We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kozy Kiwi - Aptly named!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christchurch Top 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Christchurch Top 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Christchurch Top 10 Holiday Park
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   39 Meadow Street, PO Box 5178, Papanui, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Mackay, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Kozy Kiwi - Aptly named!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I honestly loved this place. When I booked it online, I was slightly nervous because I knew it would either be really good, or quite bad. The Kozy Kiwi was actually much larger than I had expected. That doesn’t mean to say that it was large just larger.

They had obviously been renovated fairly recently, with a new kitchen and tv which was very nice. The bathroom was ok, though it would have been nicer to have a solid shower rather than one that spilled out onto the bathroom floor, with a shower curtain. But that wasn’t too big on an issue for us, we just didn’t keep anything in the bathroom itself as it would get wet.

We came in winter and even though the cabin didn’t have much in the way of insulation, it was still quite warm when we ran the heaters. The bedroom was very small, just big enough to hold the double bed, but that was fine, and it was very comfortable, not at all lumpy or hard which was certainly a surprise.

All up, we thoroughly enjoyed staying here, the atmosphere of the holiday park was very friendly, and it was well laid out. The only problem was where the Kozy Kiwis were located was near a major road, so the traffic was a little noisy at night.

Will definitely recommend this place to others who are planning on travelling through Christchurch and want a nice but cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jag96, Manager at Christchurch Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for your review. Yes the kozy kiwis are quite unique. They are an extremely popular choice as they are so well priced.
We would love to be able to put solid shower doors on the showers in the Kozys but they are just a tad too small!
When we renovated these units we installed heat pumps and you are right, they do a fine job of heating these units. The kozy kiwis are located close to a busy road - we have put a Hebel fence up and landscaped the internal fenceline to help with any traffic noise, but should you stay with us again, please request a kozy kiwi away from the road. We are only too happy to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Many thanks,
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    73
    38
    16
    7
See reviews for
80
68
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay an extra night in christchurch. Needed somewhere to park for the night. Phoned the holiday park who had vacancies and an hr later we were there, set up and relaxing. The staff at the site were helpful, the amenities were probably the best we've experienced in a caravan park, nice and quiet and close to major roads for us to make our departure the next day.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jag96, Manager at Christchurch Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our park, we are thrilled your enjoyed your stay.

Regards,
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We returned to Chch a day earlier than expected and needed a place to park up before having a look around the city the following day. Top 10 ticked all the the boxes - an easy drive through check in, clean and tidy amenities, surprisingly quiet considering its location. Having to stand in mud to plug in, and the view of a 'rustic' looking house bus (surrounded by old bikes and assorted other junk) took the shine off things a little, but all in all a hassle free place to catch some sleep and a shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jag96, Manager at Christchurch Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
I have some great news, the bus is no longer staying in the park and we have asphalted and landscaped the site you mentioned since you stayed with us. Niki has just finished putting barkchip on all the gardens, it looks fantastic! Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a moderately priced camp site and was in a handy location but the shower block could do with an update and the grounds a big tidy up if you are expected to pay top dollar. Friendly helpful staff and great kitchen facilities

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jag96, Manager at Christchurch Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi there a blast from the past, I noticed I never responded to your feedback. My apologies. We have been unable to refit/renovate our facilities block as we have been waiting to have our insurance claim settled from the earthquakes. It has been frustrating but out of our control, we believe we are getting very close to a settlement, so fingers crossed, renovating will commence soon!

Regards,
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We have had a week travelling around the north of the south island, staying mainly in top 10 parks and this is by far the best top 10 we have stayed in so far. No limit on hot water showers, a free heated indoor pool, spacious sites, modern clean facilities and a movie room with different movie showings each night (a fantastic feature for cold winter nights). If you're. Traveling in a campervan this will not disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jag96, Manager at Christchurch Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Good afternoon,
I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your time with us, it sounds like you managed to miss our torrental rain.
We hope to host you again some day.

Many thanks,
Jackie Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the start of our journey and two nights at the end. It snowed on the first day and the sun shone on the last. There are great play areas for kids with tramps, swings and slides; well equipped kitchen; clean, warm shower amenities; games room; theater room, great pool, lovely hot tub, great information centre with helpful and informative staff.

Close to Northlands shopping centre. We picked up a slow cooker from The Warehouse at the start of our trip and made soup in our Camper each night while we were sleeping - fantastic to wake up to.

The whole family really enjoyed the stay - would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jag96, Manager at Christchurch Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello,
Thanks for the review.
You have really sold me on the cooking soup overnight in yourcamper - I could just about taste it!

Hope to see you again.

Yours truly,
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Spent our last night in Christchurch at the Top 10 in Christchurch. Sadly it was the wettest few days in years according to locals so the experience was ruined by the rain. On arrival, the reception and offices are fantastic! It's like a fancy Asian airport terminal with drive thru check-in.

We were sent to a powered site down the back of the park. The water was up to the step of the campervan and the site was in darkness. There were other sites free, I couldn't understand whi I was sent to this one.

The facilities were dated, we had come from the Top 10 in queenstown and there was no comparison. The hairdryers did not work in either bathroom. The showers were grimy.

We were quite disappointed and decided to check into a hotel the following night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jag96, Manager at Christchurch Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Good afternoon,
It sounds like you were unfortunate enough to be with us during the extreme weather conditions. The earthquakes have damaged our (and for that matter, Christchurch's) underground so we have experienced some uncharacteristic flooding in the Park. This was perhaps the week I was out purchasing gumboots for our cleaning staff to wear.

My guess is that the reception staff we unaware of the flooding on the site they gave you, I am hoping a quick trip back through the drive-thru allowed them to sort a new site out for you. Once our earthquake claim is settled we will be able to start renovations on our Communal facilities.

The Park is looking very spring like now, we are looking forward to warmer days and dry van sites!

Kind regards,
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christchurch Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 39 Meadow Street, PO Box 5178, Papanui, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Christchurch Top 10 Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Christchurch Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christchurch Top 10 Holiday Park Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christchurch Top 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.