We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower Junction Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Tower Junction Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
112 Blenheim Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Another pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Three of us stayed 5 nights over Easter in a 2BR apartment. The property is well-located (particularly for our purposes), and was clean and comfortable. Despite being in the front room by a main road, little traffic noise was heard. Bathroom is a decent size, well equipped and modern., in fact all rooms and the kitchenette (2 gas hobs, microwave, pots and pans, crockery and cutlery etc.) were well sized.

The property was completely renovated a few years ago, but the standout is the manager Ivana. We are not demanding guests, but I arrived this trip having left my iphone charger at home. I mentioned it to Ivana and voila!, one iphone charger for me to use for the duration of the stay.

On our previous stay a few years ago we flew into CHC late and arrived at the property towards midnight. None of this 'key under the mat' business, Ivana was waiting up to check us in.

A couple of points which may be negatives for some people but did not bother us).

1) We were in the room for the first two day when it was serviced and the sheets were not changed (not in there the other days so unsure about them). Not unusual for motels in NZ and was not a concern to us for the short stay we had, but if it is to you, check before you book.

2) It appears only wired internet is available which again was not an issue to us, but may bother ipad users. Again, check directly before you book.

I would happily stay here again, and my ratings are in the context of it being a motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
35
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights organised, attending the Glenn Frey concert only a short 10 minute walk to the CBS Canterbury Arena.
The accommodation was excellent, roomy, quiet and extremely comfortable. Fully self contained and close to the city centre. The owners were extremely obliging and I would stay there again.
Overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed just one night, place chosen to be convenient for the early morning Picton train, which it was.

Arrived about 1pm, and asked about touring the earthquake-hit red zone in the centre of town. The lady owner could not have been more helpful. She phoned immediately, got me on the last tour of the day and even got her son to give me a lift there! And then the next morning was up at the crack of dawn to make sure we got our transfer to the station.

Moreover the apartment room was very well appointed, providing scope to cook if you were so inclined, and also providing plenty of tea/coffee options, plus free milk of a type you choose on arrival. No wifi but cable internet worked very well. Room was spotless and the bed very comfortable.

My only issues were unrelated to the accommodation. Someone tried to run me over on a pedestrian crossing (deliberately) nearby, so beware, and the maps that you get from the tourist office show roads that don't exist, which means they are no good for navigating around the train station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitakere, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked a studio room at this Motel as it was close to the railway station for the Trans Alpine Express,, we arrived to find we had been upgraded into a 1 bedroom assisted unit - at no charge - the unit was spacious with high quality furniture & fittings - extremely well equipped with a wet area bathroom - heated towel rail very comfortable bed & outside garden area, The hostess was so friendly & informative - giving us a discount voucher for a resturant within walking distance & taking us to the station next morning & offering to pick us up on our return from our overnight stay in Greymouth - holding our luggage for us as well. We arrived back to be welcomed like old friends & our luggage had been left in our room which was a studio- once again very spacious, clean & comfortable, with our own deck she arranged a taxi for us to go into Christchurch central the next day for a tour & also our shuttle back to the airport the following day - while this is not a central city location for walkers, it is only a short trip by car & I strongly recommend it to anyone looking for affordable comfort close to the station & Addington Race Course I would definately go again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawene, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We found clean rooms in an apartment-like suite that really felt like a sort of villa. The place feels very new and even somewhat on the luxurious side. The host was extremely accommodating, and chock-full of helpful information about the area.

My one disappointment is that it is not well-located for travelers who intend to explore Christchurch on foot; it is on a busy road, and is probably just a little too far from the middle of town for walking there and back. It *is* quite close to the train station, which is nice if you're planning to take the rail trip across the Southern Alps.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Tower Junction is a very nice motel - we had a spacious room with a good bed, new furniture and a well equipped kitchenette (both microwave and two gas cooking plates). The bathroom was new as well and spotlessly clean. The hosts were really friendly and gave us lots of information about sightseeing in Christchurch. Wifi is available against a charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end, away from the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

It's a motel but it's clean and new inside and out. Towels and sheets are really soft. The heater in the room and the bathroom (and for the towels) worked great (these are the first heaters that have worked on our trip and they work well). It's in a residential area. We called when we arrived at the train station and the motel manager picked us up. In the morning we had to catch another train and they drove us back to the train station. They let us leave our luggage when we went on the Trans Alpine train trip for the day. There is a washer and dryer on the premises. 10 minute walk to a few strip mall type in formal restaurants (the owner pointed us to them). We loved Sami's Slovaki and Kebabs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tower Junction Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Junction Motor Lodge

Address: 112 Blenheim Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the perfect blend of style and comfort. Close to the City Centre, entertainment centres, retail shops and restaurants, Hagley Park and Christchurch's main railway terminal, most of which are within easy walking distance. We are a self-rated four star plus motel. Our accommodation is excellent without being overstated. We have included every convenience such as cooking facilites, entertainment and internet acess and go that extra step to assist with extraordinary guest requirements ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tower Junction Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower Junction Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.