We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood Chowder up there with the best!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twelve Trees

Twelve Trees
Jacksons Road, Blenheim, New Zealand
+64 3-572 7123
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 82 Restaurants in Blenheim
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Contemporary, Café, New Zealand, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Named after the original walnut trees that lined the entrance to the winery, lunch at our Twelve Trees Restaurant is a must for visitors, and locals alike. The great food and relaxing atmosphere, whether in the sheltered courtyard, or inside by the fire, provide a warm welcome. Menus change seasonally to reflect Head Chef, Matt Gibson's simple food philosophy "fresh & local". However a couple of signature dishes, including the Seafood Chowder, which has become a local favourite, remain on the menu year round. Come in and try it with the delicious Wallops Chardonnay!
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Seafood Chowder up there with the best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband and I had a lovely lunch at Allan Scotts Twelve Trees Restaurant. The Seafood chowder was up there with the best and we saw they had a deal (two for one Chowder Tuesday) so will be taking advantage of that in the future. I had the Roast Salmon which was devine! The wine selection was great and a nice intimate indoor dining area or fab outside area on a hot day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    38
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Patio with Delicious Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stopped into Allan Scott vineyard to try the wine and decided to sit on the lovely patio of the Twelve Trees restaurant. We were please we did. On the recommendation of our server, we had the pulled pork and harissa sandwich. It was AMAZING! We almost went back the next day to have it again since we loved it so much. The wine at Allan Scott was good, but the food at Twelve Trees was definitely a stand out.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Serene surroundings for lunch at Scott's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Recommended by a local I met on the plane, we arrived on a gorgeous winters day to a manicured buxus garden with interesting walled garden features. Tasting was excellent, very friendly wait staff and the seafood chowder hit the spot. We ate outside in the partially covered courtyard which has heating installed above. But inside is cosy: stone surround for the fire, and a welcoming comfy seating area for those days when the weather gods aren't smiling. A great winery experience.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Fun wine tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Can't comment on the food as we wanted to try wines only. This costs NZ$2 for tasting of three wines but the kind lady allowed us to try a few more. She was bubbly, chatty and clearly loved her job! We loved the unpretentious friendly staff and the pretty building through which you can wonder. No pressure to buy. Have heard the food is good...

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Had very nice lunch. Food was good. Outside table was very nice. Was windy, but the way they build the structure, wind was blocked.

Staff was extremely nice and attentive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twelve Trees also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Twelve Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twelve Trees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.