modern and lovely air con. Coold not have booked anywhere better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Manager at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Being one of the latest motels to be built on Riccarton road we are lucky to have a very new building with modern furnishings. Also to be one of the few motels that have air con and heater all in one.

We’re grateful for your kind review and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Christchurch is continuously changing with many new businesses popping up everywhere and lots of new attractions and restaurants opening all over. We hope you’re able to come back and visit us soon and see all the changes that have been made since your trip.

Kind regards,
Michelle Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The first thing that really impressed me about this place is its very concerning staff. Two days before we had to leave, we receive an email from the hotel's management enquiring about our arrival time at Christchurch. After informing them that its quite late around 11:30 PM they replied telling us that our room will be kept open & we can collect the keys later in the morning. On arrival also we had a detailed note hung at the reception welcoming us & mentioning other important details.
Rooms are very nicely built with a small kitchen set up which has good amenities in terms of fridge, utensils & tea coffee necessities. Location is another major advantage because you have huge markets & malls very nearby (just 5 mins walk). The staff was very helpful all the time. There is a taxi on call.
All in all, we had a happy experience! And we would love to come back:)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Manager at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken to leave us your kind review.
We delighted to hear that the staff here at the Amore made your arrival and stay a pleasant one, that was easy and hassle free. Great to know that our facilities, in the room accommodated your needs. As you say being so close to the super market, farmers markets and restaurants is a great advantage for us here because you do have the option to go to a restaurant close by or buy some local produce and cook it up here at home for a quiet relaxing night in.

Once again we appreciate your kind words and would love to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Thanks so much for having us back Amore! I could not imagine staying anywhere else when we pass through Christchurch. Service and quality is outstanding, the rooms are so quite and clean. Had a lovely breakfast in the sweet courtyard with the birds and plants. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was our first visit to Christchurch and when we arrived we checked into our family room which was amazing, the beds were super comfy and the whole place was immaculate.. The owners were very friendly and helped us with places to visit. Its very close to the supermarket and about 10 min to town by car. I would defiantly stay here again next time I visit Christchurch.....

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoreMotorLodge, Owner at Amore Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We do our best to ensure all our guests are aware of all the places to see and everything there is to do in Christchurch now. The city has all it's life and vibrancy back. Cantabrians are very resourceful with a strong sense of pride and love to welcome people here.
We are glad you enjoyed staying in our Family apartment and found the beds so comfy!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amore Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amore Motor Lodge

Address: 168 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#12 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amore Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 17 modern, stylish and comfortable self-contained units you can enjoy luxury accommodation featuring studio units and 2 bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Amore Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amore Motor Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amore Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.