We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Leonards Vineyard Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Save Saved
You added St Leonards Vineyard Cottages to your Saves list
18 St Leonards Rd, RD 1 | RD1, Blenheim, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Blenheim
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! We stayed in the Woolshed recently for 3 nights and amongst the many great places we stayed in NZ, this has to be our favourite. The location is wonderful, right amongst the vineyards of Blenheim. The hosts are so friendly and helpful, they provided some delicious breakfast items, invited us to pick lemons (from which our children made some delicious lemonade:) and when our daughter asked about the bee hives on the property, they gave her a jar of their own yummy honey to take with us. The kids enjoyed feeding the chickens, saying hi to the sheep and admiring the beautiful deer on the property. There is also a fantastic solar heated pool, which our kids used frequently and loved. The woolshed is a gorgeous restored cottage, very spacious with well equipped kitchen, outdoor bbq, large lounge room and bedrooms, and it even has a supply of games and books for guests to use. Thankyou for a wonderful stay, we would love to come back again one day!

Room Tip: The Woolshed is perfect for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    22
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
81
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Such a lovely setting to relax - do a wine tour - come back and relax some - then go on to more scenic driving. Lovely grounds - a few farm animals around - a tennis court etc. We stayed in the shearers quarters - a bit of a basic cottage - but you are away from any other traveler - so you can relax on your own.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place to stay. We stayed in Anna's cottage. Very peaceful and private overlooking the vineyards watching the sun set. Hosts are superb and even gave us a lift back to the airport and helped us to check in early, very accommodating.
We stayed two nights and can't fault the place, excellent location as close to Blenheim and the wineries. They have good quality bikes to use which saves a lot of money in renting them if you choose to see the vineyards this way, which we can thoroughly recommend. Excellent pool for cooling down afterwards too.

Beautiful place, excellent hosts, very peaceful and private. One of the better places you can stay in NZ don't bother with Motels

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I can't believe that no-one has reviewed this little gem in a year. A completely simple but totally charming retreat: just the place to chill after a rush of sightseeing.
We stayed at the Stables overlooking the lemon orchard and visited by chickens, sheep and deer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Shearers Quarters cottage, which is one of the smaller and less expensive ones. We enjoyed ourselves tremendously as the entire property is absolutely beautiful, countryside with lots of trees, flowers and surrounded by vineyards. Every cottage is very private, nicely separated from other cottages (except for the Old Diary which is just next to the Hosts' house and main arrival area. You can enjoy peacefulness of the lovely Marlborough region, have breakfasts in the garden ( worth mentioning that the owners provide fresh, free range eggs from their own farm, some milk, juice, toasts and jams), have a swim in the little swimming pool, play boules or interact with the animals on the farm. The owners are very nice and helpful yet allow you to enjoy your privacy. Our cottage was well appointed, had a shower, all toiletries, dryer, iron kitchenette with an electric stove, microwave, fridge, tv etc. internet is available but works best next to the main building but did not work so great in our cottage. Although this doesn't bother you when you can relax in such a beautiful place. All the Marlborough vineyards are nearby, short ride on the bike away with the renowned Cloudy Bay Winery being the closest one. Definitely check other great vineyards nearby as each one is different. The ones we liked the most were Rock Ferry, Giesen, Nautilus and Huia. Great place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed there 4 nights on our Honeymoon. This had been our first B&B experience. They were great they did leave you to your own devices and let you entertain yourself. If you need any help they are more than happy. We needed a lift to the Airport to pick up our rental car. The owner drove us there to pick it up. It was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlight, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I stayed in the Woolshed Cottage, one of five cottages on the St Leonards grounds. The cottage was very nicely done out - they refer to it on the website as being a 'character' 2-bed cottage, and it really is. The cottage itself is built from wood, with lovely old windows (bought from a school that was being demolished apparently) and very good-quality furnishings. The beds were comfortable, as were the sofas, and the cottage was well-supplied with all the crockery, cutlery and glassware we needed (again, good quality). The only slight problem we had was with the shower - there was plenty of hot water, but ever so often the shower head seemed to get ideas of its own and try to leap off the fitting. Not a big deal, however!

For breakfast, we were provided with cereals, bread, butter and jam, ground coffee and some lovely fresh eggs from the hens they keep. Daphne also had a number of recommendations for dinner and actually sorted out our booking for us, which was a big help (we went to Marlborough Vintners which was excellent).

The property has a shared swimming pool, a boules pitch (is that the right word?!), a paddock with some very friendly sheep and hens, and a lemon orchard with deer, which were beautiful to look at. The property is set back from the road, making it a quiet and peaceful place to be, surrounded by rows of grapes and with beautiful views up to the hills and mountains in the background - just the sort of place you want to be when you're in wine country. Paul had recommendations for wineries that we might like to visit - we followed his suggestions and had a great morning and lunch out (we particularly liked Bladen vineyard - small but perfectly formed!). It's a drive or a taxi ride (or a bike ride) to get to any restaurants or into town, but the beautiful setting is more than worth it.

Daphne and Paul were extremely helpful and pleasant hosts and really went the extra mile, when Paul tracked us down to one of the vineyards he had recommended to bring us the hat my brother had left under his bed after we checked out!

Sadly we only had time for one night here, but I would certainly stay again if I returned to the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Leonards Vineyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Leonards Vineyard Cottages

Address: 18 St Leonards Rd, RD 1 | RD1, Blenheim, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Family Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
St Leonards Vineyard Hotel
St Leonards Vineyard Blenheim
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Leonards Vineyard Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;