We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, lovely setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vintners Room

The Vintners Room
190 Rapaura Road | RD3, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
+64 3 572 5094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 87 Restaurants in Blenheim
Price range: $38 - $88
Cuisines: Organic, International, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Vintners Room at Marlborough Vintners Hotel. We use Organic fruit and vegetables form our Potager, Locally and Regionally sourced Produce. We proudly hand make our dishes and our tlented Chefs offer an ever changing menu. Bookings Essential.
Fairlight, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went for a family meal at the Vintners Room and really enjoyed it. The menu is classic and simple - for entree we were offered a choice of clams and mussels with white wine, cream, bacon and Gruyere cheese (absolutely delicious; I could have licked the plate and almost did); pork terrine with pea puree and pickled mustard seeds; and a third choice that now escapes my memory (a day of wine tasting will do that to you). Mains were pork belly, a beautifully cooked fillet of beef with roasted potatoes, baby beetroot and broad beans, king salmon or a vegetarian tasting plate. We also managed desserts - affogato for Mum, ice cream for my brother and I opted for the lemon curd creme brulee, all of which were delicious.

The menu isn't lengthy, by any means, but what they did, they did really well. In my opinion, that's a much better philosophy for restaurants to adopt than having hundreds of dishes to choose from - it means fresher ingredients, a regularly changing menu and a real focus on the dishes they do feature.

The service was excellent; friendly and punctual, and the waitress had some good recommendations to make about the wine and also other wineries in the area. It's not the cheapest place to eat, but for the quality of the food, the wine and the general experience, it didn't seem unreasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
motueka
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Expensive meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed at the Marlborough Vintners Hotel for 2 nights. The Vintners Room is the hotel restaurant. We decided to eat early on Saturday night and booked a table for 6.30. Dining room is nicely laid out with a real effect gas fire at one end. As we had had a big lunch we just wanted a main course. Both of us went for the spicy duck leg. Accompaniments were all 8 dollars extra and were needed. The extensive wine list was quite expensive. We chose a carafe of an average pinot noir which was just enough for 2 glasses and priced at $26. The meal was nice but the bill was $110 for 2 main courses and 2 glasses of wine. The following day we had a 3 course lunch with bottle of wine and coffee for the same price and the food was better.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Informal dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We didn't want an informal dinner so the choice of tapa's beside the fire place on a cold night was superb. Great food and service and value for money

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We had dinner during our stay at MVH and it was excellent. Great menu, service and food. Also able to bring our own wine. Great evening and experience.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamas, Utah
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Overpriced specially the wine and slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The food is quite good here but the service is terribly slow. We found it very overpriced and the mark up for the wines excessive. We stayed here for 6 days with a group of 13 and ate here twice as there is not much nearby open for an evening meal. We asked considering this if we could bring our own wine for the last night and were told there would be a $20/ bottle cordage. We thought this was inconsiderate .

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at The Vintners Room, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. In response to your comments: Larger groups do take longer to look after. We price our food and wine in line with standards for restaurants. We give all our guests the option to bring wine they have purchased at cellar doors during the day with a $20 corkage fee. Hopefully you enjoyed the complimentary glasses of bubbles I offered your group on the last dinner as a thank you for dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vintners Room also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to The Vintners Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vintners Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.