We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walnut Block Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walnut Block Cottages
Save
You added Walnut Block Cottages to your Saves list
43 Blicks Lane, RD2, Blenheim, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Notts,U.K.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here for 2 nights after touring the amazing South Island for 2 weeks. Perfect location to wind down - among the vines but also close to the town centre. Breakfast provisions provided and the estate wine for sale which is excellent - didn't move the car for 2 days!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
75
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The priciest place we stayed, but well worth it - luxury accommodation, very spacious, gorgeous views over the vines and just so wonderfully relaxing. Perfect for 2 adults wanting a bit of R&R after driving around NZ for 2 weeks.

Definitely a different view from staying at home! Loved being able to see all the birdlife, rabbits hopping out from the wood pile outside at dusk... On our last morning, we bottle feed the lamb owned by the hosts in the next paddock, Lambie was just adorable.

Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the cottages for three days as part of our three week trip around the south island. I couldn't think of a better location to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary...wish we could have stayed longer. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel welcome with a personal message to let yourself in. Attention to detail is amazing. Everything you could want is there. The wine is amazing and the tranquility wonderful. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

What a piece of paradise this place is. Luxurious linens, generous B&B provisions and wine on tap... we absolutely loved it. An unassuming cabin from the outside, inside underfloor heating and the best shower in NZ. One night just wasn't long enough to experience it - two nights definately recommended. The added bonus is cooking facilities and a BBQ. There's nothing better than sitting out on the deck, a wine in hand, watching the sun go down over the vines. Ahhhhhhhh

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Fantastic and Relaxing and pure luxury at an affordable price. Great view over the wine fields and the cottage has everything we could wish for.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stayed at some of the finest B&Bs in my two weeks in the South Island but I will go out on a limb and say that this outshone all of them (though as a self-contained unit it is admittedly very different from a B&B).

There are 2 cottages at Walnut Block, both of which are as spacious as you like, well furnished and complete with everything you could possibly need and more (a BBQ pit??). The cottage also featured an amazing bed lined with some of the finest bed linen, and a well stocked kitchen with complimentary supplies for breakfast (milk, juice, muesli, bread... the list goes on).

It is exceptional value for the price you pay. If I ever do return to Blenheim I will choose Walnut Block again without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011 via mobile

Walnut Block Cottages is one of the finest places my wife and I have have ever stayed at. It's like having your own apartment in the Marlborough wine country. There are only two of them. The view is truly spectacular. Complete with your own deck and gas grill, it'll be your homw away form home. Clyde and Helen, the owners, as also in the wine business, and are the perfect stewards. You will simply fall in love with this place.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walnut Block Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Block Cottages

Address: 43 Blicks Lane, RD2, Blenheim, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Blenheim
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two luxurious one bedroom cottages set amongst the vines, Walnut Block Cottages offer a haven of seclusion and comfort in a relaxed and inspiring environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walnut Block Cottages Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walnut Block Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.