We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will exceed your expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radfield House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Radfield House to your Saves list
Radfield House
126 Maxwell Road, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 47 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“will exceed your expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

As reported by others, Jayne and Bill are attentive, enthusiastic and charming. Our room was spacious, the bed the most comfortable we have experienced during our long New Zealand holiday. All was immaculately clean and decorated. The house is simply wonderful, much closer to the extravagence and charm of the better European B&Bs. Breakfast was another amazing event. Huge dining room with a big spread of food, the room warmed by a large fireplace. A note of caution: beware the bread products. Your enthusiasm for the amazing homemade breads, muffins, croissants, etc...will certainly overwhelm your waistline!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
218
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

I found this B&B online and it sounded almost to good to be true. But after spending a fantastic weekend here we can see why everyone speaks so highly of every aspect of this place and we couldn't agree with them more.

We only stayed 1 night but it seemed like we had been relaxing there for days by the time we left. We will definately be going back in the future, hopefully soon.

I could go on and on about every detail of this B&B and how amazing it was but it still wouldn't do it justice. So sufice to say that you HAVE to stay here if your coming to Blenheim because this B&B is something very very special and will exceed every expectation.

Thanks for a awesome weekend!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

The preceding reviews all focus on the extraordinary care and hospitality the owners offer their guests - and they are absolutely accurate. Attention to detail, generosity of spirit, an historic property lovingly maintained - these are what Jayne and Bill provide in a friendly and professional manner. We have stayed at B&B's in England, Ireland, Costa Rica, and Japan (ryokan) and this is the benchmark against other properties should be judged. If you visit Marlborough, this is THE place to stay. Truly, a home away from home. Please feel free to contact us for further details.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

By far the best B&B we stayed in during our lovely tour of New Zealand. Jayne and Bill couldn't do enough for us to make our short stay with them a success. They organised a wonderful tour of the wineries, suggested the best restaurant in town, acted as a taxi service so we could enjoy the wine. The house was fantastic, with so many facilities, it was better than home from home. Jaynes breakfasts were brilliant, all the home made breads, jams etc;
Jayne and Bill were excellent hosts, sadly we only had two nights with them, but their freindship will be with us for a very long time to come. Would we return...YES, would we recommend Radfield House to others... Most certainly.
Bob and Sheila from Kidderminster, UK.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

After reading the TripAdvisor reviews we decided to book a few nights here as a treat - a break from our backpacking trip around NZ....and I don't think it could have turned out any better. After being picked up from the ferry terminal by our friendly host Jayne, we were amazed at the wonderful house. The room was perfect, a giant bed (with electric blankets for a nice cosy sleep!) our own bathroom and lounge with TV, books, DVDs. Anything you could possibly need was there, or could be provided by the hosts. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them in making our stay comfortable. We had use of their cars(!) to access the vineyards in the immediate area, and took a drive around to Nelson and Lake Rotoiti. Breakfast was another incredible experience with a real log fire burning in the grand dining room, freshly baked bread, muffins and croissants were prepared and laid on with home made jams, cereals and fruit. We also had the option to cook meals ourselves in the kitchen and they kindly let us roast a chicken on their BBQ rotisserie! If you are an animal lover then this has to be the place for you, being woken up by the friendly kitty BeeJay in the mornings and taking Tess the adorable dog for walks and constant ball-throwing in the gardens make it a very homely place. We would definitely return and recommend to any friends travelling in the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

We had a great 2-night stay with Bill and Jayne. On arrival, we were greeted with a glass of wine, cheese and nibbles in our lounge area. The bedroom was big and very nicely decorated, with a great bathroom next door, that had a jacuzzi bath and a shower big enough for two people. Our hosts organised a full-day wine tour for us on request and the tour company picked us up from the B&B. The breakfasts were great at Radfield House. Home made bread and muffins were to die for and Jayne would pack the muffins for us to take away because we couldn't finish them. Hospitality was second to none. My husband even got to try his hand on chopping some fire wood, a strange request, but his wish was granted! The nicest place we stayed in New Zealand!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

What excellent service! I forgot my sweater in the bedroom. Jane & Bill were kind to mail it to me at our hotel in Auckland. Very much appreciated!
We especially enjoyed playing with their friendly dog in the garden on a beautiful sunny day. Very quiet and relaxing break for us.
The jacuzzi tub for two in the bathroom was a special treat.
We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfield House

Address: 126 Maxwell Road, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Blenheim's more gracious properties which is listed with the Historic Places Trust. The perfect setting for a weekend break in Blenheim, honeymoon or stay longer and enjoy all that this amazing region has to offer. Free wifi and even free use of one of our cars (conditions apply). We look forward to welcoming you to Blenheim and the Marlborough region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Radfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfield House Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radfield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.