We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arena Motel

Save Saved
You added Arena Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arena Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   30 Whiteleigh Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Mount Barker, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrived fairly late because of flight scheduling. The owner was extremely courteous and was waiting up for us. The room was clean, comfortable and just what we needed. We were travelling to Greymouth the next morning and there was a free shuttle service to the railway station. The Arena is a perfect place to stay and good value

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    43
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
40
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We used the Arena as a stop off for the Coastal Pacific and TranzAlpine in both directions. I agree with the other reviews - free shuttle service and comfortable units. We had to stay an extra night because the coastal line was shut for a day. Arena was fully booked but the owner booked us in around the corner at Addington Court (reviewed as well) so ecellent service.

I would also add that with the closure of the CBD Addington does seem to be an up and coming area with new cafes and bars including a very good Morocan takeaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcham, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

My recent experience confirmed previous good reviews. The motel is conveniently to the railway station and the TranzAlpine train that I rode. The motel offers a free shuttle service to the railway station. The breakfast was good and served at re appointed time. A free wifi service was provided but I found it slow and unreliable. I firmly believe motels should only offer wifi if it can offer a prompt connection, good speed and is reliable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The room we had was very clean,reasonably spacious, quite modern and very reasonably priced. A big plus was the free shuttle service to the Addington railway station the following morning.
Great friendly service from the owners of the motel & they went out of their way on a number of occasions to make our stay more enjoyable.
Highly recommend this motel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We originally chose this motel because it was near the CBS arena - only a 3 minute walk away. It was a good choice as the room was clean and tidy. Just one small note, if you're not into water savings and have a power shower at home the shower may feel a bit feeble. We had hired a car (from Omega car rentals, a short courtesy ride from the airport - I would recommend them too, cheap and cheerful) but there seemed to be a good bus service close to the motel. Dale helped with places to eat in the area and we liked the Addington Co-op Cafe and The Millers Bar (for a quiet drink). Overall we would stay here again if going to a concert at the arena.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were forced to find shelter from a monster rainstorm that had flooded roads and prevented our passage to Akaroa, on the the Banks Peninsula.

We retreated to Addington, just outside of Christchurch for the evening. After cruising a few motels, we spotted the Arena Motel and inquired about availability and rates. The owner/ proprietors couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. We were offered a great rate, and assistance up to the room with our bags. We settled into a very workable apartment-style room, with kitchenette, separate bedroom with heated mattress, and free internet.

We warmed up, did some laundry on the premises in a handy room with free soap and softener for the wash - just off the office, and then toured quaked-damaged Christchurch in the rain, with good directions provided.

We inquired about restaurants and found a terrifific Chinese place a few blocks away (the best Chicken corn soup, Prawns with salt/ pepper, Chicken sauted with cashews).

The next moring the owner's wife offered to check the weather and roads to see if we could proceed to Akuroa (we were able too.) and even recommended Hanmer Springs as an alternative destination, if we we unable to get through.

Thanks, for the unexpected comfort, friendly service, and good eats in the neighorhood!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Queensland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We choose the Arena as it was close to the station for our Tranz Alpine trip the following day. Our room was clean, warm and cosy. Dale was extremely helpful and obliging with our travel questions. She even took us on a trip through the "Red Zone" of Christchurch to see the distruction from the earthquakes. The following morning Dale lead us to the railway station to ensure we didnt get lost.
We were not disappointed in our choice of motel in Christchurch and would recommend it to all our friend.
Thanks again Dale

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arena Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Motel

Address: 30 Whiteleigh Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#23 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#28 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Motel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Arena Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arena Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.