We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Japanese food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinji Japanese Restaurant(Sushi Dining Kinji)

Kinji Japanese Restaurant(Sushi Dining Kinji)
279b Greers Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
03-359-4697
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 600 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $36
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great food, try the daily specials. The tofu was great and the fish very fresh well worth a visit but you must book possible a week in advance

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    23
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Small restaurant in one of the suburbs of Christchurch. Despite the distance, it's is a place higly reccomendable. The food is great. Not a very large menu but they make interesting daily specials.
The products they use are obviously very good, anyway, the best indicator is the amount of Japanese people eating there, this means that they serve real Japanese stuff.
The staff id also very friendly and efficient.
Andres

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
“delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

thanks to all staff and chefs they made our night perfect flavor well cooked sushi with perfect and professionally service

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Amazing service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

As soon as you step in you are transported into a restaurant with amazing atmosphere, warm temperature and great service. The attentive waitresses rushed to seat us down and gave us some hot towels to clean our hands with. Before we had got our food that offered us another more comfortable table if we would like it. This is another example of their outstanding service. One of the standouts which we ordered was the KFC (Kinji Fried Chicken) where the batter was very light and the chicken was amazingly tender. All of their fish is fresh from around New Zealand, and all of their vegetables are organic. That made the food delicious, and the great service realy topped it off.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Dined here on my birthday. Decided to choose this place as I have recommended it to a lot of our guest at the George Hotel, and always heard very good feedbacks.

I found the service was good; everyone was smiling and was very attentive.
Our waitress was a bit less knowledgeable regarding the menu, but the great food has made up for that.
Good portions and great price! Make sure you book as this is a very popular place for locals.
A bit disappointed that my birthday was not acknowledged.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinji Japanese Restaurant(Sushi Dining Kinji) also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Kinji Japanese Restaurant(Sushi Dining Kinji)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinji Japanese Restaurant(Sushi Dining Kinji), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.