We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okuti Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Okuti Garden
Save
You added Okuti Garden to your Saves list
216 Okuti Valley Road, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very relaxing. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We loved glamping at Okuti. Beautiful gardens and the kids thoroughly enjoyed it. Rail trail just down the road and Little River village is lovely. Clean and a wonderful experience. Loved the yurts! The kids loved the donkeys and there is a pond with a boat the children enjoyed. Will be back.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This place has a few individual and characterful places to sleep in comfort from yurts / tipees to vans. The outdoor areas and gardens are amazing with a great kitchen area and social parts. The outdoor heated bath was my favourite although the solar shower took some braving!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and had a great time. Jim and Jane were very welcoming hosts and happily allowed us to spend one night in a yurt and the next night in the house-truck. We really enjoyed both nights and the chance to experience both types of accommodation.

The atmosphere is relaxed and the tranquil gardens offer plenty of areas to explore, featuring the friendly donkeys and Nutmeg the dog. Jim and Jane got the wood-burner going in the communal studio, which was a cosy place to read and unwind in the evening when it was dark outside. We also enjoyed the piano, guitar and board games in there.

There is the perfect balance of eco alternatives and modern luxuries, with both an outdoor composting toilet and solar shower as well as a usual indoor option (the indoor shower is gas, so if it goes cold the gas canister may need to be replaced). The covered but outdoor kitchen was great fun to use and eat out in, we were even able to help ourselves to some fresh tomatoes growing by the wall. The kitchen has gas hobs and BBQ, and there is a fridge in the nearby 'internet shed'. The sink is a walk by the vegetable patch to the solar shower.

The lower yurt was our favourite as it was immensely comfortable and beautifully furnished. However, the house-truck gave a feeling of living in nature as the large window is almost hidden inside a pear tree from which you can watch and hear bell-birds and tui. Both were warm enough but the provided hot water bottles and extra bedding helped in April.

Beautiful little touches, wildflower bouquets, candles and fairy lights all around give the garden a magical quality.

Room Tip: The yurt was beautiful and was our clear favourite, but the house truck had its own shower and was m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in a Tipi for 3 days during December 2012 (something I've allways wanted to).
Everything about our stay was perfect from Jane meeting us at the bus, our Tipi, the gorgeous gardens, the resident animal hosts, the outdoor kitchen, the view through the tent flap in the morning, just picked strawberries to Jane dropping us off at the end of our stay. There are many great little nooks throughout Okuti Farm and you really should go to the mudslide up the road, great old fashioned fun and just a wee bit dangerous.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed in the House Truck for one night while working in Christchurch in early October. Jane made me feel very at home and the whole place is just lovely. If you like the photo's of their place on Trip Advisor, you can't go wrong and you will have a fabulous time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

Wow, what a find. A really beautiful place, surrounded by nature. The owners make you feel very welcome. Great accommodation - we stayed in a yurt which was beautifully kitted out with luxurious bedding, candles, flowers etc - lots of thoughtful little touches. We were greeted on arrival by Nutmeg, the owners' friendly and playful dog. There are also some gorgeous donkeys. There is internet access, a fridge for guests, power supply in the internet shed to charge electrical items. Great place to stay for somewhere different. Would recommend looking around Akaroa whilst you're there and also eating/gift shopping at The Store (on the main road from Christchurch).

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Found this little gem on the internet whilst looking for alternative accomodation. I love finding funky eco accom and Okuti Garden did not disappoint.

We stayed in Bronwyn the House Truck and she was fabulous! Had our own little deck overlooking the pond, complete with rowing boat. Jim and Jane were fantastic hosts, making us feel very welcome and inviting us for dinner with they're family in the outdoor Kitchen.

We visited 3 days after the earthquake in Christchurch, and it was quite humbling feeling the aftershocks and seeing the trees shake.

Jim and Jane have created a wonderful little haven in Okuti Garden, truly serene, and we were so sad to leave at the end of our stay. This was the best place we stayed in the whole of South Island and we would love to return.

P.S. If you go, be sure to stop at the cafe in Little River for lunch, the food is incredible!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Okuti Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okuti Garden

Address: 216 Okuti Valley Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Number of rooms: 17

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okuti Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.