We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally! A FABULOUS night's sleep.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added CentrePoint on Colombo Motel to your Saves list
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Mpls MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Finally! A FABULOUS night's sleep.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The owners made us feel like special family friends staying in their guest house. The bed linens were clean, crisp, fresh smelling ( these things are important!) and the room had everything we needed to make our stay more than pleasant. More important, my husband and I observed Jeff treating the other guests like THEY were the family favorites.
Jeff spent time with us as we requested an evening walk to better understand the rebuild process of Christchurch. He pointed out improvements and landmarks to watch for which were very helpful.
Being adventurous eaters we had plenty of restaurants to choose from within walking distance and had a great meal at an Indian restaurant 2 blocks away.
The previous Tripadvisor reviewers are correct. The owners have set the bar very high for other motel owners not only in New Zealand but around the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello MN4ME and thanks for the overall wrapup on the review. You just about covered everything and great to see you were comfortable naming your review “Finally! A FABULOUS night's sleep.”
Thanmks for the comment " More important, my husband and I observed Jeff treating the other guests like THEY were the family favorites." cos that is one of the things we do, mostly naturally.
Thanks for saying that we have set the bar high, we'll work hard to keep it there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    144
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
108
372
40
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just spent 2 nights here - can't think of any way in which the owners could improve the property or the ambience of this place. In fact, I wish the owners of the other NZ motels we have stayed in could see this property and experience the hospitality of the owners to appreciate what they should be doing. Our room was very large, and well furnished, and had a lot of extra touches such as sky, stereo unit and a DVD player that you don't normally find in motels or even full-service hotels. In addition, we were given lots of information about the area and the best things to see in Christchurch since the devastation of the recent earthquakes. Thoroughly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for the review IMUK! I like that you have said that you wish other motels could see what we were doing.....that's really nidce, thanks! Great to see you loved the rooms and also our style of hospitality and the info we provide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very good location 10 minute walk to downtown. They are around the corner from the Intercity bus stop and the Thai Container restaurant (superb!). Super quiet, and I slept so well in their great bed. There is a nice kitchenette, safe, tub spa and 51 TV channels. The room was very clean with new sheets and towels. Really a great choice just a short walk from town, but quiet and perfect for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello red_Betty and thanks for the review. Yes, the InerCity bus stop is just round the corner, only 4 minutes walk away and just over hte road from us is Thai Container, a great little place to eat!
Great to hear that you slept so well in our beds. Actually we have about 70 channels on the tv - lots to select from! Yes, we are close to town but nice & quiet at night! Thanks or staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My travel partner and I stayed at CentrePoint for 3 nights in March 2013. The place is newly built after the earthquake and the owner made us feel right at home. If you don't bring a laptop or ipad (we didn't)and need to get online, there is a public library just around the corner that will give you free access for one hour. If you don't have a car, the only drawback is that the only place to get a good meal within walking distance is the Casino a few blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello Pete078 and thanks for the review. Thanks for the kind comments but I do have to say that the building has not been built since the quakes. We survived the quakes, and we give thanks everyday for that, and the subsequent repairs made us look very new. The library is just round the corner but we also have a laptop that guests can use in their room for $5 per hour plus $1 per hour for internet. Yes the casino is close but there are also some 19 other eateries within a similar radius of 1km - plenty to choose from!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked the two bedroom two bathroom unit and were thrilled with the spacious unit which Also had two kitchenettes... Beautifully presented property!!!
We had two adult daughters with us on our trip and loved the extra space. Only wish we were able to stay longer than one night.
The lounge area is large and the colour scheme really lovely.
The owners practice great recycling and you are given your own recycling bins etc which is cool.
We will definitely stay here again, ole fully for a longer period.
Owners are so friendly and respond quickly to my inquiry emails.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Marjorie R and thanks for the review after staying in the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom Centrepoint Suite - a very popular room! Yes, we do have a full recycling system which we invite out guests to participate in. Its based on the council guidelines - its good to do what you can! We do try to reply to enquiries asap. Thanks for staying with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high wycombe bucks
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was worth staying here just to meet Jeff and Naomi. Their sense of humour kept us much amused and on our toes trying to think of clever retorts. They also took great trouble to help us catch the right buses out to the surfing beach at Sumner and then on to the logging port of Lyttleton. Both places emphasised the terrible widespread effect of the earthquake. The motel is in easy walking distance to the central devastation in Christchurch itself. Everyone should see this.
The very clean motel room was also excellent with a nice little kitchen area for preparing meals. You can even set off the fire alarm by doing some ironing. It didn't phase Jeff. He just treated it as a useful check that the equipment was working properly.
We highly recommend this value for money motel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello there MJBHighWycombeBucks and thanks for the review. Great to see that you enjoyed meeting us and that you enjoyed our sense of humour!! Yes we can help guests out with the local bus system cos it is a great way to see the city. Great that your loved the room and the lil' kitchen in it. Also great to see you found us to be good value for money!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Spent a night in Christchurch before flying out. The owners were exceptionally helpful- booked a shuttle for the airport for us, gave us tips on checking out the city, and suggested the amazing Italian restaurant (Venuti) two blocks away. Nice, clean room, huge comfortable bed, and welcome cookies- yum! Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for staying for your last night in NZ before flying out! Yes we can help with transpoert to and from the airport and help you find the best way to get there between bus, shuttle or taxi. Great to hear you loved Venuti - just 300m away and thatyou found the bed comfortable - we do pride ourselves in our beds! See you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.