We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okuti Garden is an enchanting gem and welcome respite for the weary traveler!r!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okuti Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Okuti Garden
216 Okuti Valley Road, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Larkspur, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Okuti Garden is an enchanting gem and welcome respite for the weary traveler!r!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed at Okuti Garden for several days. A little slice of heaven! The owners, Jim and Jane are warm welcoming, helpful and wonderful people! The place is filled with their care and love of the land, gardens, animals and guests! It is a beautiful and peaceful sanctuary in nature. The quiet and relaxed ambiance makes it a great resting place and also a good base from which to explore the beautiful banks peninsula. it was hard to leave!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

I loved this place,beautiful surroundings,option of quality accom incl. yurt,tipi or housetruck & excellent facilities incl.solar shower.compost loo,outdoor kitchen/dining area,woodfired bathtub,gardens,studio with woodburner,piano & instruments,internet cabin.But most of all
its the welcoming,friendly family that run this amazing place with passion,committment & creativity. If you want to leave a place refreshed in mind body & spirit . a smile on your face & a light footprint, head straight to Okuti Garden.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

I spent a week a this gorgeous eco stay facility. The location is truly beautiful with interesting walks and places of interest within easy reach. Accommodation is a choice of tepee, yurt or house truck. The most original place I stayed in New Zealand. Highly recommended for those with a concern for the environment.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Just by coincidence i stopped at Okuti Garden and was immediately engaged by the beauty of the place. It is hidden in the "mountains" close to little river (where you have to visit and taste the bakery of River Cafe - it's a must-do) surrounded by bushes and trees with a great look on the Bank Peninsula Hills, very quiet and cosy, with an nice open kitchen and as well an open shower with free wood view. You can't better taking a shower after a hard hike or bike tour. I stayed as well in the truck and loved it too. I had the best sleep during my NZ tour and so decided to stay 3 days and do day trips from there. The owners are very lovely and i would definitely stay again here when i will return to Bank Peninsula.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

we came for one night and stayed for three! this is one of our favourite places to stay in new zealand! such a lovely and original place! we felt very welcome and comfortable! it was our first time sleeping in a yurt and we loved it! everything is made with much love, good taste and respect for nature! beautiful garden, funny donkeys, sheeps and dogs! great outdoor shower and cooking in the evening sun! thank you very much to the great hosts!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

This was my favorite place that we stayed in New Zealand. The owners were amazingly nice, and Bronwyn the house truck was cozy and lovely and perfect. Our friends immensely enjoyed their stay in the yurt as well. We met great people the evening we were here, and loved walking around the gardens and meeting the pigs! I would live here if I could.

  • Liked — The house truck and the people
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Okuti Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okuti Garden

Address: 216 Okuti Valley Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 Specialty lodging in Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okuti Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Okuti Garden to your Saves list