We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy but good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur's Court Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arthur's Court Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
5.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Sherborne Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Nice room. Jetted tub was a plus. Nothing super fancy but did it's job. Frank & Jo are very pleasant.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    38
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
40
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is an excellent motel, attactively furnished, extremely clean and very comfortable. Our room was quiet and we felt safe being in a single storey property if there were aftershocks. The hosts, Jo and Frank, are very helpful and friendly. We have stayed here for aboout a week on 2 separate occasions and we will do so next time we go to Christchurch. Also, there are excellent Indian and Thai restaurants less than a block away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I can highly recommend Arthur's Court Lodge. The room we stayed in was very comfortable, immaculately clean and very well equipped. The facilities on offer are excellent. There is a well equipped laundry and fast wireless internet.

Jo and frank our hosts were very warm, helpful and loads of fun. They recommended places to visit and places to eat out.

We appreciated that the motel offered recycling options, there even was a food scrap bin. They have taken great steps forward for staying in line with the Clean, Green, New Zealand image.

We look forward to staying at Arthur's Court Lodge when we are visiting Christchurch again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khandelw
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We spent a brief two days in Christchurch after the second earthquake. The city was still difficult to navigate and we decided to use it as a base to visit Akoroa. Many of the hotels were closed or full, but we were lucky to find Arthurs Court. It doesn’t look like much from outside, but inside the rooms are spacious and clean. There is a full kitchen and modern bathrooms (which we can be picky about) that rival nice hotels in the states. We didn't encounter too many bugs like earlier posters, but we also did not have the windows open since its a one story motel and we were rarely in our room. In addition the locations makes it a good base for road trips, as it does not compete with the city traffic and there are a reasonable number of restaurants and bars close by.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The hotel room is nice with a well equipped kitchen and good linen. Don't leave the windows open though or you will get daddy-long-legs inside. We had two silverfish in the bathroom too.

There was a bit of road noise at night though we were in unit 2, which is quite close to the road.

We overslept on the Sunday and were woken up at 10:04 with the hostess telling us to get out as fast as possible and sternly reminding us that we hadn't paid.

We had arrived late on the Friday and picked up the keys from the key box. We had booked online with our credit card with no instruction to come and pay as soon as possible once we arrived.

We were out within 16 minutes feeling thoroughly told off. I appreciate we had overstayed the checkout time but a phone call at 9:30, with a reminder we had 30 minutes to check out would have been just as easy.

Needless to say we don't recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arthurscourt, Owner at Arthur's Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
These guests were sent two confirmation emails with our terms and conditions on them. The first from the online website saying ‘Payment for accommodation is required at check-in’, the second from our office reservations system that states ‘Accommodation is payable on arrival.’ A polite request on the late arrival key instructions for them to come to the office the next morning to complete the check-in details had been ignored. All other guests come to the office to say hello and fill in the check-in form. They had no vehicle, and we had not seen them at all on Saturday. They were out when the room was serviced.
The first contact we had with them was at 10.04 on the Sunday. At 10am, when our cleaning staff were ready to start, we did not know if they were in the room or had already left. When I knocked, the door was opened by the female guest wrapped in a bath towel, saying they would leave when they were ready. They had not spoken to us before, let alone requested a late check-out. If they required a wake-up call they could have asked for one, or read the compendium and set their own alarm clock or own wake-up phone call. We can imagine the reception we would have if we rang every guest at 9.30 to remind them they had to be out by 10am. Our units must be very comfortable for them to have overslept!
Our units are all double-glazed, but there will be outside sounds if the windows are left open at night. Daddy-long-legs do fly in through open windows. We have never experienced silverfish in our units before, maybe they were brought in on their luggage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed here recently on way through Christchurch, the rooms were clean and functional and the property undamaged by the quake a year ago. Originally stayed here due to it being a single story building, better than I had hoped for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This motel has 5 stars by qualmark and no doubt that they deserve it. Clean and functionable room. Lots of kitchenware to make you cook comfortably. More than that, host was unforgettable. Very helpful and kind. Location was very perfect. Stay 5 people with just only 70 dollars each person. Just a perfect place for traveller.

Room Tip: Anyroom, every rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arthur's Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Court Motor Lodge

Address: 110 Sherborne Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Arthur's Court Motor Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in one of the best Christchurch motels. Arthur's Court Motor Lodge is the only Qualmark 5 Star rated motel in Christchurch with the highest responsible tourism Enviro Gold rating.We were the first motel in New Zealand to achieve this double rating, showing our commitment to quality in all aspects of our business. Only 3 minutes drive from the central city and 15 minutes from the airport, we offer accommodation to suit all needs, from spacious suites and studios to a two-bedroom two-bathroom apartment. Our Executive Spa Suite, including a luxurious 18-jet spa, is perfect for a quiet wind-down or a honeymoon dream. All units are fully equipped for a warm, comfortable and relaxing stay, with FREE 2GB WIFI Internet, airconditioning/heatpumps, and LCD TVs with 8 Sky channels in every lounge and bedroom. Access is easy to our single storey complex, with car parking outside your door. Security cameras cover the complex for your peace of mind. Our water garden and gazebo are a good place for an out of doors chat over coffee. Our Enviro award incorporates our Photo-voltaic electricity generation, solar water heating, double glazing, blackout curtaining, heatpumps/airconditioners, eco electric light bulbs, and PIP cleaning products. The PIP (Probiotics In Progress) system is not chemical based, and destroys such things as dust mites so helping people who suffer from allergies to achieve a better night's sleep. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, even removing the toilet seat for sanitising after every guest leaves. We look forward to welcoming you to our motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Arthur's Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthur's Court Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.