We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added CentrePoint on Colombo Motel to your Saves list
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
São Paulo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in October, both in the beginning and in the end of my trip. The hotel has a good location, close enough (you can walk) to the points of interest in the city centre (old cathedral, re:start mall, botanic gardens), but also close to shops, restaurants, liquor stores to the opposite way. The owners are awesome guests and will make you feel home - they help you with everything you might need: booking shuttles, ordering food, telling the good places to eat and they are lovely people. Good rooms fully equipped. Look no further, perfect place to stay in Christchurch.

Room Tip: Room 8 is the smallest, still good size for a couple. Room 10 fits a family, with a living room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi thereBiancaVF and thanks for staying at both the start and end of your South Island holiday! Yes we are located close to the places you want to walk to and yes, the owners are awesome and yes you made the most of their style of hospitality - well done! Thanks for asying we are the perfect place to stay in Christchurch! Yes, room 8 "Mini Studio with Spa Bath" is our smallest room and does come with a small room advisory. It's fine for a short stay and it was probably the last room available when you booked! The room you had at the end of your trip was one of our biggest! So yes, you got to expereince almost everything we had! You mentioned "family" but this room, while bigger than others, still has a max pax 2 pax limit on it - just singles or couples / twins in this room type!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    144
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
109
373
40
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Christchurch by air very late at night but when booking our two night stay we had allowed Jeff to book us a taxi. The driver had our room key so we were straight in to a warm, comfortable unit. It was very modern, clean, well equipped and provided all that we needed.
Despite being situated on a busy road we never heard traffic noise.
We were disappointed that there were no cafes nearby for breakfast. The one we were directed to was quite a distance on foot and wasn't really in the direction of the city centre, which was our ultimate destination. By the next day we were self- sufficient!
Jeff's e-mails through the booking process were very friendly and helpful and he and his wife were very helpful when we finally met them.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi there i2c_JP and thanks for the review of your stay with us. Good on you for making use of the various services we offer - in your case the late night taxi meet 'n greet! Makes those late night arrivals so smooth for a good price. Colombo St. a busy road? Not really and now we have been designated a pedestrian/cycling/public transport centred passageway in the all new Transport Plan! The reason you did not hear the traffic noise is that there is no traffic! Noice part of town! Bloody earthquakes wiped out the 20 restaurants/cafes/bars that were just a block away but we do have a cafe just 290m away that is not bad - and it survived the quakes! Thanks for the review - great to hear your comments and thoughts~!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Jeff and Naomi were great hosts! The motel had more of a B&B feel to it but with better amenities. The room was super clean, comfortable, and had everything you would need to make yourself at home. The spa tub was awesome for this road weary traveler....melted 8 hours of driving away. Jeff gave us a great recommendation for breakfast...Vic's Cafe which was about a 10 minute walk from the motel. We will definitely stay there again if we are in Christchurch and look forward to see the progress with the city's rebuilding post earthquake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hi there Peter C and thanks for the review after staying with us on your way round to the Galciers! Great to see you made good use of the bath and our other guest services to make the most of your stay! Thanks for making yourself at home, enjoying our recommended Vic's Cafe and feeling like you'd want to stay with us again when you next visit Christchurch! Can't get much better than that! Hope you enjoyed the Glaciers too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice Motel, nice staff, nice rooms nice location and outstanding customer service. I would repeat for sure!
The relation between price and quality is very good, the place is in a very good condition and clean.
The location is quite nice. Due to the earthquaques it is not very close to the restaurants now, but anyway is quite OK.
The best part is the customer atention, the staff is extremelly helpfull and friendly. The guy helped us finding restaurants, taxis, airpor transport and visiting the city.
As I said, great place!
Andres

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Nice one! Andres P! You gave us 4 "nice"s and 1 "outstanding" in the first sentence....nice! Thanks for staying with us and thanks for the review and the second sentence relates price to quality - which we got a pass mark for too! Sentence 3 covers off the post quake reality - dam those quakes! - but you found it ok - which with the info we provide is how we find most guests find it. And finally our customer service - yup, could be the best part. We like to think our stayle of hospitality does go the extra mile - and that's worthwhile - for us and our guests! Thanks for saying we are a Great Place Andres!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Even though we arrived late at night, Mr Jeff spent a long time giving us all the helpful info regarding our stay in Christchurch including all the great places to see & things to do in the city as well as good dining places. He even told us all the streets that were closed, detours etc. He even booked a taxi for us going to the airport. He helped us with our luggage, led us to our room, and went on to describe the amenities in the room. He offered free coffee/tea and snacks. All of these happened on the moment we arrived! So we were overwhelmed with the very prompt & thoughtful service. The room was spotless clean with a great attention to detail. We loved the ‘eco-friendliness’ with focus on energy/water conservation/recycling. Wi-fi was relatively cheap and there was a full complement of cable TV channels. The spa bath, recliners were a welcome surprise. Mr. Jeff & Ms. Naomi would really go to great lengths to make your stay a memorable experience. Their sincerity in their service, dedication to their endeavor, and love of their city is really admirable and worthy of emulation. We would surely stay in Centrepoint again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hi there Jay_L_75 and thanks for the indepth review. Mr. Jeff replying here. You cannot have arrive that late at night......if we explained everything. Late can mean after midnight with the way the airlaine schedules work these days! We do spend a bit of time keeping up with the road closures - some by going exploring and others by chance..... such is life in poat quake Christchurch! Great toosee you loved not only our warm welcome but also our rooms and the attention to detail and the eco-friendly aspects. We offer a great quality wifi service, that is unthrottled & unlimited for just $5 per day for 24hrs - great to see you found it value for money! Jeff and Naomi thank you heartily for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Myself & my husband stayed in this motel for 2 nights (One at the start of our trip of the South Island and one at the end) Upon arrival the staff at reception were very friendly and they gave us a great idea of where we could go for dinner, shopping etc. They went out of there way to help us. The room itself was clean, modern and a decent size. They have everything you could ask for even if you planned on staying longer (Great facilities)
We really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hi there Sinead K and thanks for the review after staying with us both at the start and end of your South Island experience! Great to see you liked our style of hospitality and found that our rooms have everything you could have wanted! Great to hear!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I travel for business nearly every day and it's not often that I write a review but in this case I feel I must. From the first moment I arrived at CentrePoint I felt welcome. The operators, Jeff and Naomi Peters were so friendly and accommodating that it felt like staying with family. The room was great and anything I needed was right at hand. I will stay there again the next time I'm in or near Christchurch!

Room Tip: Save time to explore the city and sample the many great eateries! I liked my ground level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hello there Kevin H and thanks for taking the time to review us even though you usually don't~! I see what you mean by saying that you travel for business nearly everyday - you sure do! Great to see you found that the room had everything you needed. I guess that you are in a good position to say that with all the different places you stay! Thanks for being a wonderful guest and for all the things you teach us just by being who you are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#1 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.