We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Decor, Helpful Staff, Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton

175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton to your Saves list
175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   175 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Modern Decor, Helpful Staff, Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the interior of our room which was a two bedroom suite. It was exceptionally clean, large enough to accommodate the four of us, had a small kitchenette and living room, and was modern in its décor. Check in was quick and efficient and the staff was very helpful in giving us advice about sites to see in the downtown area and things to do. The location was on a main road so it was easy to find and close enough to the airport for us to easily make an early morning flight. It was an excellent value for the price, if I ever return to Christchurch I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    38
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
47
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stopped here for one night upon arrival in Christchurch. The King room was ready, impeccably clean and modern, and exceeded expectations. The small kitchen was well equipped, although we didn't use anything other than to make morning coffee. We will be returning for another night in a week after touring the South Island.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
227 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

A very modern motel a few minutes walk from The Riccarton Mall and close to plenty of restaurants. Ten minutes walk to Riccarton Bush and 30 to Hagley Park
A good little kitchenette with modern equipment. The bed, furniture and decor are all very pleasant. There are tables and seats both outside front and back of the room. The motel was very quiet (we were in room 5 at the back). The owner was very friendly and we able to get an extension until 11am while I picked up my hire car. And to our relief the motel room door was open as arranged at 1am on our arrival from the airport.
My only gripe was the laundry room which was only available 2 until 8.30. I like to do laundry when I first wake up or late at night. Still you can't win them all. It is a pricey motel but I had a third off the price because of loyalty points through a supermarket chAin. Would It have been worth it to stay without the discount. Not sure?

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We decided to hunt for a motel which offered free WiFi as we wanted to use it for planning our trip, so we chose this motel on the understanding from the manager that it was all up and working.
We soon found out that our internet connection did not work at all and so were unable to access it at all during our stay. I just presumed the was a problem with the internet provider as opposed to the actual motel.
When I spoke to the manager in the morning I advised him of the lack of wifi to which he informed me that he had disconnected it in our room the day before, even though we had specifically asked for it!
We felt very deceived and angry, as when you specify somthing and are promised it, you don't expect it to not materialise.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
175Metropolitan, Manager at 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear HollyB,
Thank you for your review, very unfortunate circumstances that assisted with this mishap! It was never our intention to deceive you or any quests purely a simple forgetful moment which happened on a very busy day. Let me explain… prior to your arrival I had organised to have the wireless internet placed on hold as the guest arriving after your departure was staying for a lengthy stay (6 weeks) and wanted to use their own equipment and internet service provider. Upon your arrival I didn’t give it a second thought that the line would be disconnected a day earlier than anticipated until your advice on the morning of departure. I too was puzzled and disappointed as this is the very first instance that we have had any issues with our Complimentary Internet as all our guests rave about the ease of use and speed! After talking with you upon departure I went to get a complimentary bottle of wine for the inconvenience only to just miss you! If I had know/remembered sooner I would have had this issue corrected within minutes.
Regards
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

A nice motel, operated by a couple. The lady is welcoming, very willing to help, and has a lovely NZ accent. I arrived very late, because my flight had been delayed. Consequently, the motel office was closed, but they had left my room unlocked with instructions on its location. Windows are a little thin, so I could hear the cars in the road in the morning. Nothing serious - I slept very well.

I will certainly return for my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Apartment looks exactly like the photos, super clean and tidy rooms. Fully equipped kitchenette with laundry facility. 5 min walk to the Westfield shopping mall really made it very convenient. Our room's balcony is West-facing so can get pretty hot during the afternoon. Room doesn't seems to have an air-con but fans are provided.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

If you're going to stay in Riccarton, stay here. Our room was very clean and the best thing was the bed, which looked exactly like the photos posted on their website. The beds also looked like they are from a 5-star hotel and was very nice to sleep in.

The motel is within walking distance from Riccarton Mall which makes it convenient to get anything or everything!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton

Address: 175 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4 1/2 star Luxury Accommodation provides stylish studio rooms with kingsize beds & spa baths through to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments only 100 metres from Westfield shopping mall and restaurants and bars. Free Internet.One of the newest motels in Christchurch created by award winning DD ArchitectsAt 175 Metropolitan Christchurch Motel, we provide the perfect mix of comfort and style. A sumptuous decor of rich red and deep charcoal, sandstone tones, designer furnishings and luxurious bedding chosen with your ultimate comfort in mind.Join us at our 175 Metropolitan on Riccarton, in Christchurch and experience luxury and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Executive Motel Apartments Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.