We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Motor Inn did not want to leave!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Phoenix Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Phoenix Motor Inn
174 Middle Renwick Rd | Springlands, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 hotels in Blenheim
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Motor Inn did not want to leave!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

A great value clean and comfortable Motor Inn. The staff were really nice & helpful. There were 4 of us so we stayed in a 2 bedroom unit. Each spacious bedroom has a king bed & a single bed & there was another bed in the lounge, so plenty of beds for everyone! The beds were super comfortable, with nice clean comfortable white linen & plenty of warm blankets. The beds even had electric blankets (I'm not sure if all 7 beds had an electric blanket, but there were at least 2), which made sleeping even more comfortable. The bathroom & en suite both looked very new, modern & extremely clean. The shower was perfect, adjustable water pressure, built in shelves etc. There was even a heater in the en suite, perfect for the cold weather! We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would definitely return when we're next in the area. I really did not want to leave this affordable Motor Inn!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed one night only, in a beautiful unit, quiet, spacious, and really enjoyed the friendly welcome to Blenheim. Definetely the smartest Motel unit we stayed in during our 8 day South Island trip. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This motel exceeded all expectations for our family holiday. The rooms were comfortable, clean and very comfortable. The fact that they have a family unit able to sleep a good amount of children makes it an ideal place to stay. Close to Picton and the sounds an ideal base. Highly recommend this especially if you have a young family.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Isles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

One of the best motels in New Zealand, very clean and well equipped, very helpful owners with an excellent knowledge of the local area and brilliant restaurant recommendations.

Room Tip: They have suits with two doubles and a pool and conference room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011 via mobile

Had a lovely 1 bedroom suite which was a nice change from the usual single studio rooms we have been staying in during our holiday. The host was very friendly and helpful and everything we needed was there. The room was next to the pool and might have been an issue if it had been warm enough for other guests to swim, but it was a quiet night so we had no noise issues at all. Would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canterbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Friendly people but when it came to the water pressure, it was very poor. Took half an hour to run a bath. The shower had little pressure. Disappointed to see a crushed venetian blind at the window. 4 plus star. I don't think so!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

The Phoenix Motor Inn
On November I was on holiday in New Zealand and was traveling the south island with a dear old friend. We had winged most of the trip, and hadn't made any reservations. As luck would have it most of the hotels, motels & inn's were full. We lucked out and came upon The Phoeni Motor Inn. upon our arrival in the late evening we had asked for two rooms. How ever they offered us a better deal, a large suite with separate bed rooms. & bathrooms. The room was perfect, large comfy beds our own bathrooms we got a very restful nights sleep.
They made several recommendations for us. For dinner, breakfast and for the wine tours all prefect. Thery also let us keep our car there while we went on the wine tour.
They helped make my first (and hopefully not last) trip to New Zealand, not only very memorable but it ranks up there as one of the one most relaxing and prefect vacations i have ever had.
If you have to pick one place to stay in Blenheim, I suggest stay here

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phoenix Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Motor Inn

Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Blenheim
Phoenix Motor Inn Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Address: 174 Middle Renwick Rd | Springlands, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 hotels in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ross and Pauline would like to welcome you to our quality motel. We offer you friendly service and will do our best to make your stay an enjoyable one - come join us. The Phoenix Motor Inn is situated only 5 minutes from both the airport and Blenheim's town centre. It is in a semi rural setting, close to over 50 of Marlborough's famous wineries. Blenheim has an excellent range of restaurants, cafes and bars and is home to the world renown "Classic Fighter Collection". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Phoenix Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.