We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get oriented to NZ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added CentrePoint on Colombo Motel to your Saves list
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Bethesda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to get oriented to NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at Centrepoint on Columbo our first night in NZ. Jeff, the host is extremely well-organized and has everything you need to "get yourself sorted" when you arrive completely sleep-deprived. He made us feel welcome and comfortable right away. We rented a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit for my adult son, my husband and myself. It was perfect for getting a really good night's sleep, repacking for our road trip, making breakfast and lunch. Everything was spotlessly clean, fresh and comfortable.

The hotel is located walking distance from the center of Christchurch, and Jeff provided useful guidance on what to see along with good maps. We were so happy with our stay that my husband and I came back for our last night in NZ 2 weeks later. On that night, just the 2 of us now, we stayed in a one bedroom unit that was described on the website as a little more roomy. It was very spacious and perfect for spreading out our suitcases for repacking. Also very quiet and comfy. If we ever go back to Christchurch, this is where we will stay!

Room Tip: The 2 BR 2 Bath upstairs unit is great for more than 2 people. When it was just 2 of us, we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Barbara H & thnaks for staying on your first night in NZ! We are used to welcoming those who have just arrived from the other side of the world and we take care to make sure they can settle in and get some rest. And grreat to see that you were comfortable coming back to stay with us again at the end! Yes, choosing your rooms types according to what you need is important!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    144
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
109
373
40
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have stayed in over 35 different Motels in Christchurch and i have finally found the best stay in Christchurch.
My company has put me up in so many hotels since the Earthquakes and CentrePoint wins it hands down, The service level has been cheerful and quick , so private and quiet within 5 minutes walk to the CBD, and it's a great walk i spent 9 days here, all the amenities you should expect , very reasonably priced, clean and very recently redecorated.

Really happy with this Motel, 10/10

Room Tip: There is no pool, but who needs one when the beach is ten minutes away
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello and thanks for the great review Aaron L. Great to see that after 35 motels in Christchurch you've found the best place to stay. Thanks for the 10/10 rating, see you next time you are in Christchurch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healesville, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We came here for 8 days break, to rest, read a book, drink some wine and get away from the grind of home, and relax we did! In our very well appointed room which looked newly renovated and painted with quality fittings everywhere.
Right from our arrival, later than expected due to our plane being late, we were made to feel more like family than guests. Jeff settled us in to our rooms and left us to rest after our traveling after telling us to pop into the office in the morning to find out where to go for breakfast.
In the morning after a restful sleep in our very quiet room we went to the office where Jeff filled us in on restaurants close by, things to do or see and where to avoid the red zone from the after effects of the earthquake 3 years ago.
Since then we have happily walked everywhere with our map and any questions were quickly answered.
I read previous comments on trip advisor about this motel as well as three others I was considering, this one had excellent reviews and the price was very reasonable so in the end I booked it. I'm so glad I did and would more than happily come back here whenever we visit Christchurch again.
Jeff's sense of homour is also like ours and he often made us laugh. Thank you for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Yes you did! Sally W you did come here for an 8 day break and I think the balcony has been rather lonely since you left!! For some weird reason, yes our sense of humour did meet and we had a great time... I think it started with the office door and who was gonna be inside or out?? After that it was great to share your holiday with you and chat about so many things! Thanks for the review and do come & see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I can't say enough about how wonderful CentrePoint was for us. We had some significant delays getting in and didn't arrive until well past the close of check in time. Not only did the owner stay up to greet us, he was incredibly welcoming, took us to our room to show us around, had welcome cookies waiting, and was generally amazingly kind. After a very long day this was the best possible end. The room was spotless and I would stay there again in a heartbeat (and I'm picky!). Outstanding service and an impeccable example of why New Zealand is one of the best places to travel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Great to see that you were Beyond Impressed :) Sycamore_13! That you found the room to be spotless is pleasing. We don't stay up for all the late arivals but we always try to greet everyone cheerfully! That you said we were generally amazingly kind is humbling. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

One of the most comfortable hotels/motels we have stayed at. Great sized room with fantastic living area (kitchenette/lounge room). Loved having the bedroom upstairs which gave us some much needed time apart. The rooms and premises were spotless, and the beds so comfortable.

Jeff and his family are fantastic hosts, he takes the time to explain everything a list of food places still operating to which bus to take which is really helpful in this city which is still trying to find its feet. Jeff's enthusiasm inspires his guests and we just felt so comfortable around his family and other guests.

I note one of the other reviewers mentioned a downside of no free internet. This is something I have noticed is standard practice across most Australian and NZ hotels/motels, however at $5 for 24 hours I was more than happy to pay.

Thanks for our personalised email after our staying. It was such a lovely thought.

Overall, a great place to stay and can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi rydelocal and tanks for the review. Great to see you loved the One Bedroom Apartment and that you loved that the beds were so comfortable! Great to see you loved our style of hospitality. As for the internet, we provide a quality service, $5 for 24hrs of unlmited, unthrottle internet and for that you get up to 2 access passes. We find that most guests are comfortable paying for a quality service.
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have just spent 4 nights at the CentrePoint on Colombo and was more than pleased. Right from the very friendly and helpful welcome from the owner, Jeff, I knew I was going to enjoy my stay. The motel is very clean, well appointed, fresh and modern. It is a comfortable walk to the centre of Christchurch...or what is left of it after the earthquakes. I felt very relaxed and comfortable during my stay. Due to earthquake damage places to eat and shop are hard to find but Jeff was most helpful providing maps and information to assist. I would certainly stay at CentrePoint again and highly recommend it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi samatjac and thanks for staying for 4 nights. We do try our best to make sure everyone can find their way around Christchurch and that is important to us. Great to see that it was useful to you. Thanks for the review and highly recommending us, much appreciated, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here one night and were very pleased. The owners were very friendly with lots of helpful advice for our time in Christchurch. We were upgraded to a larger room - the room itself was comfortable and well appointed with a kitchenette. The motel was in walking distance to downtown and multiple restaurants. Highly recommended. The only minor complaint was no free internet, but that wasn't really an issue for our short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi there ascaf and thanks for the review. Some people are lucky and do get a free room upgrade so we hope you enjoyed yours! Great to see you loved the room and its kitchenette. No, the internet is not free because it is a quality system and it works! We just ask for $5 for 24hrs of unlimited unthrottled acces for up to 2 machines. Thanks for staing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.