We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed for winter!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highfield Estate Winery & Restaurant

Highfield Estate Winery & Restaurant
Brookby Rd, Blenheim 7301, New Zealand
(03) 572-9244
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 80 restaurants in Blenheim
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Closed for winter!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Was so looking forward to trying this restaurant after reading all the fantastic reviews but we were 2 days late, they had closed for winter! Thought they would have at least stayed open until the end of the school holidays! Had a look around though, and the view is amazing!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    19
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Wyalong, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic wine, fantastic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stopped here on out bike tour for a wine tasting and lunch. The Highfield winery stood out as one of the best of the day. We ended up buying 2 bottles of wine (the 2010 Sauvignon Blanc and 2011 Limited Release Rose), the had lunch on the terrace in the sun (the restaurant supplies wide-brimmed straw hats, so you only look rosy-faced from the wine!). The food was fantastic, I wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had our lunch on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the vines. It as a nice sunny day and the view and ambiance was awesome. Main dishes are close to $30, but the portions are huge and the really delicious. The estate also has a Italian-inspired tower which visitors can climb up for a bird's eye view of the landscape. This is a rather popular lunch destination so reservations are highly recommended for the outdoor seats.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent location and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We came here on Good Friday as all the other vineyards were closed! we were not disappointed, excellent food, excellent service, the staff were so friendly and very infomative and views to die for! we will be back

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stopped here on our bike tour and it is perfect for lunch. They have a lovely terrace out the back where we sat in the sun - they provide straw hats and sunscreen which was a great touch. the food (fish of the day, blue cod) was fantastic and we did a tasting while waiting for our food then ordered a bottle of their lovely 2010 SB with lunch. They do charge for tasting only, but not if you have lunch. I can't think of a better lunch spot in New Zealand.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highfield Estate Winery & Restaurant also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Highfield Estate Winery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highfield Estate Winery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.