We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounded by vineyards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Leonards Vineyard Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Save Saved
You added St Leonards Vineyard Cottages to your Saves list
18 St Leonards Rd, RD 1 | RD1, Blenheim, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Blenheim
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Surrounded by vineyards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Such a lovely setting to relax - do a wine tour - come back and relax some - then go on to more scenic driving. Lovely grounds - a few farm animals around - a tennis court etc. We stayed in the shearers quarters - a bit of a basic cottage - but you are away from any other traveler - so you can relax on your own.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    22
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
81
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place to stay. We stayed in Anna's cottage. Very peaceful and private overlooking the vineyards watching the sun set. Hosts are superb and even gave us a lift back to the airport and helped us to check in early, very accommodating.
We stayed two nights and can't fault the place, excellent location as close to Blenheim and the wineries. They have good quality bikes to use which saves a lot of money in renting them if you choose to see the vineyards this way, which we can thoroughly recommend. Excellent pool for cooling down afterwards too.

Beautiful place, excellent hosts, very peaceful and private. One of the better places you can stay in NZ don't bother with Motels

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I can't believe that no-one has reviewed this little gem in a year. A completely simple but totally charming retreat: just the place to chill after a rush of sightseeing.
We stayed at the Stables overlooking the lemon orchard and visited by chickens, sheep and deer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Shearers Quarters cottage, which is one of the smaller and less expensive ones. We enjoyed ourselves tremendously as the entire property is absolutely beautiful, countryside with lots of trees, flowers and surrounded by vineyards. Every cottage is very private, nicely separated from other cottages (except for the Old Diary which is just next to the Hosts' house and main arrival area. You can enjoy peacefulness of the lovely Marlborough region, have breakfasts in the garden ( worth mentioning that the owners provide fresh, free range eggs from their own farm, some milk, juice, toasts and jams), have a swim in the little swimming pool, play boules or interact with the animals on the farm. The owners are very nice and helpful yet allow you to enjoy your privacy. Our cottage was well appointed, had a shower, all toiletries, dryer, iron kitchenette with an electric stove, microwave, fridge, tv etc. internet is available but works best next to the main building but did not work so great in our cottage. Although this doesn't bother you when you can relax in such a beautiful place. All the Marlborough vineyards are nearby, short ride on the bike away with the renowned Cloudy Bay Winery being the closest one. Definitely check other great vineyards nearby as each one is different. The ones we liked the most were Rock Ferry, Giesen, Nautilus and Huia. Great place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed there 4 nights on our Honeymoon. This had been our first B&B experience. They were great they did leave you to your own devices and let you entertain yourself. If you need any help they are more than happy. We needed a lift to the Airport to pick up our rental car. The owner drove us there to pick it up. It was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlight, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I stayed in the Woolshed Cottage, one of five cottages on the St Leonards grounds. The cottage was very nicely done out - they refer to it on the website as being a 'character' 2-bed cottage, and it really is. The cottage itself is built from wood, with lovely old windows (bought from a school that was being demolished apparently) and very good-quality furnishings. The beds were comfortable, as were the sofas, and the cottage was well-supplied with all the crockery, cutlery and glassware we needed (again, good quality). The only slight problem we had was with the shower - there was plenty of hot water, but ever so often the shower head seemed to get ideas of its own and try to leap off the fitting. Not a big deal, however!

For breakfast, we were provided with cereals, bread, butter and jam, ground coffee and some lovely fresh eggs from the hens they keep. Daphne also had a number of recommendations for dinner and actually sorted out our booking for us, which was a big help (we went to Marlborough Vintners which was excellent).

The property has a shared swimming pool, a boules pitch (is that the right word?!), a paddock with some very friendly sheep and hens, and a lemon orchard with deer, which were beautiful to look at. The property is set back from the road, making it a quiet and peaceful place to be, surrounded by rows of grapes and with beautiful views up to the hills and mountains in the background - just the sort of place you want to be when you're in wine country. Paul had recommendations for wineries that we might like to visit - we followed his suggestions and had a great morning and lunch out (we particularly liked Bladen vineyard - small but perfectly formed!). It's a drive or a taxi ride (or a bike ride) to get to any restaurants or into town, but the beautiful setting is more than worth it.

Daphne and Paul were extremely helpful and pleasant hosts and really went the extra mile, when Paul tracked us down to one of the vineyards he had recommended to bring us the hat my brother had left under his bed after we checked out!

Sadly we only had time for one night here, but I would certainly stay again if I returned to the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night last week and were delighted with it. We were in the Stables which had everything we needed plus more. It was in a wonderful location with doors opening straight onto a private lawn overlooking the vineyard. Well equiped cottage with very comfortable bed and sofa. We arrived early in the morning and although our room was not ready, the owners were very welcoming and happy to let us borrow bikes (lots of bikes, all with helmets, all in good condition) to cycle to Cloudy Bay Winery (an easy 25 minute cycle).
The other rooms looked lovely too and we thought St Leonards offered excellent value in a convenient yet quiet location

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Leonards Vineyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Leonards Vineyard Cottages

Address: 18 St Leonards Rd, RD 1 | RD1, Blenheim, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Family Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
St Leonards Vineyard Hotel
St Leonards Vineyard Blenheim
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Leonards Vineyard Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.