We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of a month long visit to NZ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walnut Block Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walnut Block Cottages
Save
You added Walnut Block Cottages to your Saves list
43 Blicks Lane, RD2, Blenheim, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
St. Maarten
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of a month long visit to NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We were booked for three nights but stranded in Wellington for one of the nights due to a 'weather bomb' that cancelled all ferry sailings. When we finally arrived the sun came out and we settled into a wonderful cottage literally in the vineyard. We were looking for lunch and invited to traipse through the vines to a neighboring vineyard which had a lovely restaurant nestled in the vines by a river. Food and wine there was lovely. Couldn't get any better. But it did, as the next day we visited multiple vineyards and came back to roast a rack of lamb on the BBQ accompanied by a Seresin Pinor Noir we picked up at the cellar door. As we sat on the deck we watched the sun go down while enjoying our feast - an evening to remember. The accommodations were more than adequate- the shower was amazing and the owners charming. We dearly missed our third night stolen by the weather/ferries and would happily stay again and again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
75
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

These beautifully appointed cottages are set at the edge of the vineyard, so the amazing view from the terrace is of row upon row of vines. The two cottages are very well designed, spacious inside and each with a terrace to sit on and sample the wines. Provisions for a breakfast are provided in the superbly fitted kitchen, and one could have catered for every meal oneself, including the use of a barbecue. We opted for the delights of local wineries for most meals. Clyde provided us with his choice of wineries to sample wines and food, and excellent choices they were. This was our first major wine area we visited during our seven weeks in New Zealand and the range and quality of the wines were a revelation to us. This is a perfect place from which to visit the wineries of Marlborough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stayed here in January 2011 as part of our month long honeymoon in New Zealand.
Blenheim was one of my favourite areas of the South Island, partially because staying at Walnut Block was just so utterly relaxing!
The cottages really do face onto the vineyard and we spent a couple of tipsy evenings cooking on the BBQ and drinking local wines and watching the fabulous sunset. The owners' dog came over to play but was very well behaved and just sat on the decking with us, fetching sticks when we threw them, but knew not to come into the cottage itself.
The cottages are very modern but this doesn't clash with the scenery outside. Spacious inside with tv and wifi and a little kitchenette, and a great big comfy bed.
Location wise, you're not far from Blenheim, which has a big supermarket on the outskirts to buy fresh food to cook on the (gas) BBQ.

The owners don't interfere - they left the cottage open for us (that's NZ for you) and we only met them properly when we went to pay on the final day. The whole experience felt very private, just what we wanted on honeymoon.

During our stay we booked 'Wine Tours By Bike' which was just SO much fun - I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone! Run by an English man, he'll come to pick you up from outside the cottage in a minibus and drop you off at the end of the day (by which point you've had at least a litre of wine and are ready to fall asleep on the decking...!)

Room Tip: Stock up at the supermarket at Blenheim before arriving, so you're totally ready to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

These two cottages are located among the grape vines of Walnut Block vineyard resulting in stunning views and your own private vineyard to explore. The cottage interior is modern, spacious with really nice finishes. Each cottage has a full kitchen and outdoor grill so you can cook and enjoy your favorite wine from the region. We only stayed 2 nights but it immediately felt like home, and was a great place to relax after 2 weeks of adventure in New Zealand. They also have their own wine available in the room for purchase and the Pinot Noir was sensational! The sunset over the vineyard made for spectacular photographs and evening views. It's also conveniently close to all the local wineries. It's the perfect place to relax and enjoy all the beauty that life has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts,U.K.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here for 2 nights after touring the amazing South Island for 2 weeks. Perfect location to wind down - among the vines but also close to the town centre. Breakfast provisions provided and the estate wine for sale which is excellent - didn't move the car for 2 days!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The priciest place we stayed, but well worth it - luxury accommodation, very spacious, gorgeous views over the vines and just so wonderfully relaxing. Perfect for 2 adults wanting a bit of R&R after driving around NZ for 2 weeks.

Definitely a different view from staying at home! Loved being able to see all the birdlife, rabbits hopping out from the wood pile outside at dusk... On our last morning, we bottle feed the lamb owned by the hosts in the next paddock, Lambie was just adorable.

Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the cottages for three days as part of our three week trip around the south island. I couldn't think of a better location to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary...wish we could have stayed longer. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel welcome with a personal message to let yourself in. Attention to detail is amazing. Everything you could want is there. The wine is amazing and the tranquility wonderful. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walnut Block Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Block Cottages

Address: 43 Blicks Lane, RD2, Blenheim, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Blenheim
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two luxurious one bedroom cottages set amongst the vines, Walnut Block Cottages offer a haven of seclusion and comfort in a relaxed and inspiring environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walnut Block Cottages Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walnut Block Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.