We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur's Court Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arthur's Court Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
5.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Sherborne Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Verwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights on our arrival at Christchurch from the UK. Our 1 bed apartment was excellent, it was modern, light and airy and clean, it had everything we needed. Leon, the owner was very helpful with suggestions on how to get into Christchurch and what to do once there.

The location, although a 20 minute walk into the centre of Christchurch, is good with a supermarket and other shops plus several restaurants just a couple of minutes walk away.

A great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    38
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
40
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed at the motel with my wife for a couple of nights whilst visiting Christchurch. A great welcome on arrival, plenty of information, assistance and advice. Very comfortable spa room, with plenty of space, very good facilities, and spotlessly clean.
Enjoyed our stay there, and would recommend the motel to anyone going to Christchurch. The high rating on Tripadvisor is very well earnt.

Room Tip: Go for a spa room, you might not use the spa, but the room has plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

There are lots of positives about this motor lodge. Our accomodation was very clean and comfortable and spacious. The manager was extremely helpful - nothing seemed to be too much trouble and he freely offered advice and suggestions about things to do. The kitchen could have been a bit better equipped - there was very little in the way of cooking utensils, and what was there was a bit strange - for example there were 2 measuring jugs, but only 2 small pans.
The location was great - easy to access the city and all routes out of Christchurch - and with good parking right outside our room.
The price was relatively high, but probably reasonable for Christchurch.
All in all, I would recommend Arthur's Court, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

ok place to stay, very well run with friendly and helpful staff, clean and modern, probably just a little over priced, but accommodation in Christchurch is tight . Would have no problem staying their again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed in a 1 bed room apartment just for a night on our way back from Christchurch on the 06/03/14 night. They were recovering from the once in a lifetime flood that hit Christchurch few days before. They had emailed me the day before that the carpets may be little damp as the flood waters had entered the ground floor unit we were supposed to stay. We reached late that evening and they had managed to dry the unit completely. The apartment was big enough for our family of 4. The unit was clean and the kitchen was well equipped. The owner as well as the other staff were very friendly. The lodge is in an excellent location and getting in/out is very easy even during busy times. We parked right in front of our front door, very convenient as we travel with huge amount of luggage. The reason I gave one star less is because my kids didn't find any good channels on TV.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Unfortunately my stay coincided with the "storm-of-the-century" as they are calling the major storm that hit Christchurch on March 4. Shortly after I arrived that day a steady rain began with wind gusts approaching 60-70 kph (picture patio furniture blowing by your window). By the next morning the street in front of the lodge was beginning to flood. Within another hour or so, water came right up to the front door of my unit. The manager and staff went out of their way to make sure all of the occupants were safe and secure. I had to get to the airport and with the help of the staff was able to secure a shuttle (the water was too deep for taxis). When it arrived, the manager sloshed through 8 inches of water, pouring rains and strong winds to help me get my luggage to the van. The shuttle driver was amazing but that is another story. I was really impressed by the care provided by the Authur.s Court staff. I might add that the room was very nice too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have returned to Arthur's Court Motor Lodge because it is such a good place to stay in Christchurch.

The owner lives on the premises and is so flexible - he let us check in early after an overnight flight. The rooms are impeccable and décor is uncluttered, modern and well thought out.

I am particular about clean bathrooms, and these were spotless. The second stay was in the room with a spa and it was spotless. At another motel with spa I once experienced dirty water running through the spa holes, whereas at Arthur's Court I had no hesitation putting my baby in the spa here - it felt totally new.

I was quite a demanding guest (or so I felt) with questions and needs for my baby, and the owner was nothing but willing to help. We had to use the 24 medical centre about a minute away by car for our baby, in the wee hours of the morning, and again the location of this motel was perfect for medical help, food shopping and getting into town.

You will find that a lot of other accommodation is in a belt that looks close to town, but isn't due to traffic flow and one way streets around the park. Travelling from Arthur's Court to town or shops/medical centre flows well and it seems we got to town within minutes.

We will stay there each time we visit Christchurch for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. There isn't much in the yard so this this place is perfect for getting a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arthur's Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Court Motor Lodge

Address: 110 Sherborne Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Arthur's Court Motor Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in one of the best Christchurch motels. Arthur's Court Motor Lodge is the only Qualmark 5 Star rated motel in Christchurch with the highest responsible tourism Enviro Gold rating.We were the first motel in New Zealand to achieve this double rating, showing our commitment to quality in all aspects of our business. Only 3 minutes drive from the central city and 15 minutes from the airport, we offer accommodation to suit all needs, from spacious suites and studios to a two-bedroom two-bathroom apartment. Our Executive Spa Suite, including a luxurious 18-jet spa, is perfect for a quiet wind-down or a honeymoon dream. All units are fully equipped for a warm, comfortable and relaxing stay, with FREE 2GB WIFI Internet, airconditioning/heatpumps, and LCD TVs with 8 Sky channels in every lounge and bedroom. Access is easy to our single storey complex, with car parking outside your door. Security cameras cover the complex for your peace of mind. Our water garden and gazebo are a good place for an out of doors chat over coffee. Our Enviro award incorporates our Photo-voltaic electricity generation, solar water heating, double glazing, blackout curtaining, heatpumps/airconditioners, eco electric light bulbs, and PIP cleaning products. The PIP (Probiotics In Progress) system is not chemical based, and destroys such things as dust mites so helping people who suffer from allergies to achieve a better night's sleep. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, even removing the toilet seat for sanitising after every guest leaves. We look forward to welcoming you to our motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Arthur's Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthur's Court Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.