We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strawberry Fare

Strawberry Fare
19 Bealey Ave | Calton Mill Cnr, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
(03) 365 4665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Dessert in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was my first time at there new location, and once again, totally blown away by the sweet treats, we had a really pleasant meal just down the road and had planned to walk down to here for our dessert as the takeaway we ate at didnt provide anything for our sweet tooth.

As soon as we entered upstairs we wer'e greeted by some lovely staff who sat us promptly and quickly bought water to our table while we looked over the wine menu, the menu was so delicious and with four of us dining we were able to get a good selection of dessert , the Hot Chocolate cake
has always bought a tear to my eye with it's overwhelming chocolateness i love it, definitly good value for money and looking forward to many more treats here, i recommend this place to go, have diner elsewhere if you must but always come here for dessert

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    148
    37
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dessert to Die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Went here twice for dinner during our visit to Christchurch. My advice is skip the entree and opt for mains and dessert. You will not be disappointed the desserts are divine. This is a very busy place so book your table.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Have been twice, food good both times and service is good as well. Desserts are probably the highlight although a little on the pricey side. Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Attended on Anzac day after the dawn service, had pre booked. Was extremely busy, very impressed with the excellent, organised and courteous service received. My meal & coffee was delicious and beautifully presented. All other people had my table seemed to throughly enjoy the meal too. Would definitely attend again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Came for desserts - was not disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The desserts at Strawberry Fare came highly recommended and we were not let down - but I would advise to show up very hungry! The portions were really big, but we managed to pretty much finish them off. It's clear that whoever makes the desserts knows what the are doing - presentation, texture and of course flavour are really spot on. We are looking forward to being ale to come for a full meal some time soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strawberry Fare also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Strawberry Fare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strawberry Fare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.