We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay in Blenheim” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lugano Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Lugano Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   91 High Street, Blenheim, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Blenheim
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Recent stay in Blenheim”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This Motel is in a gerat location, very central to Blenheim and only 10 minutes from the airport.
Lovely rooms and the new owners, Murray and Jenny are extremely friendly and went the extra mile for me. I appreciated their assistance and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    31
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
67
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Friendly hosts, happy to help when asked for info, went out of their way to get info & make phjone calls.

Only negative is that the bed was HARD, really, really hard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This motel was just lovely. Across the road from a lovely park and all the autumn trees it was amazing. Motel was clean and nice. New owners who are very friendly. Close to town. Would recommend anyone staying in Blenheim to stay there.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs, you see more
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I arrived late afternoon at Blenheim airport and drove to town looking for a 2 nights accomodation when I passed Lugano Motor Lodge. I was very lucky and pleased that just minutes before somebody had to cancel there booking. I picked the last room. Blenheim is not a hot spot but a friendly and nico local town, great to explore the region and close to Picton and the Marlborough Sounds.

The hosts gave me a very warm welcome and where helpful with information. I had a corner upstairs unit. The room was absolutely spotless and had everything I needed. The kitchenunit was fully equipted and presented to the highest standard. I had two nice small outdoor seating areas. The only thing was that the room looks out on a buzy and noicy sidestreet. The bathroom was highest standard.

The location could not be beaten - very central, just a short walk to the shops, supermarket and restaurants and right on the Seymour Park and walkway. I would recomend Lugano motor lodge as one of the best Blenheim properties, if not best. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband, his parents and I stayed here for two nights in April 2012 while we were on holiday. I had booked a one-bedroom room via their website a few weeks prior and the owners were very quick to respond and offered a larger room if we wanted it. On arrival, the room was spotlessly clean and had a well equipped kitchenette. The heating system worked well, which was great after a wet day of hiking on the Queen Charlotte Track.
The motor lodge is in a very central location, across from a nice park and within easy walking distance to various shops, a supermarket and cafes/restaurants. We also had the free pick-up and drop-off service for the Wine Tours by Bike here which was nice.
We had no problems with noise from the street or other guests, though keep in mind that it was mid-week during shoulder season. The only minor issue was that the fold-out bed in the lounge was a bit smaller than we expected (a bit bigger than a single bed, but quite comfortable), which I suppose is why they offered us the larger room. On the bright side, they did a great job of setting-up the fold-out bed while we were out at dinner. My in-laws reported that the bed in their room was very comfortable.
The service was also very friendly so I would happily stay here again and recommend it as a good base for any of our family and friends visiting Blenheim.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as two couples then consider booking the 2-bedroom unit which has a Queen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapua, Nelson
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Lugano Motor Lodge is a good central town location with all the facilities to be expected in a 4 star plus motel. We chose an Executive room and I dont think we would have wanted to go to a lesser room than this. The executive room has a separate bedroom at the back - a bit quieter from the street noise - and a spa bathroom. the kitchen/living area is small but very clean and equipped for doing breakfasts. Parking is adequate outside the unit. there was a small outdoor seating area too, perfect for an early evening glass of wine.
Unfortunately the noise from upstairs guests partying into the small hours was a problem on our last night - not the owner of the motels fault but perhaps the moteliers need to address this issue if it happens on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Choose an Executive Suite at the back of the complex, away from the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, two couples stayed in a roomy 2 bedroom apartment. Very friendly Tony and Brenda own the motel and will give you a very warm welcome. Few mins walk from a big supermarket and the town centre. Overall really happy with our stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lugano Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Motor Lodge

Address: 91 High Street, Blenheim, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#3 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lugano Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well priced luxury accommodation in Central Blenheim.Overlooking the lovely Seymour Gardens Lugano Motor Lodge is just a 2 minute walk to Blenheim's cafes, shops and restaurants. 60 minutes Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lugano Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugano Hotel Blenheim
Lugano Motor Lodge Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugano Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.