We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely rooms - great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton

175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton to your Saves list
175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   175 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lovely rooms - great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

stayed 3 nights in april before we had to go back home to uk.
quite plush 2x bedroom apartment with spa bath.
Helpful, friendly and chatty young couple in reception.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    38
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
47
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
kelmscott
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

New ,clean, well equipted apartment. Spa bath in bathroom was lovely and relaxing. Well equipted kitchen.Friendly helpful staff. Walking distance to Westfield Shopping Centre. What more could you ask for. A really pleasant stay. Wouldn't hestitate to stay on our next trip

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

What a great place to stay, lovely friendly hosts and a very clean spotless place. My husband and I enjoyed every moment, and an extra thumbs up to the hosts as it was there first week, IE had just taken over ownership and they were brilliant, need more people like these running motels.
We will definitely be staying there again.
Angela & Marcus Tamatoa

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan1, Management at 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton, responded to this review, April 6, 2009
Dear Angela & Marcus,
Thank you for the wonderful feedback. It's great when you get to meet such fantastic people.Thank you for taking the time to review Metropolitan Executive Motel Apartments. We will look forward to seeing you again. All the best... have a great Easter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

The rooms are nice & modern looking but the outer view of the building doesn't seemed to match the inner look. Nevertheless, the rooms are still comfortable. The location is abit out of city though & its area doesn't seemed as safe as the town area. In any case, this will be a good stay if you have a car with you.

Internet is cheap; $5 per day. Washer & Dryer needs money.. parking is free.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan1, Management at 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton, responded to this review, March 24, 2009
Thank you for your review, I’m happy you had a pleasurable and comfortable stay. It’s great to receive all feedback from our international travellers. We use all our feedback to better our services.
We appreciate that you would recommend us to friends/other travellers. We thank you for your time to review Metropolitan Executive Motel Apartments. All the best …..James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

We were in Christchurch to attend my niece's wedding and chose this motel mainly because of its location. We booked a 2-br unit with a connecting room for the 6 of us. Everyone was delighted. The rooms are large and well furnished and the layout is briliant with the lounge area having all three bedrooms off it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a shopping mall just down the road and the drive to the airport and into town is less than 10 minutes. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — High standard of the rooms
  • Disliked — One light switch in the single room turned on the lights in the kitchen and above the bed
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

We recently stayed at the hotel for the first three nights of a fourteen night tour around the South Island.
I found this little motel by searching through Wotif.com, then visiting the hotel websites of those I thought looked nice. This hotel has a great website, which does it justice, what you see on the website is what you get in real life....modern, clean and friendly!
The hotel is on a busy road into the main city, Riccarton Road. On this road is many, many accommodations of the same type, small blocks of about 12 or so hotel rooms, all well sign posted and very competitive for business.
Metropolitan Executive is within walking distance to the Westfield Shopping Centre, which apparently is the biggest on the South Island. A few doors down is a great fish and chip shop, which was handy! The first day (before our hire car) we caught a bus right out the front into Christchurch.
You will notice in New Zealand (on the South Island anyhow) that there is no air conditioning in any of the rooms, and no fly-screens on any of the windows or sliding doors. We found this a bit odd as it was quite warm during our stay and would have used the air cond if it was available. Instead our bathroom floor was heated, as was the towel rail! We obviously struck good weather! Our windows opened for some fresh air, which was nice.
The hosts were very friendly, stopping for a quick chat and a smile and were very helpful on check-in, even ringing prior to our arrival to make sure we knew where to go etc.
The room was serviced each day, what a delight to come home each afternoon to a made bed and a refreshed kitchen! The kitchen area was modern and complete, despite us only having a moderately cheap room, around $100 AUD I think. Amazing! They even provided plunger coffee refills as an extra touch, which for the price was surprising. Our room also had a two person spa bath which we used.
The drinking water in Christchurch was delicious, we filled our bottles each day straight from the tap, something we wouldn't dream of in Adelaide ( South Australia).
All in all this hotel is well worth booking, however long your stay. We stayed three nights, and left Christchurch feeling really good about the choice we made re accommodation.
10/10 to the owners, the place is a credit to them.

  • Liked — The modern decor, the friendly owners, the convenient location, everything!!
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

I returned to New Zealand to visit my family, having lived in London for the past 3 years. I only intended to stay for 2 nights while I organised a place to stay with friends but to be honest, I couldn't bear to leave the warmth and hospitality of the Metropolitan! I had to make many excuses to friends who were horrified that I was staying in a Hotel so I could indulge for a further 8 days and nights. The Metropolitan is designed to the highest possible specifications with incredible attention to detail, the cleaning services are second to none, the double spa bath was devine, rooms were warm and surprisingly noise free away from the road, the location was perfect for shopping at Riccarton Mall and made life easier when I was meeting friends. The front desk staff made me feel so relieved to be home in NZ and could not do enough to help me in any way possible. I will definitely make more excuses to friends and family next time and book for my entire stay! I am back in London now and am craving a few nights of friendly Kiwi indulgence.

  • Liked — Attention to detail and Kiwi hospitality!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton

Address: 175 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4 1/2 star Luxury Accommodation provides stylish studio rooms with kingsize beds & spa baths through to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments only 100 metres from Westfield shopping mall and restaurants and bars. Free Internet.One of the newest motels in Christchurch created by award winning DD ArchitectsAt 175 Metropolitan Christchurch Motel, we provide the perfect mix of comfort and style. A sumptuous decor of rich red and deep charcoal, sandstone tones, designer furnishings and luxurious bedding chosen with your ultimate comfort in mind.Join us at our 175 Metropolitan on Riccarton, in Christchurch and experience luxury and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Executive Motel Apartments Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.